We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the two best restaurants in Corwnall!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spinacio's

Spinacio's
Old Custom House | Wharf Road, St Ives TR26 1LF, England
01736798818
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 122 Restaurants in St Ives
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the two best restaurants in Corwnall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We make a habit of trying to got to St Ives and eat here once a year as a treat. The food never disappoints, the menu is always full of the most imaginative veggie food you are likely to ever see (Beetroot and Walnut pate... inspired..). Even though we are not strictly vegetarians, we still choose to eat here for the amazing food. Not over-priced and cooked to perfection. The curry's are just fantastic....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    20
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A little dissapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We pre-booked several weeks ahead and as a result were given one of the tables in the bay windows. As such the view across the harbour was splendid - no complaints there. The furnishing left a bit to be desired - hard wooden benches and tables giving the impression of a health food cafe going back to the 1980s. As a result this meant there was no where to put your coats or jackets, you simply end up folding them and leaving them at your side.

Menus weren't printed, instead are hand written on boards on the wall. Personally I prefer to glance through a printed menu and not stand up to make my choices.

We had good service, but felt that the staff could be a little more knowledgeable on the menu. A lady sitting nearby had specific needs due to a nut allergy. The waitress to be honest wasn't 100% sure and kept having to say "I'll go and ask".

Food was good, nothing spectacular. We both had different starters - Hereford Cheese & Beetroot + Walnut Pâté. And again different main courses - Black Bean Pancakes & Cannelloni. The latter was a a little bland. Along with bread & olives plus a reasonably priced bottle of wine this came to just under £60 which I have to say was a little overpriced. With desserts and coffee, this would have been an expensive meal, well above average in price to what two of us would expect. But this is St Ives and as with everything else you are paying for the location too.

So to conclude, despite a lot of research for restaurants in St Ives this place had a lot of promise. But sadly this was a little disappointing especially as is a specialist restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fresh, imaginative food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

A lovely small restaurant serving a varied menu - only three main courses to choose from but they all looked delicious and that's more choice than one normally gets as a vegetarian. Reports that they have their own allotment were confirmed by the freshness of the food. Extremely tasty food, very friendly atmosphere and a great selection of both wine and beer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very tasty and interesting food. The menu changes daily and there is always a good variety of dishes. The Beetroot pate (starter) and blak bean pancakes (main) were especially good.

Service is friendly and relaxed and the restaurant has a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great little vegetarian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had dinner at Spinacio's during a trip to St Ives in late July.
We really enjoyed our evening. The food was lovely, and very "home-style". Everything our party ordered was tasty and fresh. The choice is a little limited but it is great that everything on the menu is suitable for vegetarians.
We also sampled some local bottled ales, which went down very well on a warm July evening.
The restaurant is small so it makes sense to book in high season.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spinacio's also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Spinacio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spinacio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.