We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ab Fab!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harbour View Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
44 Fore Street, Port Isaac PL29 3RD, England (Formerly The Gallery)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Port Isaac
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ab Fab!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at The Gallery.. Clean, warm and comfortable with amazing views of the harbour.. We had a very warm welcome and a very nice breakfast served to our room. Couldn't have wished for a more pleasant break..will be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    8
    11
    32
See reviews for
8
58
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic views over the harbour. This was the only positive. Room was dusty and many cobwebs. The en-suite was dank and in need of a good scrub. We were booked in for two nights, breakfast appeared early Saturday morning, however, Sunday morning no breakfast arrived, quite appalling really. You are really letting down Port Issac with your slap dash attitude...would definitely not return...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a wonderful two nights stay at this accommodation. We were meet by Martyn who showed us our rooms, provided keys and explained that breakfast would be at 9 am. We had two great nights sleep. We enjoyed two great continental breakfast that were prepared by Martyn's gallery assistant. Port Isaac is a charming location and this Bed and Breakfast is in an ideal place to enjoy this with its views into and across the harbour.

We enjoyed our stay here very much - our children particularly enjoyed the little window on the stairs that lead to a walkway to the back garden. This had views over Port Isaac.

If you are coming to Port Isaac you need to accept that parking for a car may be difficult. We easily parked in the car park at the top of the hill. It is this difference that also makes Port Isaac so special.

Thanks again to Martyn

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Very dissatisfied with this b&b, the shared bathroom is in need of a major overhaul and the room with the lumpy mattress was to small for two people, well! What can I say about the horrible breakfast, for a start its continental not full English, doesn't state continental breakfast on the gallery website, the food arrives on a tray to your room, it must take them about five minutes to put together, no tea or coffee, my memory of this was the chipped breakfast bowl and the dried up jam around the sides of the pot, everything looked stale, needless to say we did not touch this and left shortly afterwards, luckily we only stayed one night. The only good point was the view from the window.

We had a lovely cooked breakfast at the old school house opposite.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was seduced by their website into booking what I thought was an upmarket B and B - but the reality when I arrived was somewhat different! The room itself was reasonable - although it did take shabby chic to its outer limits and the bed was very lumpy and uncomfortable. But the bathroom (shared with the next door room) was absolutely hideous. It was in desperate need of refurbishment and was really not acceptable at all! Also the plasma screen TV boasted about on the website has a screen smaller than my laptop so I had to sit on the end of the bed to watch! Breakfast arrived on a tray at 9am to be consumed in your room (there didn't really seem to be an option) and it was very basic Continental. The room was not cleaned nor the bed made up during my stay - which I thought was odd. The proprietor was conspicuous by his absence (appearing only once to ask for payment up front) and I was simply given a key to come and go through the gallery - so very much had to fend for myself. Also, be warned - there is no mobile signal at all in the harbour area of the village (which I would have liked to have been told before I booked) and the wi-fi mentioned in their literature was not available - no surprise there. It would have been useful to have access to a landline somewhere on the premises - which could have helped get over this issue. I was booked for 3 nights but only stayed 2 and would not return - which is a shame because the location is good - despite parking being at the top of the hill (not a real problem unless you are elderly). Shame - it could have been a gem but it felt as though the owners just didn't care!!

Room Tip: The sea view room on the first floor looked a better bet - I was on the 2nd floor with the dodgy bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We always try and support local B&Bs after some fantastic experiences around the UK. This is honestly the worst one we have been to, at any price let alone the £85 paid. To be fair, the website does not mention that it is a cheap continental breakfast and there is no parking anywhere near the place and none free whatsoever.

For the price, we were hoping for an ensuite bathroom, but were quickly told we had to share with the neighbouring room. Although we're happy to be flexible, this made it difficult not even being able to fill the kettle up in the morning for a cup of tea as the bathroom was being used. We only managed to run a third of the bath before the water went cold and the black hairs around it put us off trying, as well as no complimentary shower gel or hairdryer.

The owner(?) showed us to our rooms and quickly disappeared, so we were unsure if there was any communal space at all to use (except reference to a small square of garden terrace outside). We quickly realised that there was no dining room either when she said that breakfast was in bed and came at 9am (with no other option or flexibility).

There is quirky and there is shabby chic; in our opinion this is neither and is in desperate need of refurbishment and maintenance. For example, the one lamp in the room was covered in dust, the dimmer switch was missing its knob and I couldn't stand up in the shower due to the steep pitch of the roof.

There are lots of lovely B&Bs with warm and friendly owners who care about their business, especially for £85 per night; don't spend two minutes on this one!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The biggest compliment we could give is that after returning home from a 2 night stay in The Gallery we are already planning to return. Our room overlooked the harbour and straight across at Doc Martin's surgery (for those of you who watch the TV series). The room itself was quirky and full of character befitting It's setting rather than sanitised and uniform. The bed was big and comfy, and whilst we can appreciate that other reviewers might not have liked the breakfast arrangements, they suited us as we could eat in privacy whilst enjoying the spectacular views (chairs and table are placed in the bay window). If we had one regret it was that we didn't really spend much time in Martyn's company until the morning we left. He is very laid back host who is passionate about Port Isaac, his art and his surfing.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 44 Fore Street, Port Isaac PL29 3RD, England (Formerly The Gallery)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whilst always having the most spectacular, panoramic sea views in this beautiful historic fishing village, Port Isaac Harbour View has undergone extensive refurbishment, and has a new manager from the 14th November, who previously ran a prestigious Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast on Her Majesty the Queen's Duchy of Lancaster Estate. Port Isaac Harbour View is situated in a Prime Location overlooking the bay, internationally renowned for the television series Doc Martin. All rooms have uninterrupted, panoramic sea views. Unique to the village, our bed and breakfast offers the opportunity to relax in the tiered, traditional wild Cornish garden which again has spectacular sea views. Enjoy a glass of wine whilst listening to the haunting harmonies of the Fisherman's friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Harbour View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Bed And Breakfast
Harbour View Hotel Port Isaac
Gallery Port Isaac
Gallery Hotel Port Isaac
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast Port Isaac, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.