We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Firehouse Bar and Grill

Firehouse Bar and Grill
27 Fore Street, St Ives TR26 1AB, England
01736 799664
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 124 Restaurants in St Ives
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Nice food, well priced and we got a view too! Apparently the fish and chips were as good as any in the fish restaurants! All looked very clean too and the staff were friendly. We felt relaxed and weren't rushed although it was a busy time

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    181
    58
    29
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food. Miserable service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I had visited this restaurant before. On that occasion I had excellent food at a great price and the waitress was friendly and very helpful and went home raving about the place. I liked it so much, I decided to take my Mum as a special treat. On the second occasion, again the food could not be faulted. However, the same waitress who had previously served me had a face on her like a wet fish and I thought she was standoffish and didn't attend to us well at all. My mother even commented on the service and she is not usually that fussy. I was upset about this as I thought it would be nice event. She said she wouldn't go again herself due to the service. It just goes to show that you can have great food, but if you have miserable staff you can loose customers. I would advise a visit because the food was excellent and just hope the staff were having a bad day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Had lunch here yesterday in the Bar area. It was very good value for money. Staff were very busy but managed to keep everyone served without too many delays. Had steak which was well presented and tasted very good. Chocolate brownie and a great coffee to finish made the meal good value.

Would recommend this place and especially as the bar area is dog friendly it meant we could take our well behaved dog in there aswell.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not the best...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Food was okay - very 'chain restaurant' like. i had the steak, mushroom & ale pie...the meat was VERY fatty and when i told the waitress she said that's because it was the 'shin of the cow' even though the menu said 'prime cut of beef' if i had known i wouldn't have ordered...the best part was the parmesan mash! Probably would go back or recommend.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Been before and its still great. Good food great value and friendly. Avoid the tourist rip offs and eat here. Well done

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firehouse Bar and Grill also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Firehouse Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firehouse Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.