We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Treloyhan Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Treloyhan Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
Treloyhan Park Road | St Ives, St Ives TR26 2AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 103 St Ives B&B and Inns
Salford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Staff were nice. We (as a gay couple) were a little wary when we found out it was a "Christian" hotel but found very little problem. Breakfast was nice - though some of the other hotel residents were a little strange at breakfast!
Room was very nice and the hotel itself is beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treloyhan_GM, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    35
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
19
50
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here Saturday and Sunday on August bank holiday weekend. Parking available which is a bonus in St Ives. Within walking distance to the town (about half an hour). Room was absolutely spotless and little toiletries were supplied with tea and coffee. Reception were friendly, can't comment on the meals as we didn't eat at the hotel. My only qualm would be that when we arrived our toilet roll was less than a quarter full. I went to reception and asked for another, and I was asked if I could wait until the morning for room service to restock it. I expect if I had kicked up a fuss they would have supplied me with one, but it would be good idea to have a few essentials spare behind reception. Whilst the hotel is marketed as a Christian hotel, me and my other half are not practicing Christians and did not notice anything overly "Christian" about the hotel. For less than £70 a night on a bank holiday was an absolute bargain, and wouldn't hesitate booking here again if I go to St Ives.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treloyhan_GM, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments, please accept my apologies that we did not replenish your supplies quickly, and yes a supply behind reception would be a good idea. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenilworth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked at Treloyhan expecting a "sea view" as per our confirmation, but on arrival this did not materialise. We made our concerns known to the front desk and were told that they would "get back" to us after discussion with the manager. This again did not materialise. Initially a mistake possibly, but one which had precluded us looking elsewhere, and the lack of follow-up from TMH was a great concern. I think that many other customers would have made a great deal more fuss than ourselves.
The building is fascinating - rather musty but full of lovely oak panneling and interesting features - and only needs a few stags' heads on the walls to set it off properly. It was apparently considered at some stage as the gallery for the St. Ives' artists before the Tate project took shape.
Do take a torch if going out at night by foot as the paths from the road to the hotel are long and very dark and potentially dangerous. Also your bus pass, because If rather aged like me and enjoy a drink, you will need to get the bus back from St Ives as the walk back is long and uphill.
We could not locate a lift and aged customers or those with bad legs etc should be particularly aware of this as there can be a long haul to the bedrooms with suitcases.
Also our room, which was described as a family en suite, had windows without secure window fastenings (i.e. window stays were missing/loose) and I would not have been happy to have stayed there with a young child when windows needed to be open.
There was a large group staying at the same time as ourselves and this did tend to dominate things. Possibly the Christian Guild need to consider whether the mix of large Christian groups and other travellers is entirely workable. There were a lot of activities going on and we did feel rather in the way, to be honest. We should have been very pushed to have had a go on the ping-pong table or to have used any communal areas. Also things became very noisy on 23/8/2013 when various of the group were departing very late at night.
Breakfasts were very splendid, in an interesting, very old-fashioned dining room and staff could not be faulted on their service and friendliness. Absolutely excellent. Unfortunately it was not pointed out to us on arrival that it was possible to book a separate table for breakfast. We generally enjoyed mixing with others on the large tables but one (Christian?) lady in particular did not seem to have enjoyed mixing with us!
I enjoyed my stay at Treloyhan and found it an interesting experience. Visitors need to be very clear about what to expect and TMH could offer more clarity regarding this. Groups possibly could be advised regarding their rather exclusive attitude.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treloyhan_GM, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments, and please accept my apologies that we made a mistake on our correspondence regarding you room grade. However my colleague who was dealing with you at the time did give you complimentary breakfast regarding this matter, and if you had made me aware of your other issues during your stay I would have been able to sort something out for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Eliza
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Treloyhan Manor Hotel was a beautiful old building and grounds. Our room had a great view of the sea. 10 minute walk to beach very steep climb back. Staff friendly, but we found it very noisy at night as there was a large Christian groups staying also with many children.
Maybe when large groups of children are staying private bookings should be limited.
We really enjoyed St Ives.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Ask about other bookings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treloyhan_GM, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, and I am sorry to hear that you found the hotel noisy, but as a family hotel we do have a large number of children who stay during the summer holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week with a group; the location is wonderful, set in superb grounds with views of the sea. The service from all the staff was great, in particular the dining room personnel were excellent. Overall i would recommend this hotel in a fantastic part of the country.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treloyhan_GM, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just returned from a week staying at the Treloyhan Manor Hotel a 19th century building near St. Ives with beautiful grounds. The rooms are spacious, very clean and tidy and all bedrooms now have flat screen TV. It is a Christian Guild Hotel but apart from a selection of Christian books for sale it wouldn't be obvious. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The view over Carbis Bay was magnificent. The breakfasts were very good BUT beware the evening meals, the food was very poorly cooked, potatoes too hard to get a fork into on one night, and the choices did not suit us. We booked and paid for BBEM but had to eat out on a couple of nights. If the dinners had been better I would have given 5 stars.

Room Tip: There is no lift in the hotel so be sure to book lower floor, some rooms have views over the gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treloyhan_GM, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meals and our menus were not to your taste but I hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here in April and found it that defied our expectations. We were originally a little dubious about the hotel being a Christian Guild property as both my partner and I are atheists, however the religious side of hotel was barely noticeable. The staff were really welcoming and the rooms clean and tidy. We booked a double room and actually have a double bed and a single for the same price so we were happy.

In terms of the location the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the beach. To get to the main beach of St Ives you simply need to walk down a nice and quiet path, although it does get very dark at night. The hotel has a car park which you require a pass to use, these are available free of charge from the reception desk. The reception has a mini tuck shop which is handy when you fancy a snack.

Overall we had a nice stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treloyhan_GM, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treloyhan Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treloyhan Manor Hotel

Address: Treloyhan Park Road | St Ives, St Ives TR26 2AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treloyhan Manor stands in a magnificent position overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, on the edge of the picturesque seaside town of St. Ives.Built in the 19th century for the shipping magnate Sir Edward Hain, Treloyhan has accommodation for 100 guests and occupies a location which makes it ideal for families.St. Ives itself, once a fishing village, has long been a haven for artists attracted by the clear light, the quaint narrow streets leading down to the sea, and the magnificent views.Major road improvements now make St. Ives more easily accessible. Whether you prefer to travel by car, train, coach or simply fly, we can assist you with your transportation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Treloyhan Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treloyhan Manor Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treloyhan Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.