We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but recommend fish not meat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Grill

Ocean Grill
The Wharf, St Ives, England
01736 799874
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 106 Restaurants in St Ives
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very good, but recommend fish not meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As the name implies this is a fish and meat restaurant, but in our experience the fish was far superior to the meat dishes.

We ate here at Easter 2013 and enjoyed the starters (fish cakes, olives, specialty breads) which were all very nice, tasty, fresh and well prepared and presented. The fish main meals were also superb (fresh local mackerel and fresh sea bass) cooked to perfection and really excellent. The steak was less good, perfectly ok but just not the best; I asked for it medium and it was overcooked for my liking. The ambiance is fine, the views over the harbour are stunning and the service is good. Quite well priced too - we paid £30 each for 3 courses and a bottle of wine between us which is not too bad at all.

Based on this experience I would say that if you eat here, and you really should give it a try, then go with what they do best: freshly caught local fish.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    135
    22
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing view, lovely food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We went in for lunch and had a great time.

We opted for the goats cheese bruchetta & soup of the day as starters followed by the burger and fish & chips for main.
The food was really well done, we thoroughly enjoyed it.

The view out over the harbour an beach is stunning and we were served by a lovely American girl who was very friendly and attentive.

The only minor downside was the number of young children in the restaurant which ruined the atmosphere somewhat but you can't blame the restaurant for that.

I'd happily go again and would recommend it to others :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Consistently delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast today at the Ocean Grill as always, it was delicious. Six of us had the full breakfast, looking out over the harbour. Life doesn't get much better,great food, great service fantastic setting. We will be back in August.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great food - great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a great evening meal with my wife & 2 young daughters. The waitresses were very friendly & made my daughters feel very welcome.

The view from the restaurant is excellent and the food was very tasty - our best meal whilst on holiday for the week.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great seafood and service with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Went there to find a warm welcome when the weather outside was cold.

Found the wine to be very nice and the fish my wife and I ordered was beautifully fresh and crispy. Chips were tasty and the pea purée that came with it was smooth and delicious.

Service was quick and friendly.

All in all, very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.