We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westcliff Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westcliff Guest House
Save
You added Westcliff Guest House to your Saves list
Beach Road, St Ives TR26 1JY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 103 St Ives B&B and Inns
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This was our first time in St, Ives and did we find the perfect place to stay.
Terrie and Mike are the perfect hosts, friendly and helpful. The rooms are not large but have have everything you need and are spotlessly clean. The dining room and lounge overlook the sea ideal to watch the waves crashing on a cold
windy day. We had the full breakfast every day which kept us going only needing a cup of tea and a slice of cake in the middle of the afternoon.
You have your own allocated parking space which is a god send in St. Ives, we only took the car out once to go to Lands End. You can walk for miles along the coastal path and always catch a bus back, or just potter around the many alley ways and harbour.
We will be recommending Terrie and Mike to friends and will be back ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Westcliff Guest House, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and delighted that you enjoyed your first visit to lovely St. Ives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We have stayed at Westcliff every year for 25 years. It is very clean & homely & exceptionally friendly. It is at Porthmeor Beach ( with indoor/outdoor excellent restaurant & beach takeaway) next to Bowling & Putting Greens, Tate Modern and coastal path, 10 minute relatively flat walk to harbour & shops. Run by Terrie (with some help from hubbie Mike) it is a real home from home with great full English breakfast. We go home feeling really relaxed from our holiday(having made a provisional booking for next year.

FREE PARKING with easy access to beach

Room Tip: first floor bay window(magnificant view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliffguesthouse, Owner at Westcliff Guest House, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We really look forward to your stay every year - see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

"Come to St. Ives for an unforgettable Cornish holiday, come to Mike and Terrie Cook at Westcliffe Guest house for a truly warm and friendly stay.
Terrie's warm welcome and bubbly personality let you know you will enjoy your stay. The property is not too large, but the rooms are clean and comfortable, with the individual facilities one would expect, ie Tv , tea, coffee and biscuits, with en-suite in all rooms. The service is excellent.
The house and Terrie Cook have reflective personalities….. not overly large, welcoming, with a bright , sunny friendly outlook! (and the view from the house is one of the best in St Ives)
Mr and Mrs Cook are a warm, pleasant and accommodating team, this is a family home; stay here once and I guarantee you will return, just as we do,"

Eddie and Jackie Thrower
(Nottingham)

Room Tip: Ask for the Bridal Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliffguesthouse, Owner at Westcliff Guest House, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Your kind comments are much appreciated and we are so pleased that you all have enjoyed your stay here. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I stayed in Room 4 at Westcliff for Easter 2011. On arrival I saw that the pictures on their website http://www.guesthouse-stives.co.uk/ are entirely accurate – the views are simply amazing! My room on the second floor was quite small but had everything I needed – a comfortable double bed, good storage space, Freeview tv and wireless internet with a good connection included in the price. The bathroom was compact with a very good shower. As you’ll see from my photo, the room has breathtaking views over Porthmeor Beach, from the coastal path to the Island!

I found the Westcliff location ideal: close to the town centre and harbour (five minutes’ easy walking with no gigantic hills to navigate), yet right on the beach and blessedly quiet at night. I loved St Ives but the harbour area, even at Easter, was heaving with people. During the night at Westcliff the only sound was the waves washing on the shore – not something you could say in the town centre, I am sure! I travelled by train, but there is parking available for guests in front of the house, which I suspect is quite unusual in St Ives.

Breakfast was served from 8.30-9am and it was lavish – a choice of cereals, plus a cooked breakfast, with toast and jam to follow, and coffee or tea. The cooked breakfast was delicious and I loved the hot cross buns laid on specially for Easter! After such a vast breakfast, I found I only needed ice cream for lunch, so that saved me some money – and the Cornish ice cream is not to be missed!

Terrie and Mike were the perfect hosts – friendly, helpful and extremely efficient. Though it’s a small guest house with only four rooms, the service was first class. Westcliff will definitely be my first choice when I return to St Ives!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliffguesthouse, Owner at Westcliff Guest House, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments - I'm glad you enjoyed the 'Easter Treats'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

The Westcliff Guest House run by Terrie must and must be in the best location in St Ives with fantastic views overlooking the beach. Ideal for Porthmear Beach only a few minutes walk, and only a couple more minutes to the Town centre. Terrie the host is most accomodating and helpful. She even dried my wifes clothes for her in her tumble drier when she was caught in a shower. Breakfast is varied and plentiful. I had the full english for 3 days running and only just managed to finish it if i missed the cereals first. Plenty of free car parking right outside the door which is a big bonus as parking in St. Ives is horrendous. We parked up outside on day of arrival and didn't need to use the car again till we left. There are 2 rooms with a sea view, get 1 of those if you can, the views are superb. The garden facing facing rooms are ok too so don't be put off by them if thats all thats left because you won't want to spend much time in them as St. Ives in Cornwall is absolutely the best seaside town in the UK.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliffguesthouse, Owner at Westcliff Guest House, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
St. Ives is 'the jewel of the West' - we are so glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westcliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Guest House

Address: Beach Road, St Ives TR26 1JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westcliff is superbly situated facing the golden sands of Porthmeor Beach and the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. Directly opposite Westcliff are the bowling and putting greens and the coastal footpath. A quiet location yet the harbour, shops and other beaches are just a few minutes gentle walk away and the famous St Ives Tate Gallery is close by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westcliff Guest House St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westcliff Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.