We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASE BEWARE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“PLEASE BEWARE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel should not be open to the public, dirty windows and curtains cracked hand basin,rusty screws airvent hanging off wall full of dirt furniture old and dirty carpets filthy 4 inch gap bottom of door disgusted at shearings for useing a hotel for new year or any other time manger did not want to know or shearings I booked my room and 4 other rooms for friends who all had simlar complaints
pete r

Room Tip: stay away out 5 their was not any
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
There is an ongoing programme to upgrade bedrooms and we are having more done as I write this response. As we have 85 bedrroms it takes time to complete all. There may be a room that is tired but not dirty. Many people were happy and have rebooked for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    110
    54
    28
    21
See reviews for
41
171
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Had a lovely break in this friendly hotel. Very convenient for St Ives. We paid a bit extra for a sea view room which was wonderful. The bathroom could do with updating but the room was large, warm and comfortable. The service was great, food lovely and overall extremely good value for money.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Good to hear that you enjoyed the New Year break with us, heres hoping that you have a good 2014 and hopefully we may see you again for further new year celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have just spent Christmas at the Bay St Ives and we upgraded to a sea view room. The view from the hotel is lovely. However the room was in need of updating the bathroom was compact especially the shower which was tiny and hard to get in and out of. The hand basin in our room was badly cracked.The tv was an old fashioned portable and only had 5 channels. The food was edible but not great and small portions. The food is waiter served but slow.Christmas dinner the roast potatoes were deep fried not roasted. Another night the sauted chicken was steamed and anemic looking. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The entertainment was very poor and had no Christmas party atmosphere in fact we felt it was like being in an old folks home. The hotel has lots of steps and is not wheelchair friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
We were very busy at Christmas and we received very positive comments from the guests and on the completed comment cards. This is also reflected in the numbers who have rebooked for Christmas 2014.
I worked throughout the festive period and I saw all the meals go out, many guests commented on how much they enjoyed the food and service, especially with the festivities Santa etc on Christmas Day.
Refurbishment is being carried out as I write this review and as you can imagine having 85 bedrooms this takes time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llandudno
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Having been reccommended by the reception staff at the Broadway Park Hotel in Sandown I booked 5 days next March 2014, and on receipt of an email from Shearings decided to have a weekend there on the Turkey and Tinsell break. It is a pity that Shearings sent us down there in a 10 year old coach which was better suited to local travel than having to endure 8 hours on an old banger, the seats were very hard and uncomfortable, and in consequence my wife and I are still trying to recover from aching backs, what a shame!!! The break apart from this was fantastic, everything in the hotel was up to and beyond what I have come to expect from a Shearings break. The Manager worked tirelessly together with all the staff to ensure our enjoyment, The driver Phil is worthy of a special mention, and the chef is also worthy of a special mention as he catered well for my diatory requirements and all the meals could not be faulted. I am now looking forward to my next visit, but if the coach we are allotted is anywhere near as ancient it will be my last ever with Shearings, (no blame whatsoever on the hotel or the driver)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Its great to hear that your dietary requirements were catered for and that you enjoyed the meals. My team will always try to ensure holiday enjoyment whether its Turkey and Tinsel, Summer breaks or the NEW for 2014 CELEBRATION BREAKS for the early season. Why not give one of them a try.
Hope you have a lovely real Christmas and hope to see you again in 2014. Thanks very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just returned from 4 day break, you get what you pay for which was fine with me..
Staff couldn't do enough for you, very helpful, view from my room was fabulous, had a veranda, food hot and plentiful, hotel warm clean and inviting ..(too warm, radiator in my room wouldn't turn off and It was a tiny room with no window..had a veranda but couldn't keep that open all night..)
I had a lovely stay only negative was I was locked out on my 1st night there.i got back to hotel at 1am but didn't get in till 1.50am....took night caretaker 50 mins to let me in...I was ringing doorbell and ringing hotel for almost an hour before he appeared....
Besides that it was a lovely cheap and cheerful break....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
During the night time hours the night porters have to do regular security and fire checks around the hotel. It was unfortunate that it took him a while to get back to the front desk as they are aware of people still out by the keys left at the reception for collection on return.
Good to hear that you enjoyed the break with us and thank you for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stourbridge, west midlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Just back from 3 night break at The Bay Hotel , nice friendly staff, we upgraded our room to bay fronted sea view which was both wonderful views and very comfy and clean. Plenty of lovely towels and extras in room. Nice tv well worth the upgrade. Food was lovely and very good choice and piping hot. it was a 'Turkey and tinsel' weekend and did feel it could have been a little more festive in the atmosphere but still had a lovely weekend. A short walk down hill to the wonderful little town of st ives, very pretty. Trips out with shearings were good only complaint was the time went too quickly!! People with mobility problems may have a problem walking up the steep bank and steps but the taxi rank is not far away or the bus station.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view , well worth seeing the sunset and sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Now that you have had a taster of St Ives maybe you would like to come back for a longer stay maybe in the spring for example. There are trips which are Monday to Friday and in the summer months the coach tours run Saturday to Saturday.
The staff always try to assist whenever possible to ensure holiday enjoyment and I feel that they make the hotel what it is, a friendly place to stay.
Thank you for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

On behalf of my Mum im writing this, this was a last minute booking with shearings for my Mums birthday! Mum mentioned she was short of breath when trying to reach her room as she is very ill at the moment and was immediately upgraded to a beautiful sea view room! Pure luxury she said! Thankyou for making my precious Mums weekend perfect for them!! X

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
So glad that we were able to make the weekend special for your Mum's birthday celebrations. I hope that she has some special memories to keep hold of.
Its was a pleasure to look after you both.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel

Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#13 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elevated position overlooking Porthminster Beach, this welcoming hotel commands stunning views across the bay. St Ives is renowned for its fantastic beaches, picturesque harbour and bustling streets full of interesting boutique shops. Bay St Ives Hotel is in a perfect location only a short walk to most holiday attractions. With open plan lounges to enjoy the views whilst listening to the evening’s entertainment, a break here is truly relaxing. A courtyard is open spring and summer for alfresco seating and you’ll be able to sample the wonderful light that has made St Ives such a mecca for painters and artists. For the more adventurous, St Ives makes a wonderful base for visiting many of Cornwall’s finest sights and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.