We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing catering pack cakes and a poor choice of sandwiches for vegetarians.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachcomber

The Beachcomber
The Wharf, St Ives TR26 1PU, England
01736 794844
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 106 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing catering pack cakes and a poor choice of sandwiches for vegetarians.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I visited here with a few friends half of whom wanted cream teas and the other half wanted savoury snacks. We were disappointed to learn that you are only allowed to order sandwiches and other savoury menu items at lunch times and that other points in the day, even if the cafe is dead they are not prepared to make a sandwich from the menu for you. Having said that, none of the sandwiches on the menu were actually suitable for vegetarians, even the cheese sandwich was offered as a cheese and ham sandwich. I am sure they will make a vegetarian sandwich if you asked them to, but really, should vegetarians in this day and age have to make special requests because they are offered nothing? Being forced down the sweet route I opted for a chocolate fudge cake and thought it best to check that it wouldn't contain gelatine. The waitress was very friendly and went off to check, telling us on her return that it didn't say gelatine on the packet. I was glad that the cake was suitable for vegetarians but not glad to be eating cakes that were not homemade. The scones that my friends had did look homemade but were slightly burnt on top and they had tried to disguise this by sprinkling icing sugar on to them. Overall, a rather disappointing visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    19
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We sat outside with our hats and scarfs on (and sunglasses) and enjoyed delicious scones and cake along with yummy lattes. Really nice little place

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, Beds
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superb quality food - excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We love this cafe and always try to pay a visit whenever we are in St Ives. Very popular place to eat as we are always hard pushed to get an outside table and we always go to Cornwall out of the main season. Generous sized portions and well prepared food, always use a quality bread for their sandwiches. A delciious selection of cakes too. Just the place to stop off for a filling lunch and watch the world go by as this cafe has the most wonderful views over St Ives beach and Smeaton's Pier. A definite 'must visit'.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe in a perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had a lovely afternoon tea at The Beachcomber in St Ives, We timed it perfectly as the weather took a turn for the worse. It is ideally located overlooking the picturesque harbour of St Ives.

There is something on offer for most tastes, we went for a cream tea and carrot cake. The only problem is the calorie count! But when you are on holiday who cares!

Service was excellent, Hope to call again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Visiting St.Ives for the day, this was a beautifully situated café with views of the harbour. Good selection of café-food available; tasty and reasonable value for money. We enjoyed our Panninni, Soup and cake very much! Friendly staff and reasonably good facilities.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beachcomber also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to The Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachcomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.