We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carbis Bay Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Carbis Bay Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Carbis Bay Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2NP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Royton
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
441 helpful votes 441 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were staying about a 5 minute walk from the Carbis Bay Hotel and decided to have a meal here. I phoned up to see if we could make a booking for the Sands Restaurant as we were not residents and also to ask if we could still eat there as my husband only had a pair of jeans to wear (it states on the website "no jeans") as we were on holiday. The lady asked me about the shade of the jeans, I explained they were a dark blue colour but would be worn with a shirt and a smart pair of shoes. After a few more questions about the jeans she said it would be ok, I booked a table for 6pm. The entrance to the hotel was lovely, we then walked passed reception, the bar and the conservatory which all looked very relaxing. The restaurant was practically empty which was good for us as we got a table next to the window overlooking the beach, the restaurant was very clean and all the tables were dressed to a high standard. We had a browse through the menu and wine list and opted for tomato and basil soup, stuffed mushroom and we both had beef for the main course with a lovely bottle of Shiraz. The food was beautiful and tasty. Before choosing our deserts we asked for a 10 minute rest, we got 5 minutes then we were asked 4 times by 4 different staff what we would like, on one of these occasions my husband was not even at the table. For desert we had the cheese board and bread and butter pudding, my cheese arrived with no explanation of what the cheeses were so I asked the waiter (who was eastern European) what kinds there were and his reply was " yes cheese" when asked again he replied "yes Cornish cheese", I asked him again to find out from the chef, a few minutes later he returned with 3 names but did not know which ones were which on the plate so I had to guess. Overall we had a lovely meal here with a fabulous view, my only criticism was that at the beginning of the night when the restaurant was quiet there are lots of staff and they are far too attentive which is not a bad thing normally but we felt extremely rushed as they are watching your every move and plates being taken away as soon as you have put your cutlery down. I am not sure if they wanted the window table for someone else or it was just an extremely busy night in the restaurant. For £29.95pp for the food and £19 for the wine we really had a lovely meal and would recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    175
    80
    40
    25
See reviews for
138
342
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had my Wedding at Carbis Bay 4 days ago and it was just perfect from start to finish. My husband and I, and all our guests said they had the most fantastic day at Carbis Bay Hotel. The setting is beautiful, the staff are friendly, the food is divine, and Victoria (the wedding planner) is outstanding. We had so many compliments from our guests at how much they enjoyed themselves and the whole day ran without a hitch (mainly down to Victoria and her amazing organisational skills). We received a complimentary room on the night on our wedding which was fantastic and really enjoyed the beautiful view in the morning and our delicious breakfast. The hotel itself is beautiful, and I would return here again and again... and probably will in the years to come...
All in all I don't think I could have picked a more perfect venue for my Wedding!!! It was fantastic.

Room Tip: The sea view is well worth it!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

e have just had a one week stay at the Carbis bay Hotel. The hotel is clean and tastefully decorated, our room was lovely. Some of the rooms have a sea view and balcony. The food is fine dining but you felt at ease in their restaurant, the waiting staff were fabulous and couldn't do enough to make your stay a pleasant one and were always smiling.
The location is perfect and we had three weddings whilst there, so it is obviously a popular choice.
It is perfectly located to visit well known attractions like Lands End (20 miles), the Minack theatre, Penzance, etc and you can walk the coast path down to St Ives which takes about 20 minutes, or take the train, which is a very short walk away and very cheap!
If I had to warn you about anything, the hotel is set at the bottom of a steep slope and it has no lift with two floors. so if you can walk up hills and steps you must choose this hotel for your stay, it is a little gem.
As it is near the train station you can hear the trains that pass, they are diesel run rather than electric, but they didn't bother us at all and our room was on the side next to the viaduct. You also hear the sea lapping the shore.

We will definitely be going back in the future.

Room Tip: It is quieter at the top of the hotel, we were in 201 which was on the side and it was a good room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My daughter's wedding was held in the Carbis Bay Hotel on the weekend. What a wonderful experience. Victoria, the planner, co-ordinated everything to perfection. The food, staff, hotel amenities etc. were fantastic. The location is beautiful. Turquoise sea, miles of golden sand. The accommodation in the rooms, apartments and beach houses were excellent. Most of our guests, who travelled from long distances around Britain and Europe stayed at the hotel and all were very well pleased with the experience. The wedding breakfast choice and quality was of an exceptionally high standard, not usual at mass catered events like this.
We could not have chosen a better venue for our daughter to get married.
Thank you Victoria and Carbis Bay Hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is only a one stop train ride from St Ives. Make sure to use the path under the viaduct to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Built in 1894 the Carbis Bay Hotel is situated on the knoll of a narrow ravine and overlooks its own magnificent curving fine sand beach.
On the other side of the ravine was once Trencom Villa, formerly a home of Albert Kahn.
He was a philanthropist, who despatched photographers around the globe to record diverse ethnic groups in regional settings,and he pioneered the use of colour photography in anthropological research to aid the observation of costume. There is a museum devoted to his life situated in Paris.
During the second world-war Trencom Villa was an officers’ mess with a fine view across the sea.
Traversing the ravine is a rail viaduct, opened in 1877 this was the last Brunel ‘Broad Gauge’ line to be built in Britain and it terminates at the artists’ colony of St Ives, just a short rail distance from the hotel. For the mildly energetic there is an excellent coastal path route to the same destination.
There is evidence, both visual and documentary, of mine tunnelling in the cliff that forms the backdrop to the beach.
Added inspiration is given in that the hotel overlooks Godrevy, the lighthouse said to be the one depicted in Virginia Wolfe’s ‘To The Lighthouse’.
The hotel is also re-named as The Sands Hotel in the novel ‘The Shell Seekers’.
The controllable access to the beach and the excellent range of accommodation would make this an ideal movie location. An additional benefit is that the hotel has a good bar and serves food rivalling that found in top class restaurants.
We have stayed here many times. The coastal walk into St Ives is a gentle pleasure and you can get the train back to the hotel. See 'tebbuch' on youtube for some of the area.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the beach and the bay but take the binoculars to see the seals and the shark fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

over the last couple of months i have had the pleasure of having sunday lunch at the carbis bay hotel both were birthdays for about 15 to 20 people with their set lunch of starter main course and dessert each course came to the table quickly with no one needing to wait , there was enough staff on so we all was ready to eat to gether the main course was a little short of gravy for me ,but more was brought when asked for ,each course was arranged tastefully on the plate and the flavours matched the meat and veg we were looking at all in all it was a very good lunch we were then invited to sit in the sun terrace for tea or coffee no one felt rushed ,everything was sparkling clean and the decor looked lush ,there was also a choir singing , and a piano soloist all this came at an acceptable price ..would i go again.....oh yes .......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We spent two nights here and loved it. We walked a section of the coastal path so the location was perfect. Our room was small but comfortable, very clean, and had everything we needed with a lovely en-suite. The balcony was small but oh what a view of the bay, it was breath taking. Only 20 minutes walk from St Ives and it was lovely to return to peace and quiet after a walk through busy (though very nice) St Ives. Our breakfasts and evening meals in the restaurant were delicious and the huge conservatory bar area was very relaxing. There is also a lovely heated outdoor pool. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carbis Bay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carbis Bay Hotel & Spa

Address: Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2NP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St Ives
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carbis Bay Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Carbis Bay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carbis Bay
Carbis Bay Hotel St Ives
Carbis Bay St Ives
Carbis Bay Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carbis Bay Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.