We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BOX ROOM” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyon Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Carlyon Guest House to your Saves list
Carlyon Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18, The Terrace, St Ives, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“BOX ROOM”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed in room 2 which was described as 'standard double' when we booked (and is now described as a small double) yet we paid the same price as the other 'standard double' rooms. The room is/was not a double room there was barely room to walk round the bed.

When we first arrived there was no offer of assistance with our case, we were just given the key and told where the room was. Then we realised why! When we unlocked the door and started to go in we realised that we had to wait for one to go in to shut the door and then open the door again to push the case in, then shut the door again so the case could be moved out of the way and then the 2nd person could go in.

We did not unpack straight away as I was checking the cancellation policy and looking for somewhere else to stay. Unfortunately, there was no other accommodation for a full week and the cancellation policy was such that we would have had to pay for the full week anyway.

We decided reluctantly that we had to stay put and started to unpack. The wardrobe was about 12 inches wide and we could not hang all of our clothes up. There was a folding chair in the room (god knows why) that we had to put in the ensuite so we had somewhere to put our case. The bathroom door had had a chunk cut out of it so it would open wide enough for you to get in but still did not pass the sink!

The room was far too small for a couple to stay more than 2 nights.

The breakfast was ok, though sometimes a little on the cool side.

This was our 3rd time to St Ives and the 3rd place we have stayed. We will not be staying in this B&B again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyonGuestHouse, Manager at Carlyon Guest House, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
It was with great sadness that i read this review. As far as we were concerned the guests were happy. Not 1 complaint was ever given to ourselves by these guests during there stay.
This room is a small room but has everything you need with in for a comfortable stay. The room has very limited floor space but not to the extent discribed in the review. We also offer a large guest lounge with large TV and bar so guests do not need to be stuck in the bedrooms.
This room was booked through the booking site laterooms where a full discription is available.
It also states "very limited floor space"
Also the room is no where near the price of our standard rooms. Its is discounted and you will not find a cheaper en-suite room of any size in st ives in August cheaper than our price.

We are sorry to these guests that they didnt feel our service was worthy of a second visit as we have many many returning guests every year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    11
    9
    8
See reviews for
16
27
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We didn't even get to stay there! My husband was taken severely ill and we had to cancel our special trip for our anniversary. I cancelled our booking in good time, spoke to the hotel manager (Wayne) and booking.com and said I could supply a Doctors note. There was no understanding or courtesy from either party and despite cancelling way ahead of time on a booking that in the middle of summer , they will ceratinly fill - they still charged us 50% even though this is not stated clearly in their policy. Neither booking.com or the hotel have a complaint procedure and both blamed the other for the confusion about the cancellation clause. Booking .com said 'they had read it wrong'!The manager said it was nothing to do with him, he wasn't the owner! When I asked for the owner I was told, 'he'll just tell you the same'.Very disappointing response. We certainly won't be recommending either company or hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Carlyon Guest House, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
This Guest booked witn us using the internet agent booking.com.
Before booking our cancellation policy is visable on the website for the guests to make an informed desision. After booking the same cancellation policy is then printed on the guests confirmation email they receive from booking.com.

I can not change a policy that has been issued, This would be totally unfair on other guests. We tend to try and re book guest in for another time to avoid charges. This guest did not give me chance to try and help her instead she decided to hang up on myself and booking.com staff and write this review when she hasnt stayed with us to review the venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalmadena, Spain
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great spot, right on The Terrace as you enter St Ives with views of the magnificent bay. The owners are kind, friendly, helpful. Rooms a bit small which is why I say good for short stays. I was there five days and would have appreciated a change in towel service, not sure why they were being so conservative on towels and I didn't ask but ti's the first time no one has changed my towels after 3 days max. So, if you are a clean freak or fastidious, this is not the casual spot for you.
What I really appreciated about breakfast was the assortment of options and the variety of fresh fruit, that really made a difference for me, it's what I enjoy most first thing in the morning! They do the full English and every variety thereof so if you like that no worries, it's there for you!

Room Tip: Obviously, if you're facing the sea you will get street noise but the view is memorable, it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

For my mums birthday, I decided to take her to the beautiful St Ives. After hunting around for the best deal during the Easter Holidays, the Carlyon Guest House became a clear winner. The manager made everything quick and painless.
Upon arrival, I was very suprised to see how close the guest house was to the town and the train station. Wayne, the manager, was very welcoming and gave us a tour of the guest house; explaining meal times and recommending restaurants and shops around the town.
The view from our room (1A - twin room) was spectacular. We would just sit there with a cup of tea first thing in the morning and look out across the bay. It was absolutely beautiful.
The breakfast service and food was again specatcular. A healthy choice was available, but Wayne would tailor the breakfast to suit us. Very kind of him!

I couldn't fault our room or the service provided. Our mini break was very much what the doctor ordered. Leaving St Ives was one of the hardest things I have done this year!! I will most definately be returning; that is if Wayne can spare us room 1A!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Where do we start - perfect location from train station - literally less than a minute from where you hop off train. We had room 3 which was the single room but can be a double - MORE than enough room for 2 people and the view was amazing. slept with blinds up so we could enjoy every moment possible. The breakfast was amazing and very very filling and Wayne was more than happy to provide you with anything to make you happy. He went above and beyond the service we thought we were going to get. Rooms were very clean also. Wayne was happy to help with travel plans. This place is a must! Perfect for anyone and only a 5 minute walk MAX into centre of town which is perfect! You get so much value for your money...We would happily have paid more than what we did!Thanks Wayne you're a legend!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I went to stay at this hotel with my 7 year old twins and I was a little concerned because many guest houses aren't very tolerant of young children. I was worrying about nothing. The manager Wayne was fabulous with the children and within a day or two all shyness had vanished and they adored him. The breakfasts were great, the room was delightful and Wayne couldn't have done more to help make our stay as wonderful as it was. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I only saw the family room but it was comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Just had an amazing restfull short weekend break at the Carlyon. Wayne the manager an excellent host couldnt do enough for us. Room 1a was clean,comfortable,adequate and views stunning over Porthminster beach.the sound of the waves was very peaceful. Breakfast was filling, choices to suite most people. guest house position is close enough to the town center yet far enough away not to hear too much noise. Would definately recomend to anyone as a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlyon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlyon Guest House

Address: 18, The Terrace, St Ives, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlyon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly guesthouse in St Ives with most rooms having bay windows with stunning sea, beach and coastal views. We have single, double, twin and family rooms and they are all en-suite with TV, towels and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Carlyon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyon Guest House St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlyon Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.