We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcroft Coastal Retreat

Save Saved
You added Beachcroft Coastal Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beachcroft Coastal Retreat
Valley Road, St Ives TR26 2QS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 104 St Ives B&B and Inns
Rossendale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Luxury B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

First class hotel in Carbis Bay. Excellent location, beautiful décor and fantastic breakfasts. David & Karen are great hosts from the time you arrive until you leave. Highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

"coastal retreat" perfectly describes Beachcroft, David and Karen have created this peaceful haven, which is just a short walk from the beautiful centre of St Ives - or a quick taxi, if you have had an extra bottle! The rooms are beautiful with fantastic bathrooms - furniture and fittings all of a very high quality. David and Karen are lovely hosts and can help with restaurant selection - even letting you know where there is a new chef and so somewhere may have changed from your last visit, they offer friendly advice without being intrusive, if you can't relax here - you probably won't anywhere in England!

Room Tip: all the rooms are fantastic, but not all have baths, if you prefer a bath to a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this exceptional bed and breakfast coastal retreat many times, sometimes just for a long weekend or, when time allows, for a week or longer, and it seems to get better on each occasion. It takes B & B to a completely different level. The rooms are spacious with quality furniture and some with super kingsize beds, which we favour, lovely cotton bedlinen and those fine little touches like Molton Brown toiletries and bottled mineral water. The wonderful bathrooms have Villeroy & Boch sanitary ware with big showers and baths, which, just like the bedrooms, are kept absolutely spotless. The whole experience is utterly relaxing.

I have read many of the other reviews and would reiterate everything that has been said about the splendid breakfasts. It appears that whatever nationality you are and whatever taste you have, Karen and David will cater for your every need. They are always so welcoming and helpful. We so often arrive feeling stressed from running our own business but leave, even after only a couple of days, feeling so much more relaxed. We will definitely be returning very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at Beachcroft for 6 nights with my wife. Beautiful bedroom with large and stunning bathroom - bath and separate walk in shower. Superb breakfasts - all you could ever want and of high quality. Karen was very friendly and welcoming and could not do any more for her guests.
The whole of Beachcroft is tranquil and calm - yet close enough to walk into St Ives along the coastal path.
Boutique accommodation of the highest quality- we definitely would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful 2 nights' stay at Beachcroft. Our room was beautifully appointed and our bathroom was spacious, clean and had a fabulous walk-in shower. Karen was incredibly hospitable and recommended some excellent restaurants in St Ives. The breakfast was great; both the continental selection and the hot meal. The views from the property are fantastic and they have a big deck which, sadly, due to the inclement weather, we were unable to utilise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We've stayed at Beachcroft several times, and it has always been fantastic. The rooms are beautiful with really comfortable bedding, lovely bathrooms and luxe bath products. Karen and David have always been super helpful, generous with their time, and can't do enough for their guests. The breakfasts are amazing, made with local ingredients and served with a view of Carbis Bay in a sunny dining room.

I'm from Australia originally and have travelled through Australia, the UK, France, the USA and Canada. I've stayed in every kind of accommodation from backpackers to 5 star hotels and Beachcroft is still the best. We live back in Australia now, but future trips to the UK will always include a visit to Beachcroft.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a fantastic weekend for our first anniversary. On arrival, Karen was there to greet us at the door, asked us if we wished to head into town and what we were looking for and booked us a taxi and restaurant for the evening. Our room, Trevose, had breathtaking views, great furnishings, supremely comfortable bed, stylish bathroom and even a cafetiere plus ground coffee. David's breakfasts were great and the staff were very helpful and informative at breakfast.
We are currently planning our next visit. My only complaint is that my wife liked the furnishings in Trevose so much that I've spent the last 2 weekends being dragged around B&Q looking for matches!
Thank you for everything Karen and David.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra for a seaview but there is no such thing as a bad room here and the guest s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beachcroft Coastal Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcroft Coastal Retreat

Address: Valley Road, St Ives TR26 2QS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachcroft itself provides private luxurious accommodation within an informal, friendly and relaxed atmosphere – appealing to the discerning traveller looking for a luxury weekend or short break stay. Quality and high standards of customer service are clearly evident and the establishment carries a Five Star endorsement from the AA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Beachcroft Coastal Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcroft Coastal Retreat St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcroft Coastal Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.