We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love treloyhan manor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treloyhan Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Treloyhan Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
Treloyhan Park Road | St Ives, St Ives TR26 2AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 103 St Ives B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I love treloyhan manor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Have been going to treloyhan manor since i was little its in a perfect location about a 5/10 min walk from porthminster beach and it has a lovely view over the beach the gardens are also great. The rooms do vary as some have been refurbished, the food is good lots of variety and a fry up every morning, what more could you want!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kieran_treloyhan, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Many thanks for your thoughtful comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    35
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
19
50
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nahant, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a nice setting. Impressive building, interior and grounds. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. The rooms are quite nice and the food is good quality. Our small group had both breakfast and dinner included in our package. Our only issue was the pace of dining. It was like a well run military drill from the minute we sat down. Wait staff asked for both our drink and food order immediately and everything was very quickly paced from that moment. We repeatedly requested a slower pace, but that only helped a bit. We started to laugh after a day or so as our waitresses would come steaming to our table at high spped with the next delivery and you better not leave anything sitting idle for a moment or it was swept away. I will rate the service as excellent allowing for this concern.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kieran_treloyhan, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Many thanks for your comments, please accept my apologies that your dining experience was not as leisurely as it should have been, and we will certainly ensure we get things right for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Rock, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent 2 nights here attending a family wedding at the nearby Tregenna Castle. We were advised of the Hotel by the wedding party and checked it out on TA and booking.com before we agreed to stay here. Everything was exactky what we expected and have no complaints at all.
Just a couple of things to note, the bathroom we had was a little bit small especially as there were 5 beds in our room but as we were only 3 people it was fine.
If you are expecting TV in the room there wasn't any in ours but there is a TV room downstairs.
Breakfast was normal, nothing to shout about, the preserves are on the table but the marmalade is by the cereals.
The Christian information is available to all guests but was not mentioned to us at all.
All in all very good value.

Room Tip: Check on bathroom size for large families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kieran_treloyhan, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Many thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My cousin and I have just completed a weeks holiday at the Treloyhan Manor Hotel, and cannot praise the hotel staff highly enough for their efforts to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

The restaurant staff are amazing people and nothing is too much trouble for them. The hotel has a fanatastic chef, meals were superb and on a par with anything found in a top London hotel.

Kieran the hotel manager was very helpful and kind and we would like to thank him and his amazing staff for the most relaxing holiday either of us has ever had.

Simply the best place to stay in Cornwall.

I hadn't had a holiday since 1998 so to have such an amazing holiday was simply heaven.

We wish all at Treloyhan Manor Hotel every success for the future, and hope to see you all again next year.

Kindest Regards
Paul Johnson and Kathryn Critchley-Fowler

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kieran_treloyhan, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind and considered comments, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We holidayed with our two children during the organised family fun weeks in August. This was a return visit, not for top notch accommodation, but for lovely Christian fellowhip in a wonderful location. The children think it's great having so many other children to play with, and the food and service is good too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kieran_treloyhan, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we do value your feedback and look forward to seeing you on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were left very dissapointed after our weekend stay. We are a couple in our thirties with young children. The "Hotel" felt more like a old peoples home. we didnt realise this was a christian Hotel and feel this should be pointed out at time of booking.The Hotel we viewed on the internet and paid alot of money for, had more of a Hostel / guest house feel. Our room was nothing like the ones shown on the internet. Infact complete opposite, like a nursing home room. Very basic indeed. Not even a TV. Breakfast is served 8am-9am only,which by the time we got the kids ready we missed,but were happy to leave.
On the plus, The view was good from the room and it was clean. Easy parking and good location set in nice grounds....but it did not have a Hotel feel!

Room Tip: DO not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kieran_treloyhan, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
I am sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations, and as you would expect for any commercial hotel our clientel and customer base is ever changing, I would suggest researching venues in advance prior to booking in order to avoid future disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyside, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Basically, the pictures depict a rather elegant manor house, and that was not at all the case. I would describe the location as musty and weathered. The staff was lovely and very helpful in shortening our reservation, but we were quite disappointed based on the expectations that the pictures created. Also, it is important to note that prices in St. Ives are quite high, and again, though we thought we were paying a pretty penny for an elegant stay, we were paying a lot of money for a utilitarian location. Again, the staff is lovely and the interaction with other guests was pleasant, but if you are looking for a luxurious manor house experience, this is not the place for you. We ended up moving north to Padstow and staying nearby at the Molesworth Manor which in fact did meet our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kieran_treloyhan, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments, and I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed. Regarding your points raised, we do have a wide range of rooms of varying shapes and sizes all of which unfortunately we cannot display on our website, but we do endeavour to describe our rooms and hotel accurately to people when making bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treloyhan Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treloyhan Manor Hotel

Address: Treloyhan Park Road | St Ives, St Ives TR26 2AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treloyhan Manor stands in a magnificent position overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, on the edge of the picturesque seaside town of St. Ives.Built in the 19th century for the shipping magnate Sir Edward Hain, Treloyhan has accommodation for 100 guests and occupies a location which makes it ideal for families.St. Ives itself, once a fishing village, has long been a haven for artists attracted by the clear light, the quaint narrow streets leading down to the sea, and the magnificent views.Major road improvements now make St. Ives more easily accessible. Whether you prefer to travel by car, train, coach or simply fly, we can assist you with your transportation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Treloyhan Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treloyhan Manor Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treloyhan Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.