We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Longcross Hotel & Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Longcross Hotel & Gardens to your Saves list
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Trelights, Port Isaac PL29 3TF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Stayed for two nights whilst attending a wedding in Port Isaac. Hotel is on top of cliffs about 4 miles drive from Port Isaac. From the patio outside the bar/dining room excellent views over the sea and had lovely view of sunset. We had room in converted stable block, not huge but comfortable with largish bathroom. TV a bit outdated and speech a bit crackly. Not many plugs so doubling up had to be done, only slight moan is that the path outside window is gravel and at 0630-0700 when staff arrive to go in to kitchen area shoes make a lot of noise!!

Restaurant was excellent home grown vegetables and locally sourced proteins all delicious.

Manager very helpful in telling us about Port Isaac shuttle a local taxi - it wad a minibus and charge was £2pp to go down to Port Isaac, definitely a good option as parking very limited in the port, main car park a good half mile up a step hill on way out if town.

Very enjoyable stay would definitely recommend it for couple, maybe not for those with young children, as quite a long way to beach etc.

Room Tip: No lifts so if not good at stairs go for rooms in stable block or courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    67
    36
    20
    7
See reviews for
53
138
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed here as a family - 2 adults and 2 children aged 13 & 11 - for 4 days from Thu 21/09 to Sun 24/09, whilst we joined our friends who were holidaying in nearby Padstow. We booked via the bookings.com website at a price of just shy of £900, which we thought was a tad on the high side.

However, our room - called The Stables - felt more of a holiday let: it had a living area with 2 3-seater leather sofas and a big TV with surround system. There was also a fridge and micro-wave though we did not make use of the latter. The other side of the big room (with vaulted ceilings!) was a king size bed, which was very comfortable. Behind the main room there was a corridor leading to a wet room with double sinks (low & high), a bidet and toilet; and a 2nd bedroom with 2 single beds. First impressions were pretty positive, but upon closer inspection some bits looked a bit tired, not so well maintained and/or cleaned. The furniture was a bit of a mish mash too.

The main building, a more older looking building, was quite impressive to walk into and showed some period features. There's a pool room and a lounge with bar. The restaurant area, inside a lean-to conservatory with tent structure roof looked quite trendy but had a fatty smell in the air. There was further outside decking with excellent un-interrupted sea views.

Our room came with breakfast included and we have to give top marks here: there was a good selection of cereals, bread and preserves as well as juices, fruit and yoghurts. And in addition the choices of full English, continental (croissants, cheese & ham) or eggs/salmon. We had them all - all very nice. The service was also excellent except on our last day when it went belly up when our as well as other people's orders got messed up and we sat there for over an hour.

As it was serving as a base for visits to Rock, Port Isaac, Padstow, Newquay, St. Ives & Megavissey it was excellent; though as consequence we didn't make use of all facilities (like restaurant etc..). We had a drink upon arrival and thought £17.20 for 4 drinks (only one alcoholic) and a couple of nibbles was rather pricey.

We'd definitely stay here again as the issues raised above didn't hinder our stay (more meant as a feedback to the hotel). We can't give it the full marks as we feel it's a bit overpriced overall.

Room Tip: Stables is excellent for family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Signs on road showed that dinner was served from 6pm, we arrived at 17:30 as just wanted food for young family and happy to wait for 30mins then told 'Sorry kitchen not open till 18:30ish and the signs outside were old'
They did offer us crisps tho. Rather disappointing as menu looked good and very tricky with young family and 60 mins is a long time to wait after a long day.
Am sure with more welcoming and staff who cared it could have been dealt with better.

Room Tip: Check the time they are open !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longcross H, Manager at The Longcross Hotel & Gardens, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Our apologies if our signs were misleading. We thought that we had removed them all but unfortunately one was missed with the old meal times on it. Our staff are usually very helpful and accommodating so our apologies if this was not the case in this instance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembrokeshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed at the longcross hotel a couple of weeks ago; the proximity to port issac was fantastic and I guess this is why the rooms are a little on the expensive side? we paid £100 for our room plus £10 for our dog to stay. check-in was quick and easy. the room was small and damp smelling. also the mattress was far to big for the base of the bed, but the hotel was quiet and we had a good nights sleep. we knew the hotel was full on the night we stayed so changing rooms was not an option, we resolved to raise the small issues with the manager in the morning. we went for b/fast, only to be told across the restaurant by a very grumpy man that we were too early........the waitress then told us he was the gardener and to ignore him as he did not know the b/fast times has altered.......he didnt say sorry, just turned his back on us and walked out of the door. upon check-out the lady was very busy with paperwork and didnt ask how our stay had been - just took payment and gave our receipt. we plan to return to port issac with family next summer, and while I would not rule out this hotel, I would shop around first.

Room Tip: dont book a room in the stable wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mojacar
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We were booked into this hotel for 3 days and were really looking forward to the short break. We were not disappointed. The room we had looked out over unspoilt countryside and the sea. The room was tastefully decorated, the bed linen scrupulously clean. Coffee and tea making facilities in the room as well. We thought we would try the restaurant the first night, we were very impressed. Service was exellent, Maitre D was Juanquim. obviously Spanish with an excellent command of English (he went to Cambridge) his English wife served the meals. We had starters, which were delicious and both had the fish pie, which was really delicious. The weather was not kind to us and the traffic was horrendous, a 23 mile journey took 2 hours. We dined in the hotel the second night and had an equally delicious meal. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We chose the Longcross Hotel because of its proximity to Port Isaac, one of our main destinations in this area. Parking in the actual village is almost impossible, so staying outside the village is best if you have a car. Although it is walking distance to the center, we drove and parked in the car park at the top of the village, a short walk away. The hotel is lovely on the outside, has great views and the lobby area and bar have character. Our room was just at the top of the staircase. The room itself had a beautiful view, a comfortable bed and decent furniture. My only complaint is the bathroom. It was small, which was fine, but I don't like carpeting in a bathroom. I just don't feel it is sanitary. There was also some mold around the shower which should have been attended to. The room was relatively clean but there was no bottled water provided and the complementary cookies were not replenished. (Not really a big deal but I just wanted to mention it.) Our friends that were with us did mention that there was a lot of dust under their bed although I thought our room was pretty clean. The staff was friendly as a hotel staff is expected to be. Definitely not the same warmth as you would get in a B&B. The food at the restaurant was pretty good and the waiter was delightful. The bartenders were also very friendly and helpful. This hotel has a lot of potential if the owners would just clean up the carpets, tile the bathrooms and provide some better bathroom amenities. For the price, I expected a little better quality.

Room Tip: If you want quiet at night, do not choose the room at the top of the staircase. You can hear the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquaay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My daughters wedding was superbly looked after by James and Jane and the staff. Cannot fault the professionalism, food or rooms and ideal gardens. Everything ran like clockwork but very. So helpful and we had a superb day. Very flexible and in the evening everything was there for band and disco,buffet etc .Highly recommend this venue for the complete wedding

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Longcross Hotel & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longcross Hotel & Gardens

Address: Trelights, Port Isaac PL29 3TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful converted Victorian residence, now s stunning boutique hotel with 3 acres of gardens overlooking port Isaac Bay where Doc Martin is filmed starring martin Clunes in the fictional village of Portwenn. Overlooks some 30 miles of coastline ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Longcross Hotel & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longcross Hotel And Gardens
Hotel Long Cross
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens Port Isaac, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Longcross Hotel & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.