We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Price Paid” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Save
You added Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel to your Saves list
The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Value for Price Paid”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

On arrival with National Holidays end Feb 2012 manager got on coach and introduced himself which was nice touch. Driver Andy very knowledgable and sociable.
I'd requested room accessible by stairs (can't take lift/claustrophobic) and with sea view and got a room with balcony (not many of these) - the view was perfect - hotel just across road from beach/sea which could see from my bed through the window!
If view important to you I would suggest paying the extra to get one as many people on my trip had poor views and not very well located rooms.
Unfortunately was terrible stench in the room on entering it and others said same on my floor-but once in there the nostrils adjusted - until went out and came in again!
Also rooms were not soundproof, so if not listening to entertainment downstairs you have no choice but to listent to it in your rooms! The floorboards creaked too, you could hear people moving about upstairs and next door.
Furniture and hotel tired looking (except dining room and public areas downstairs which looked fresh and cleaner. On stairs there was tape at 2 points holding carpet down or joins, but even the tape didn't match, one being stripey other plain-so gave a 'can't be bothered' attitude.
Food was reasonable with a 3 course menu on entry to dining room as well as on tables. Staff work very hard and are very welcoming.
Thought the vouchers idea was a good one-you can use them throughout the day (a new rule in force to reduce binge drinking apparently!) can even take the drinks to your room. However, on day 2 they ran out of white wine, so wasn't very impressed with this.
Hotel is in good location for the town - though St Ives is bit hilly so perhaps difficult for less mobile. In my opinion hotel not disabled friendly as there are lots of steps and going down to dining room to and limited lift available.
Despite my negative comments though, the St Ives bay does give value for money. You get what you pay for. I'm more used to upmarket hotels and of course paying lots more for the comfort and privilages. So for a cheap 5 day break away, b & b, evening meal, super view and a day trip and 1/2 day trip I paid under £200. The 4 vouchers per day to use was plenty so didn't need to spend anything at night.

Bubbly

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a sea view - its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
We always like to extend a warm welcome to visitors to the hotel. The balcony and sea view rooms are well requested and they are worth the supplement for the views overlooking Porthminster beach.
There are a great number of good deals to be had throughout the company just now so why not try another Bay hotel in a great location. To book just phone the hotel and we will be more than happy to assist with the booking.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    92
    52
    27
    21
See reviews for
36
146
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coelbren, Neath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 days. The hotel is extremely dated. The standard room was dreadful. On-suite had no shower, bath only. Damp on bathroom wall. With reference to the double bed, I have thrown away better mattresses - extremely uncomfortable. The rooms need a total revamp to attract us for any future use. The staff however (except one) were extremely helpful and efficient. We were forced to make a complaint regarding one of the waiters when he refused to serve 2 of our party because they were sitting at the wrong table? The complaint was dealt with by the Manageress who dealt with our complaint in an efficient manner. The staff at the front desk were also very friendly and helpful throughout. It could have been so much better if the owners spent some money on the building.

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms. It's probably worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
The hotel is currently undergoing some refurbishment work which involves the redecoration of some bathrooms transforming them to bath and shower facilities.
If you wish to return to St Ives for those stunning views overlooking Porthminster beach please give the hotel a call and we will be more than happy to assist with your requests and accommodate your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Revisited this hotel two weeks ago, therefore this is my 2nd review. My gripe is really with Shearings themselves as we did not receive what we had originally booked & paid for....... ie free drinks from 7.30-10.30. instead, we were presented with vouchers for 4 free drinks per evening, also there were NO free newspapers in lounge as detailed on their website & also on our booking form. I think these changes were in VERY BAD taste by Shearings.
Getting back to the hotel, we had a pleasant stay in a pretty tired hotel in a good location, but unfortunately, my husband dared to request an extra bread roll one evening & was politely told by the waitress that ' there is a strict policy of only one pp unless there is one left over at the end of service' - Sorry, but this refusal cost you your £10 tip.
Unfortunately, I think Shearings are beginning to run on a shoestring, so we will be returning to Majestic holidays where at the very least you get what you actually pay for. Certainly this was not the case with Shearings.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
The changes that were made with reference to the vouchers were in line with the licencing board directive to stop the promotion of binge drinking between 7.30pm - 10.30pm. The vouchers actually allow the drinks to be consumed at anytime during the day. Many people have said that they prefer the voucher system.
There is always plenty of food and the comments made regarding the bread roll are strange as there is always plenty, more infact and we would always say that if you want more to ask and the chef will oblige.
Papers are in the lounges on these breaks but unfortunately people do take them away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed at the St Ives Bay Hotel in March travelling on an “inclusive” self drive 4 night mid week break, which included 4 drinks per night and a glass of wine with the evening meal.

The Hotel is owned by Shearing’s whose hotels mainly cater for their own coach tours, but they do take some self drive bookings as well.

The hotel is situated in an outstanding position overlooking St Ives Bay, the town and harbour are a 5- 10 min walk from the hotel, and the beach is just over the road down a series of steps. If you like walking there is a pleasant sea view walk to Carbis Bay from the Hotel, with many others nearby.

Most of the visitor attractions are no more than a 30 min drive from the hotel, If you arrived by Shearing’s coach there are daily excursions. There is a train platform on the beach which runs to Penzance every 30 min. a scenic train ride with sea views most of the way.

Although the Hotel is not five star, the service most definitely is, the management and staff always have a smile for you and nothing is ever any trouble. There is a lift to only one section of the Hotel, but staff will take your luggage to your room if asked, If you arrive by coach this is taken care of automatically. The hotel does requires some updating, and the decor may be a little tired but all was clean, room sizes can vary considerably, I would recommend asking for a sea view room.

Breakfast was the usual fare, cereal fruit juice etc with cooked breakfast served at your table. There was a good selection to choose from for Dinner with a different menu each night; service from our waiter was fast and friendly. Dinner was fine but a little hurried if you wanted to get a good seat in the concert room for the entertainment that followed, but you could just relax in the lounge if you wanted to.

Entertainment was an artist each night (some acts could do with updating material) with bingo and quizzes; it is a little dark on a night in March to venture out so this fitted the bill fine, especially with the 4 inclusive drinks.

If you travel to the hotel by car, Parking is across a road at the rear of the hotel in a large lock up garage.

We have stayed at this hotel during March for a number of years and taking into account the location and price charged our opinion is that the “inclusive mid week breaks” offer great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room , some are small but have a terrace, others have no terrace but may be larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
What a great way to sell St Ives and Cornwall. You are quite right we have stunning views overlooking Porthminster beach, there are some great walks locally and there are some fantastic attractions nearby.
The staff always try to do their best and that is one way to help customers enjoy their holidays. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff.
We hope that we can welcome you again in the near future, please give us a call and we will be more than happy to oblige you with your requests.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Short break with Shearings in March 2012.Hotel comfortable although a little tired. Hotel is located on the road high above the town and it is a hard walk from the beach back to the hotel,particularly for elderly guests.Note you cannot take the bus back to the Hotel as there is no service from the foreshore area.The staff were excellent as was the food no complaints here.
we travelled from the north of England and it took some 9 hours to get there,a long and tiring journey which included a couple of stops.While there the weather was fantastic and it was easy getting about ,the locals informed us that in summertime the place is heaving with cars trying to park everwhere and tourists on foot trying to find a spot to sit .I would think a place to be avoided at all costs.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are best for the elderly .only half the hotel is covered with a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
St Ives is a beautiful place to visit in and out of season, it just depends on what you are looking for in a holiday.
Its worth the journey when you get nice weather and fantastic views across the bay.
Its great to hear your comments made re staff and food and I will pass these on. I hope that you come to St Ives again in the future whatever the season and a warm welcome always awaits you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

The location of this Shearings Hotel is good but my single room was in need of considerable refurbishment - the wash basin was in the room not in the en suite bathroom which these days is unheard of. However, food was reasonable and for the price this was a good break.The staff were genuinly friendly which makes up for other shortcomings.The waitress Ning was especially friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
The hotel is having some refurbishment work done as we speak. The hotel has 85 bedrooms and it does mean that this is ongoing year on year as the rooms are well used as we are full a lot of the time.
All the staff try to ensure customer satisfaction and I will certainly pass on your comments to Ning.
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading, berkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Have just come back from a 5 day stay at the bay hotel with shearings coaches the staff in the hotel were excellent the food was cooked brilliant the rooms are excellent do you have any job vacancies at the hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thats a unique way to ask for a job - keep your eyes open you never know!
It would be great to welcome you to St Ives again as a guest so look out for those great deals that are available. If you really are looking for a job in the company visit the Shearings website and look in the employment section or personnel office in Wigan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel

Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elevated position overlooking Porthminster Beach, this welcoming hotel commands stunning views across the bay. St Ives is renowned for its fantastic beaches, picturesque harbour and bustling streets full of interesting boutique shops. Bay St Ives Hotel is in a perfect location only a short walk to most holiday attractions. With open plan lounges to enjoy the views whilst listening to the evening’s entertainment, a break here is truly relaxing. A courtyard is open spring and summer for alfresco seating and you’ll be able to sample the wonderful light that has made St Ives such a mecca for painters and artists. For the more adventurous, St Ives makes a wonderful base for visiting many of Cornwall’s finest sights and attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.