We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seafood Cafe

Seafood Cafe
45 Fore Street, St Ives TR26 1HE, England
+44 (0)1736 794004
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 122 Restaurants in St Ives
Price range: $0 - $65
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

One of our favourite St Ives eating places. We visit St Ives most years and have had several meals here over the years. We have never been disappointed. On our recent visit it was extremely busy, always a good sign. Food, service and ambience all first rate.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    263
    82
    42
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Value Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We booked a table at this restaurant on the recommendation of the Hotel we were staying in. Our taxi driver tells us it is busy all the year and certainly we had to wait until 9.00pm for a table-our own fault for booking on the afternoon of the day we wanted to visit. In the evening the fish is all set out and you simply choose what you would like for mains from what is on view. There is always someone to help you to decide how you would like it cooked, what sauce and sides you might like.

I had sardines on pesto toast, followed by whole grilled sea bream. The sardines were great and the sea bream cooked to perfection. I chose the fondant potatoes and veg to go with the main and could not finish the potatoes. We both had local ice cream to finish and if that sounds a bit of a boring pud you should have seen how it was presented. Wine was excellent value and including coffee the meal was only around £70 for the two of us-very good value for a fresh fish restaurant.

The ambience is great and apparently there are lots of families in earlier in the evening so book your table accordingly. In the height of the season you will struggle unless you book well in advance.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Lovely restaurant - fantastic seafood, reasonably priced.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in St.ives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

great food - fresh fish & nice ambience. Overall my favorite place for seafood in st.ives.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Good location and fast food is a bit basic would be better to serve set dishes.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafood Cafe also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Seafood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seafood Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.