We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view over the harbour and good fresh fish selection.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Restaurant

The Beach Restaurant
The Wharf, St Ives TR26 1LG, England
01736 798798
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 118 restaurants in St Ives
Cuisines: Seafood, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful view over the harbour and good fresh fish selection.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The busy staff were warm and welcoming and we managed to get in without a reservation on the busy August bank holiday. Great wine and lovely views over the harbour, but I found my fish and pasta dish a little dry and had to pay £1.95 for some salsa to liven it up abit. Perhaps I'm just not a fan of the business model of having to pay to make your dish perfect , that's what I expect to be served in the first place. But the best squid starter I've ever had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    146
    69
    19
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
worthing, sussex uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Chef must have had an off night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Ate here on the 29th and have to say it was a poor experience. The staff were fine but the food and slowness of the service made it a disappointing night. My wife ordered the sea bass with crust which was ok if a bit dry and uninspiring. I had the fillet steak and when it eventually arrived after a 40 minute wait was dry and overcooked almost to the point of cremation. Said as much to the waitress who obviously had had similar thoughts (so why serve it?). They took it back to have another go and some 15 minutes later another steak arrived, This at least was better cooked but again dry and lacking in taste. Didnt take up the offer of a dessert as had had enough by this point. Asked for a bit of discount as none was offered and received some money off the bill. Positives: Nice restaurant in a good location with a decent menu. Good waitress staff with a friendly attitude Negatives: Chef needs re-training in how to cook steak (he must have realised it was vastly overcooked) Slowness of service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Top quality fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Overall a superb dining experience. Really wide variety of fish and all cooked to your own preference. I had an eexquisite monk fish.
Would recommend to anyone, just make sure you book

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A nice relaxing restaurant, good views and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We dined with our two boys, nice spascious restaurant, food very good, had lobster which was very nice, all food was good quality and very much value for money, we would recommend this place, not that obvious in location as above other fish monger shops but great views and atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We have been here twice in the last seven days!fantastic menu, first class service and good value meals with a brilliant sea view !! We will he back soon , for another Eaton Mess ! Lush ......

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Restaurant also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to The Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.