We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel in a beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Longcross Hotel & Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Longcross Hotel & Gardens to your Saves list
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Trelights, Port Isaac PL29 3TF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Isaac
Gloucestershire
1 review
“A Great Hotel in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

We stayed for four nights B & B. Everything about the Hotel is to a very high standard. All the Staff are friendly and helpful. The Room (No4) we stayed in was very well appointed and the Housekeeping standard very good. We had a very high quality meal in the Resturant on our final night at the Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    61
    33
    20
    7
See reviews for
51
133
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

Having seen the last review simply had to write. We stayed (for a 3rd time) having really enjoyed our previous visits and were again enchanted by the Longcross and its setting. All the rooms we have stayed in have all been really nicely done with quality furniture and bedding along with spotlessly clean bathrooms. Its all a matter of taste but we thought the stripped, varnished floorboards look great and really like the feature walls. Yes there are a couple of carpet stair treads need attention but having seen the improvements to the public areas since our last visit, I'm sure this will happen before long. It must be an age thing but thanks to the staff again for the laid back but friendly and attentive service - nothing seemed too much bother. Great food, loved the cocktails and cant wait until our next visit!! Keep it up guys!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

The Long Cross Hotel is not outstanding in any way. We booked in for 3 nights and to be honest
1 night would have been enough. The hotel is in need of a complete makeover to bring it up to modern day standards.
We stayed in room 4 which cost £150 per night (we did get a 3 night stay for the cost of 2, a pre season special ) but even then it was expensive. The room has bare floorboards with a hole in the boards near the window that looks like it was made by rats.(probably long gone, but why not repair the floorboard.) TV was 14” although lot’s of channels to choose from.
Threadbare carpet on the stairs, they say there is internet access , I tried to get a signal in the bedroom and lounge and could get nothing.
Good expensive food.
Nothing attractive about this hotel at all
Would I come back to stay -----no way

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Although the location is very good and the views from the terrace are spectacular the Hotel it's self is looking rather dated. On arrival I was met by one of the waiting staff who just gave me a key and no other information about the hotel. The room was very comfortable but lacked any extras like a TV remote that worked, biscuits or fresh milk. All things you would expect from a hotel at this price (£120 per night). The evening meal was very good however on the second night the menu was the same, including the soup. Breakfast was ok on the first morning but it was poorly served and with burnt toast and sausages. On checking out the waitress who served my breakfast also presented me my bill. It would have been nice to see someone who was interested in the guests staying at their hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

Booked in for 3 nights, stayed for 1. Tiny double room and bathroom smelt damp.
Lovely gardens and views. Alot of noise at night with doors banging etc.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We stayed one night here on our way to a longer holiday in N Cornwall. As noted elsewhere the hotel has a lovely location with attractive views over the countryside to the sea beyond. The staff were friendly, attentive and welcoming, our dinner in the conservatory was delicious and breakfast was good too (though the sausages should have been better.) The shorcomings of the hotel are that for £150 one expects something a bit more. The decor of much of the hotel - exterior especially - is very shabby, while the interior does not seem to know whether it is still 'seaside traditional' or 'designer boutique'. If the latter, it has a way to go yet! Some of the ideas are ok but the execution is not - eg weird chairs in the breakfast room, drab lounge with Readers' Digest books, a plasma screen in our room which was ridiculously small and didn't work, breakfast cereals served from Tupperware boxes etc.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed at the hotel in July for four nights and first impressions were very positive with a warm welcome and attractive room with excellent views to the Atlantic. Front of house staff were attentive to detail and very friendly - we were sure we would have a good stay. This waned somewhat when the dead insect which was under the towel rail in the bath room on Tuesday, was still there, just as dead on Saturday. The bubble bath provided on Tuesday made a reappearance on Thursday but not on Wednesday on Friday, and perhaps there is still rationing in Cornwall. Breakfast (beautifully served with lovely waitress) consists of marmalade every day as jam has yet to make an appearance. Cooked breakfast on the first two mornings was very good, but when the chef changed, it was lethal - the poached eggs were served in a sea of toxic chemicals and so runny that eating them would have been too risky. In fact the plate was under water/vinegar siege.
The evening menu scarcely changes and is adventurous and attractive. However, if you have issues with shellfish and peanuts, as with this reviewer, then the choice of starters was soup or melon and main courses steak, duck, salmon or chicken.
In a sense all this detail would be irrelevant were it not for the pricing of the hotel which leads you to expect magic touches and there are none. £130 per night is far more than our regular stays at excellent Marriott or Mercure hotels, and is unjustifiable. There is clearly potential to produce magic, as the environment, restaurant, bar and views are very attractive but no attention is paid to detail. The owners still have a lot to learn - all the waiting staff wear trainers, the breakfast waitress produces your bill on departure (and cannot answer any questions on the confusing figures) - there is no receptionist to check on your enjoyment or wish you pleasant au revoir - and somehow you leave feeling that you won't return as there is no value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Longcross Hotel & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longcross Hotel & Gardens

Address: Trelights, Port Isaac PL29 3TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Longcross Hotel & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longcross Hotel And Gardens
Hotel Long Cross
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens Port Isaac, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Longcross Hotel & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.