We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Firehouse Fav” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Firehouse Bar and Grill

Firehouse Bar and Grill
27 Fore Street, St Ives TR26 1AB, England
01736 799664
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 122 Restaurants in St Ives
Cuisines: Southwestern, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Glos
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Firehouse Fav”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is our fifth visit and have not had a bad meal, staff are friendly and food served quick. It would be nice to see a new menu though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    152
    46
    27
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice lunch time food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Visited on the 6th April with my family after a mornings surfing.

We ate our meal upstairs in the restaurant The £6 meal deals were very good value and my son could not finish all of his, that was a first.

Would eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poorly trained and ill mannered staff.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in for a simple lunch. Ordered our food which considering how quiet it was, took quite long to come. When it arrived she asked "Who is the pizza is for?".. No one, we didn't order it. Everything else came fine apart from my side order which I then asked for again. Five minutes later she appeared with the wrong side order, but at this point I didn't complain and just ate my meal which was nice.
Before I had even finished chewing my last mouthful and before my girlfriends son was anywhere near finishing his meal our waitress was clearing our plates. This meant I had to go and ask for more sauces when they were needed. The little mans burger was also quite dry.
When he'd finally finished, his plates weren't cleared away and I had to go ask for the bill.
I foolishly payed for the meal without checking the bill and when I did look, found I had payed for something I had not had, but if you can make sense of it, had ordered. (ordered greens but was served salad) At least I was refunded the money when I returned. On a final note, don't keep changing the music half way through a song.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Modern, lively! Happy staff, nothing too much trouble - good cocktails!! Will go back - need to book during busy times.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Will definitely go again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The restaurant is upstairs separate to the bar downstairs and there is a good atmosphere. Food was brilliant and prices very reasonable. Would definitely go again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firehouse Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Firehouse Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firehouse Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.