We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rhubarbs - CLOSED

Rhubarbs
7 High Street, St Ives TR26 1RR , England
01736 791988
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary, Healthy, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Rhubarbs is situated in the hub of St Ives. Fresh, healthy, rustic food cooked all day. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with homemade cakes and cream teas served too. We serve a wide variety of food, with a superb friendly service in a modern yet eclectic environment. We look forward to seeing you at Rhubarbs!
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food, great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

me and my boyfriend came here for breakfast one morning and we were very nicely surprised it was delicious and such good value for money, the owner was very friendly and so was the waitress, my partner felt there was perhaps something lacking in the ambience which i suppopse i wouldnt disagree, i would say my personal downpoint was not enough sugars given for my tea and when i asked for more that still wasnt quite enough as the little sachets are only about half a teaspoon! Other than that would highly recommend!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    34
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
scoobs11
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fine for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Had a pleasant lunch however agree with one of the recent reviewers that it lacks a little something, particularly in atmosphere. Had a good baguette however smallest pot of tea ever. Some pictures on walls would be a good start to make it more appealing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Cracking Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Visted this place after a long read of its extensive menu, ordered a rump steak, fantastic meal, huge platefull of presentable and perfectly cooked food. My wife a a smaller meal, also very good, the homemade soup was amazing. Restaurant was small and fairly quiet, which was quite surprising, staff were ok, except for a rather strange man at the till, and very reasonable price.
I would highly recomend this place as somewhere cheap and good value for money if you want a good feed up, quite impressed being in trade back home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a ploughman's/all day breakfast on a cold April day and have to say the food was good value and staff were pleasant but when it came to pay I could not belive they didn't take any card payments. Never been to any restaurant that only took cash really inconvenient and behind the times, we just had enough money on us but almost had to go to a cashpoint machine to pay up .

This small but very inconvenient thing would put us off re visiting again when we return to Cornwall in the summer which is a shame.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Basic town centre cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Went in for a meal after seeing good reviews. We found it to be lacking something, not that you could refer to it as bad as such.
The food was average, and appeared to be prepared in a seperate building and carried through a courtyard into the cafe, which I feel is unhygienic

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhubarbs also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhubarbs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.