We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Keep

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Keep
Save
You added The Keep to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6 Hicks Court, St Ives TR26 1HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 103 St Ives B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful little B&B for three nights and had a truly relaxing time. The Keep is in a perfect location right in the middle of the town, with easy access to the quaint shops, restaurants and pubs.

No detail was forgotten at The Keep, with top quality furnishings, including a very comfy bed and modern shower. Mike and Carol were lovely hosts, providing excellent tips about the town and a fantastic breakfast.

We would recommend staying at The Keep if you are looking for a well located yet quiet stay. We would definitely recommed this B&B and would love to stay again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pilchard Press room which had a comfortable four poster bed-a little touch of luxur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
161
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Mike and Carol are very welcoming and The keep is a wonderful place to stay.
We have stayed a few times now and it is our little piece of calm.
Breakfast is the best. Would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We went down to St. Ives and to try and save a bit of money we decided to camp for the first 3 nights then treat ourselves to this B&B for the last two. After the three nights camping in what turned out to be not so great weather it was such a treat to turn up at the Keep and be welcomed in to a lovely warm, very well presented and comfortable B&B. The owners were extremely friendly and our stay there really made the holiday even more memorable. We can not recommend this place enough and hope we can get back there in the very near future!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

We stopped with Mike and Carol over the February half term. The Keep is in a perfect location in the heart of the old town. It has easy level access to the railway station. The accommodation is of a very high standard and if both letting rooms are booked to two couples you have an almost self contained unit. We would certainly stop there again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the keep for 1 night and had a wonderful relaxing time. The b&b is modern, spacious and well appointed with a lovely bathroom. St Ives is lovely with lots of nooks to explore.
The owners were friendly and helpful with all out with all our requests. The breakfast may have been the best we had during our trip - berry pancakes with maple syrup!
Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is our second stay at the Keep and have already booked our third!! The Keep is a fabulous B&B right in the heart of St Ives and Mike and Carol looked after us amazingly as always, they are perfect hosts and great to sit and chat to. Having stayed in a number of places in St Ives, The Keep is certainly the best on all aspects.

P.S Jessica loves the pancakes for breakfast and has requested them as a special later this year please! As you know I don't eat much for breakfast but you could twist my arm for one of your great cooked breakfasts!

Thanks very much both

Simon & Jessica

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I've visited St Ives many times and this was by far the loveliest place I've stayed in. Fantastic location at the top of The Digey which puts you within a few minutes walk of pretty much everything St Ives has to offer. The room was excellent (we stayed in the slightly smaller Mermaid room) and tastefully decorated with a great ensuite bathroom. The communal area for breakfast was nicely done and you could use in the evenings too - though I suspect if you had neighbours in the other room it might be a bit irritating for them, but perfect if you went with friends and hired out both. Carol and Mike are great hosts and so helpful - even with all my picky dietary requirements - really can't fault this brilliant B&B.....oh and yes the breakfasts are as good as everyone says. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keep

Address: 6 Hicks Court, St Ives TR26 1HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keep 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique position in the heart of St Ives, a stone's throw from the fabulous beaches, The Tate, and the town itself. THE KEEP B&B, a recently-converted Sail Loft and Pilchard factory, lies off a quaint cobbled lane in Downalong. With no passing traffic, THE KEEP offers just two bedrooms, and combines a rare sense of peace and quiet inside, with the the buzz and hum of St Ives a level stroll away. Oriental rugs and furniture blend well with modern facilities, including spacious en suite drench showers, flat screen TVs, free high-speed WiFi, underfloor heating and KS Lombok beds. Enjoy a delicious Locally-sourced breakfast in what used to be the 16th Century house's central, now glass topped, courtyard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Keep St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Keep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.