We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our much needed rest in St. Ives” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chy-An-Albany to your Saves list
Chy-An-Albany
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our much needed rest in St. Ives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I have nothing but praise to give for this Hotel. The room we booked was excellent. The cleanliness was second to none and the service was excellent. Everything we needed in the room was there and more! The ladies on Reception were extremely helpful and so friendly. What can I say about the breakfasts? Excellent! The food was so good and there was so much of it! My husband and myself booked for a well needed rest for a few days and that is exactly what we had! I would certainly recommend this Hotel to anyone and we are hoping to go back for another "rest" soon!!! If there was a negative it would be just the walk back up to the Hotel from the town of St. Ives. This was no problem at all for us but if you were elderly then that might be a little drawback - but when you got in the Hotel you would be absolutely fine. We had a most lovely break - thank you to all concerned.
for making our stay such a lovely one!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    201
    77
    44
    21
See reviews for
94
360
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Recently visited this hotel for my brother's wedding (see previous review!) We were travelling with our 2 young children. Our room was comfortable and had all we needed - one double, 2 single beds. Shower over the bath - nice and powerful - TV, tea making facilities etc. Our family room - room 12 - had a view of a brick wall which was at least painted and the room was still light. Excellent heating control in the room. Our room wasnt ready when we arrived so we made the most of the downstairs area and the beautiful views overlooking the bay. The rooms were checked before we checked in and a couple of little niggles we mentioned were quickly sorted out by the friendly and helpful staff. The children were also made to feel welcome there.
For dinner we decided to eat in the Lighthouse Bistro. There is a good selection on the children's menu and the adults menu was also varied and the dishes we chose were extremely tasty.
The staff here seem to all muck in and do all roles; you'll find the person who checked you into your room then serving you your dinner and this made it feel like a real team.
For the wedding the next day, they pulled out all the stops and really made the place look fantastic.Nothing was too much trouble for the staff here, well done!

The only reason I have marked this as 4 and not 5 is that I personally feel some of the rooms I saw including ours are a bit tired and do need a bit of refreshing and bringing up to date (though we did have a flat screen tv which worked absolutely fine). For this reason I felt it was a little overpriced, but that's the only gripe!

Room Tip: Agree with another traveller review that it might be worth paying the extra for the sea view if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We recently held our wedding day at the Chy-an-Albany, from the ceremony in the morning to the last dance in the evening. It was an absolute pleasure from start to finish.

The staff were friendly and incredibly helpful; nothing was too much trouble. And because their attention to the smallest detail was nothing short of staggering, their in-house restaurant - The Lighthouse Bistro - underwent such a stunning transformation, it easily exceeded our expectations!

We have visited The Lighthouse Bistro several times previously to gauge the quality of the food and portion sizes. Each time, we have been impressed. The meal sizes are incredibly generous, while the quality of the food is simply phenomenal, and remains so even during busy periods. You really have to try this place for yourselves! Because of its slightly out-of-the-way location, it's a pity the restaurant can't pick up more foot traffic, as the exquisite food, prompt and friendly table-service and the beautiful view of the bay makes this restaurant one of St. Ives' hidden gems.

The rooms are comfortable, well appointed and very clean.

Would we come here again? In a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed as a family of 4 in a Deluxe Sea View room on the 1st floor with access on to the shared balcony (Room 7) for a very reasonable price. The room and the bathroom are both very large with plenty of room for 2 adults & 2 children. Even with the extra bed in the room there was still plenty of space for 2 armchairs & a coffee table - great for children to sit at to do colouring etc. The room & bathroom were both clean and the heating can be controlled from within the room. The view over the bay is amazing & the room was well furnished. We found the breakfast very good with lots of choice. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is an additional large car park at the back of the hotel if the one at the front is full, the back car park was actually easier access for unloading / loading the car. The hotel is well positioned within the town, looking over the Porthminster Beach with its fantastic Porthminster Cafe restaurant just 10-15 minutes walk. The train station is also right above this beach & convenient for the hotel. The Chy-An-Albany is not a totally smart boutique hotel but we found it to be clean, friendly, well-equipped and good value for a family stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Drayton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a stay at this hotel for the first two weeks in October 2011. We found the hotel quite by chance by Googling. My! What a find! We were given Room 27 on the 2nd Floor which was a Superior Twin Room with Sea View. The room measured approx. 20' square with three large windows overlooking Porthminster Beach and St Ives bay. There was a 6' double bed and very rare, two lovely comfy armchairs (staying two weeks we appreciated this extra!). We booked B & B and only ate in the restaurant a couple of times. We are not big "fish eaters" and the menu tended to be mostly fish dishes (not surprising, being in St Ives). However, there are plenty of eateries in and around St Ives. The decor of the room was excellent, bedroom furniture of a good standard and the bathroom with natural light had a sparkling white suite. The staff were very friendly & helpful - especially Sarah, thank you!. On arrival, the lift was out of order when we arrived on the Saturday (until the Monday) but Sarah helped us with our luggage up to the 2nd Floor! Breakfast is of the buffet nature which was fine. Plenty of variety as well. A real bonus for a hotel in St Ives was the large car park at the rear. Yes, if the hotel was full, it could be a bit tricky - but we always found a space. All in all, one of the best 3 Star Hotels we have stayed in. We wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation in staying again. Thank you Chy An Albany!

Room Tip: Room 27 on the 2nd Floor can be highly recommended. It is a Family Room. It has a 6' Double plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Booked this hotel as parking was free and cancellation was 2 days as we weren't 100% sure we were going to be able to get away. The hotel was positioned away from the harbour, and as stated was 10 minutes walk away. As previous reports say, you need to be reasonably fit! Parking was tight and when the hotel is fully booked, will be a premium. The room we had was quite small, but clean and compact and very quiet. Coffee/tea making facilities were available, and hand soap, shower gel and shampoo were provided. A good selection for breakfast was available. Didn't eat in the hotel in the evening. Would stay again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Booked this hotel at short notice on last minute .com so for us it was fantastic value, others had paid a lot more and perhaps the hotel wasn't special enough to justify the normal rates.
Staff very friendly, and helpful, our TV had 'no signal', it was sorted in minutes , we were buying some local produce and the receptionist arranged for our ice blocks to be frozen.
Plenty of car parking space is a big plus. The walk down to the sea front is easy but seems longer on the way back especially after a meal and a few drinks.
Room and En-Suite a little small but otherwise very good.
The self service breakfast is great with a good selection of food and good coffee.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms might well be worth the extra,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chy-An-Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.