We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diner dance Evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chy-An-Albany to your Saves list
Chy-An-Albany
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Diner dance Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Well what a fantastic evening, we had our annual diner dance there last night and all I can say is "Superb". From the food to the atmosphere everything was spot on. Very well looked after by the staff and nothing was too much trouble.

A must visit!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    181
    68
    44
    20
See reviews for
84
312
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in St Ives and it was largely augmented by this gem of a hotel.

The staff were so friendly and welcoming and the food in the lighthouse restaurant was so delicious and reasonably priced (2 courses for £15) that we ate there every night. The buffet breakfast in the morning was ample and generous and the dining room had a great view. St Ives centre is a short, scenic walk away and the hotel is close enough to return to in order to have an afternoon nap. We contacted the hotel directly and took advantage of an off peak special of book three nights and get one free so the price was really great value.

I can definitely recommend the 'Sloop Inn' pub in St Ives for a real feeling of travelling back in time for a pint near a fire and ask the staff at Chy An for their recommendations of the best fish and chip shop. Also we took a 45 minute (each way) drive to the Eden Project which was really a special day.

The only slight downside was the room, we stayed in number 11 - you could clearly hear neighbours and people in the corridor and there wasn't a view. The bathroom did have a slight 'damp cloth' smell and was a bit cold, but if you left the door open and turned the heating on it was fine.

Overall this has been my absolute best 'Staycation' and I would recommend the Chy-An-Albany to anyone who was thinking of taking a holiday near St Ives. The people and the food were great and at the end of the day those are the memories you'll cherish.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view (toward the front) and definitely try eat at the Lighthouse restaurant at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We decided to stay again this time for 4 nights in a seaview room. We were not dissapointed.
They are obviously still making improvements to the decor and furnishings but the hotel staff are freindly, efficient and nothing is too much trouble.

We ate in the Lighthouse Bistro 3 nights out of the 4 as the food is so good and very reasonable when compared to the restaurants in the town. We ate out 1 night at the Seafood cafe very good but 2 course dinner for 2 plus a bottle of wine, coffee and tip was £70 compared to less than £50 in the hotel and if I am honest the hotel food was better. Breakfast is also very good and we asked for poached eggs each morning that are not on the hot buffet and they were produced quickly and to a good standard. Its nice to get the choice of full service or self service.

Sea view is really something and well worth paying extra for. We had a top floor room again and had a great night's sleep. All in all another good stay. We will be back. Philip & Jane

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are well worth the little extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The top floor superior rooms have a view to die for. Everything you need for a great stay and with parking and within walking distance of the main town a real bonus. Evening meal was a real bonus and great value with excellent local produce £20 for three good courses. Definitely will be back.

Room Tip: For the small difference in price go for a superior sea view room, top floor only has three rooms so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I organised a Sunday Lunch in the Lighthouse Bistro for 50 people. The food was well above average, you knew straight away that the staff cared about the quality - everyone in our group was delighted. The restaurant has a beautiful view out to sea.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed in Room 7 (deluxe sea view with balcony) on the first floor. This was our second stay at this hotel & in this room. I booked direct with the hotel for a truly great rate for our stay.

The room is great for us as a family of four as there is plenty of room for the very comfortable king size bed & 2 singles for the children. There are also 2 armchairs & a coffee table for the children to sit & do colouring etc. The bathroom is large & was spotlessly clean. There were nice biscuits & water in the room along with a good choice of teas, hot chocolate & coffee. The heating in the room & the bathroom is controlled from within the room which is very convenient.

The view from the room is amazing across the Porthminster Beach and out to sea, on a good day it would be lovely to sit on the balcony but at the beginning of November we didn't do much more than pop out to have a quick look! The balcony is big, right across the front of the hotel & shared with another room but with each room having its own area with table & chairs. I would love to try it out in the summer...!

The breakfast was plentiful (mostly buffet with a few menu options too) and good and we had an excellent bar meal. We found the waiting staff at breakfast & in the bar to be really helpful, friendly and efficient. The reception staff were also very helpful. The only thing that knocked this review down from 5 stars to 4 stars is that the hotel could do with another member of waiting staff during busy breakfast service. The two people working at breakfast when we were there could not possibly have done any more but could have done with another pair of hands to help out!

It is worth so much to have car-parking so near the centre of St Ives. The car park at the back of the hotel is a good size & easy to get to. The walk down to town & back is about 15 mins, maybe a bit more on the way back as it is pretty steep. The Porthminster beach is only a 5 min walk away down the hill.

All in all I would heartily recommend this lovely, spacious room in this hotel with friendly staff & great breakfasts. A great base to see St Ives from :)

Room Tip: Get a deluxe balcony room on the first floor for an amazing sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

we have now stayed in this hotel four times and each time every thing is perfect .The buffet breakfast is superb nothing is too much trouble This time it was perfect and a little bit more, due to some medical problems, we had to get paramedics out on the saturday eve the hotel made no fuss and phoned them for us , everyone was extremely kind and helpful it made the upsetting episode much easier ,we booked another trip while we were there bliss

Room Tip: go for deluxe suite well worth the money for the extra room , beautiful views & lovely large bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chy-An-Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.