We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Olive Branch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Olive Branch
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6 Porthminster Terrace, St Ives TR26 2DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 104 St Ives B&B and Inns
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Little Gem perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here in May for 3 nights and can honestly say its the best B&B we have stayed in. Easy to find and lovely to be able to park with no problems and off the road.
Just far enough away from the town centre but only a short walk.

The property is spotlessly clean with very welcoming. Nothing is to much trouble for the owners Justin and Julie and their adorable doggie the gorgeous George.

Everything you could want for breakfast from cereal to full english cooked beatifully by Julie no waiting and piping hot. They will also accommodate special diets
.
The rooms are tastefully decorated and the towels and linen clean and fresh. Tea, coffee and
hot chocolate with yummy biscuits in the rooms and replenished daily.

Justin is very knowledgable with all the places to visit in the area and gives a daily weather report if needed.

All in all fantastic few days and cannot wait to go back later in the year. We have no hesitation in recommending this B&B 100%.

Thanks again Justin, Julie and George xx

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveBranchStIves, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we enjoyed it too.
We look forward to the next time you are able to visit us in St Ives.
Kind regards
Julie, Justin & George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gore, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just spent 3 nights with Justin and Julie at there superior B&B. Very modest room with great shower and comfortable bed. The tastiest breakfast since we have been touring. Justin had great local knowledge and was very helpful planning our days. Julie did a load of washing for us. Location was great also. Thanks

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveBranchStIves, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we know first hand how welcomed a wash through of some essential clothing does when you are touring. We were only to happy to help.
When you are next in Cornwall it would be great to see you both again.
Kind regards
Julie, Justin & George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided the night before to make an unscheduled visit to St. Ives and quickly went on Tripadvisor to find some B&B's. The Olive Branch had excellent reviews so a quick email was sent and within the hour Justin, the owner had messaged me back to say they had room. I'm so glad they did!

Prior to arrival Justin had text me to inform me the room was ready which was a nice touch. Upon arrival, we were met by George and Justin who gave us a warm welcome and carried our bags up to our room and showed us around.

The room we had was room 2, which is on the top floor with sea views. The first thing that hits you when you enter the house is just how immaculate, welcoming, airy and calming it is. Our room was spacious, cool (thankfully given the weather), airy, spotlessly clean and had a decent size bathroom.

The bed was very comfortable, and the shower (with the wicked shower head!) was very powerful. The heated mirror in the bathroom was a great touch to prevent the shower steaming it up (must get one for the house).

Breakfast was excellent, and a great opportunity to talk to others who all echoed what has been said on here about how great a place it is to stay. The house has a very calming effect, partly due to George the dog who is one laid back cool pooch, and the owners who are a lovely couple and nothing whatsoever is too much trouble. Directions, suggestions on where to visit, anything for the room, no problem!! We bumped into Justin once or twice down in the town and he would always stop for a chat.

Water bottles were provided in the room and replenished each morning, ear plugs in the drawers (not for the B&B, but the seaguls can be noisy as in any seaside resort first thing in the morning), a bedside book in the drawer ("best book in the world") though I never got time to read it, hairdryer, toiletries, you couldn't really ask for anything more.

Position wise, its up a slight hill but nothing too drastic, about 5 minutes to the beach and 10 minutes tops down to the harbour. Parking is a doddle, right outside the house which is a bonus.

We had a great time here and in St Ives and were genuinely sad to leave. Justin, Julie and George all came out to wave us off and say goodbye as we left and it felt like leaving friends. We will definitely be back and have already recommended it to all our friends and family! Definitely a little gem in St. Ives. Thanks guys for a great 2 days!!!

Room Tip: Room 2 was lovely and being on the top floor had good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveBranchStIves, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again soon, you will be very very welcome. George will be waiting for you.
Kind regards
Julie, Justin & George xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived to a warm welcome from Justin Julie and gorgeous doggie George a cup of tea after a very long drive, our room (num 2) was spacious spotlessly clean and comfy gorgeous views too! They were both filled with lots of great hints and tips which were invaluable as we didn't know st Ives at all! Breakfast was delicious lots of variety tea toast and coffee on tap! Justin helped us plan our second day mapping our little road trip seeing the sights of Cornwall!! Thank you!

Genuinely this was the most comfortable welcoming B&B we have ever stayed in!!

Thanks Justin & Julie you were fab!

And we are totally in love with George what a handsome pup!!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveBranchStIves, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you both for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a delight having you.
Best of luck for your little addition in August.
Kind regards
Julie, Justin & George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just come back from a few days in Cornwall and one of the best decisions i made was to stay at the Olive Branch. Julie, Justin and George were so welcoming- lovely cup of tea when we arrived after our long journey- nothing was too much trouble. Justin gave us a weather report each morning, advised of places to eat and visit and warned us about the seagulls!! Breakfast was great and again, nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotless and lots of attention to detail. We too left as friends and i would not hesitate in staying there again. Thanks again Julie, Justin and George- we had a fab time!!

Room Tip: We were fortunate to have the double at the back of the house- lovely room and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveBranchStIves, Manager at The Olive Branch, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you both for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in St Ives. You were delightful to have in our home.
We wish you both all the best with your next pending adventure on the other side of the world!
Hopefully we will cross paths again in the future.
Kind regards
Julie, Justin & George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We arrived as strangers but left as friends. Julie, Justin and George welcomed us into their home. Nothing was too much trouble. Julie makes the best breakfast we have ever had and we have stayed in some top hotels. Justin is very helpful with tips on where to go and things to see. The room was kept spotlessly clean with lots of extra touches. We had tea on arrival and in the room was a beautiful clean tray with bottled water, biscuits, tea, coffee, hot chocolate which were replenished as used. My dad was so taken by George he actually said on the way home I think I will get a dog. We absolutely loved our stay here. If we ever go back to St Ives we will be going to The Olive Branch. Thank you for making our holiday exceptional.

Room Tip: We did have the small double room. The bed was very comfortable. We would of liked to have had the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveBranchStIves, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we enjoyed having you too.
We look forward to seeing you again and hope you do get a George dog!
Kind regards
Julie, Justin & George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Top marks for attention to detail. Room very comfortable with state of the art shower facilities. Décor modern yet restful. Best of all piping hot cooked breakfast. There is nothing worse than tepid bacon and eggs. Owners genial and provide helpful information on St Ives and travel nearby. I enjoyed discovering the various shortcuts down the quaint streets or alleys to the shops. This accommodation has carparking for guests (very important in St Ives), is in walking distance to bus station and also the train station. Look forward to staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Choices could be be looking to nearby castle or towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveBranchStIves, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us along with our breakfasts.
We hope to see you again sometime.
Kind regards Justin, Julie & George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Olive Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Branch

Address: 6 Porthminster Terrace, St Ives TR26 2DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olive Branch 4*
Also Known As:
The Olive Branch Hotel St Ives
The Olive Branch St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olive Branch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Olive Branch to your Saves list