We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish and Chips Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Becks Fish and Chips

Becks Fish and Chips
Longstone Hill | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2LJ, England
+44 1736 796241
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 106 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Becks has expanded into a restaurant with bar and lounge area to complement the still thriving take-away. The restaurant area itself seats over 100 people. Becks does not take reservations, although notification of parties over 9 people is recommended. The main selling point and one of the major credentials is that Becks offer gluten free options. All types of fish (Cod, Haddock, Hake, Plaice), scampi and pizzas are available with this option. For customers choosing to sit in the restaurant there is also a range of desserts on offer that are gluten free. Becks is the only fish and chip shop in a 6 mile radius that offer gluten free products.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Fish and chips were delicious, quaint restaurant with a family friendly atmosphere and very reasonably priced. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    54
    14
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We sat and had a drink in a very pleasant area while waiting for a table. The food and service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly staff. There was plenty to choose from on the menu at a good price, thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good takeaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We enjoyed our fish and chips from Beck's. The staff were really friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them, including the gluten-free battered haddock and onion rings that we ordered. Didn't have to wait very long, even though they were clearly very busy. Nice to get our order packed into a cardboard box, rather than the usual plastic carrier bag. Ample parking a bonus too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“best fish I've tasted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Like most Cornish establishments the staff were lovely. The food was great - in fact it was so good I ate way more than I usually do and ended up feeling like a beached whale (but I'd do it all over again)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We went to Becks for a take away for 5 of us, we ordered from the take away section, but meet the peers in the restaurant section who were very very friendly. The food was lovely and it would seem the locals think so also as it was queuing out the door, but we got chatting to the other customers and we were served very quickly, go you will not be disappointed,.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Becks Fish and Chips also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Becks Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Becks Fish and Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.