We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel very near to town and beaches” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chy-An-Albany to your Saves list
Chy-An-Albany
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shropshire UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel very near to town and beaches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights B&B in August 2011. 3 Star is about right for this hotel. It was clean and comfortable and seemed well suited to family and mid-budget holidays / breaks in St Ives. Bedroom was a compact twin with fairly small bathroom. No air con. Wifi worked in the public areas but the signal was too weak for bedroom use.

Clean and comfortable with good buffet range breakfast. A number of guests ate at the hotel for dinner but we did not so cannot comment. Polite, friendly and attentive staff.

For our stay, despite booking fairly late via an online booking agency, our twin room, with garden not sea view, cost £130 per night B&B. For the standard of the hotel this was quite expensive in my view but it was in peak season early August so probably the price to pay for peak visiting. The hotel was virtually full so again the price reflects demand perhaps.

St Ives is a delightful place but anywhere away from the water is up quite a steep hill. There was a quite steep slope up to the hotel and stepped entrance at the front. A rear carpark was better suited for anyone with accessibility difficulties. There is a lift.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    201
    77
    44
    21
See reviews for
94
359
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Where to begin......Having been organising this event for many months we have found the hotel to be accomadating, helpful and hard working.
We were given a complementry room with a balcony and an amazing view. The room was spacious and well decorated and there were lots of lovely goodies thrown in for good measure. (many thanks for the foil hearts!!!)
The food was fantastic (love the fishcakes chef!), well presented what can only be described as top notch.
The staff were friendly and professional and nothing was too much trouble.Fortunately the weather was great and pimms out on the back lawn was a real treat.
The whole day was really special, one that we will remember for the rest of our lives (brain permitting!).
Breakfast was relaxed and plentiful, followed by a well earned walk to the beach which is only 5 mins away.
27 of us stayed at the hotel we are all so pleased that some of us are coming back again in December for a weekend stay.
Thank-you Chy an albany for everything. Bloomin fantastic!!!!! :O)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed here overnight on a touring holiday of Cornwall. I was with my elderly mother. It is a small, slightly old fashioned, but nicely 'quirky' hotel. It has car parking which is a massive benefit in St Ives. It is positioned a good 10 minute walk from the centre of St Ives and commands excellent views over the bay. I found the walk exhillerating but my mother found the uphill climb a bit of a challenge. Rooms are well equipped, cosy and very clean. beds are comfy and rooms are quiet - we both slept really well. Staff are friendly and polite. Breakfast was good especailly the hot selection. I asked for specially prepared poached eggs which despite a 10 minute wait, arrived cooked to perfection! A cream tea in the lounge overlooking the sea is a must. The small hotel represents real value for money and I would definately go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Excellant hotel, room was perfect with a great view, breakfat was a must. Staff were great and parking as well in St Ives !

Room Tip: Clean, Tidy and well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This hotel has the most fabulous views across St Ives Bay and its comfortable lounge makes the best of them with its panoramic windows. No doubt the more expensive sea-view rooms do so as well. It is excellently located for Porthminster Beach, is only a short walk into the main part of St Ives and has the benefit of two car parks.

We knew we were booked into a small, basic room towards the back. It had everything we needed and no obvious faults, but definitely lacked style and you wouldn't want to spend any time in it. No problem, you would think, because we had that lounge with its great views and the bonus of a bar.

Still, this hotel is not cheap, so you expect a high standard of service. The staff are friendly, welcoming and willing, but that is about as far as it goes. They need to spend far less time chatting and giggling amonst themselves and a bit more making sure the guests are comfortable. Tables in the lounge not being cleared of cups and glasses for hours is not good enough. Neither is having to go and find someone every time you want a drink... or remind someone when the drink you have ordered doesn't turn up.

Restaurant is expensive and not great. Give it a miss for the Porthminster Beach Cafe.

This hotel is coasting on the back of its splendid location. It needs to sharpen up. Then it could really be very good indeed.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChyManager, General Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
I was disappointed to hear your comments regarding some aspects of your recent stay, please accept my apologies if we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, we work hard trying to make all guest stays special so we appreciate your feedback and giving us the chance to improve.

Manager
Chy An Albany Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This was our most expensive stay on our trip around southwest England but also the worst yet. We got a room in the back next to the parking lot were a new part of the hotel was being built with hammering early in the morning. Overall it had a cheap feel to it and particularly the sheets in synthetic fabric. Not recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChyManager, General Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
I was disappointed to hear your comments regarding your recent stay, please accept my apologies if we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, I wish you had made us aware of the problems you faced during your stay and given us the opportunity to rectify them for you.

Manager
Chy An Albany Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarra Glen, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here a couple of nights whilst travelling with my mother. Real nice hotel looking out over the sea - at the front anyway :)
The staff were really helpful - copying pages from their info pack for us. Breakfast was a good spread and my wife and mother enjoyed the Cream Tea in the afternoon - looking out over the bay!
Having spent a week travelling I'd say that perhaps the cost was a tad on the heavy side - but then I don't know the average rate for St. Ives.
There are 2 car parks but looks like they get full so note that if driving.
We all had a very enjoyable stay and can't fault the staff or service!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chy-An-Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.