We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent romantic meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Restaurant

The Beach Restaurant
The Wharf, St Ives TR26 1LG, England
01736 798798
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 106 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent romantic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We booked the beach for our wedding anniversary as my wife really fancied Lobster. It was crossed off the menu moments after we arrived but the staff went above and beyond to get us one (after my wifes very good sob story :-) ) We started with mushroom on bruschetta and sticky belly pork-both lovely and good sized portions. So my main was lemon sole which wa beautiful and flaky. My wife thoroughly enjoyed her lobster thermidore and was made to feel really special throughout which made our night. beautiful views across st.ives bay, would definitely reccommend for a special meal. worth every penny!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    87
    25
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“First Place For First Class Plaice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Not the cheapest fish and chip restaurant, but this week had the best plaice I've ever had. Not a single bone, really well cooked and enough chips to soak up the rose wine we had too!

Great setting overlooking the St Ives harbour.

Visited August 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish and chips but a touch pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Visited this lunchtime, 3 of us had cod and chips which were very very nice. One of us had Cajun chicken with chips, £12.95, two chicken breasts and chips, that's it, no salad no nothing! A bit on the pricey side for me. Overall though apart from the slightly inflated prices the food is great quality.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My girlfriend & i popped up for lunch while it was raining on our recent holiday. Ended up having one of the nicest & most pleasant meals.

We had the Scampi as comfort food was in order but the range of changing specials could keep me coming back all year.

Clean & comfortable. The food & coffee was excellent & service with a smile was top notch.

Keep up the great work all! : )

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic restaurant catered for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Very well presented friendly restaurant with fantastic food, service second to none catered for my fussy wife (mussels in tomato and fennel sauce wow) children of all ages welcome superb 11/10 will be visiting again on next visit to St Ives thank you very much to all at the beach restaurant

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.