We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Isaac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bay Hotel
The Terrace, Port Isaac PL29 3SG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Port Isaac B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

my wife and I stayed here for two nights and it was absolutely fabulous we had room 5 and the view was so beautiful the room was excellent the bed so comfy and the en suite perfect we will definitely return and wonder whether people who complained on here stayed at the same place as us thank you for a relaxing time

Room Tip: room 5 has an exquisite view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    59
    21
    13
    8
See reviews for
18
175
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Seems that nearly everyone is a Pilgrim in Port Isaac, But if you happen to be clueless and have no idea what the wee van with "Large Restaurant" painted on it means in the parking lot.... you will still enjoy a short stay here. We enjoyed room #6, despite its diminutive size. The balcony afforded wonderful views of the Cornwall coast.

Location is superb for the "Telly Pilgrims". A short walk downhill to the harbor puts one right in the familiar scenes of of the popular soap opera. Tip: be sure walk back to the Hotel via the coastal path to the public car park across the street.

The breakfast was one of the best "fry-ups" we have experienced in our several trips to the UK. Gino is a very friendly host, so is his "manager", Paul and the rest of the folks here. Nice folks!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Bay Hotel for the weekend 19th Oct - 21st Oct 2013, It was our 25th Wedding Anniversary and we wanted to visit Port Isaac for its stunning landscapes. When booking the weekend we were told they have a resident Great Dane called Gino who although is a large Dog had a lovely nature and not too imposing. We were shown to our room which had a balcony overlooking the Bay, it was awesome !, The room was large, clean with lovely cotton bedding, Large fluffy towels,and the Bed extremely comfortable. The en-suite was also large with a spa bath and a shower.

Breakfast was extremely tasty, with a variety of cereals, fresh orange, fresh fruit, Full English or vegetarian option if necessary. The staff were polite and courteous. Parking was ample around the side of the Hotel. I noted a comment from a fellow boarder who had said the parking was terrible and they were unable to park their hire car as the car park was too small, we managed to park and were driving a transit van so the comment was totally untrue, I think perhaps someone may need a few refresher diving lessons !

The Hotel also did not smell of damp as previously said, it is an old building right by the sea, it is not going to be pristine, perhaps they were expecting the Hilton ! It is quirky and interesting a real 'Old England' typical building lovely !

I would thoroughly recommend this Hotel to Friends and Family we had a brilliant time there and we will be going back !!

Room Tip: Make sure you have good walking shoes, also it is very hilly so be prepared ! Rooms with balconies o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were made so welcome by Paul & Gino the ( Great Dane ), nothing was any trouble even down to our massive breakfasts. Very clean throughout, everything in our room worked as it should, one of the better guest houses we have stayed in and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to family & friends, also friendly and efficient staff. Once again thank you Paul.

Room Tip: Visit the Bay Hotels web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were disappointed by this "hotel." The greeting as we entered the front door and rang was by a huge dog (Gino) and the apparent owner coming down the stairs - there is no check-in desk. No words were spoken until we asked if we could check into the hotel, not knowing if this was the proprietor or not. Apparently it was and we got a key and shown to the room, which seemed much smaller than the pictures on the web site, but these things happen. We had a room with a balcony overlooking a car park (and thereafter the ocean), but it was very small with a small double bed. The bathroom was OK but distinct signs of mildew on the tiles. Later we experienced a storm in the night and the ceiling leaked dripping water onto the bedside table - the owner said he would take care of this but not sure if this happened or not.

Breakfast was good, especially when served by a cheerful young lady, although I believe this was her last week. One morning, when she was not there, we were greeted by the owner saying he was about the ring a bell upstairs because it was late (9:15) and breakfast is only served between 8:30 and 9:30 am. Several others appeared after us, so we presume this was directed at everyone - anyway, not very conducive to a relaxing start to the day.

The hotel listed a restaurant but really this was just a breakfast room as there were notices each day saying the "restaurant" was closed. Also, there is no bar, and there is just some 1930's music playing every evening in a deserted lounge with wartime memorabilia scattered around.

As a B&B this place worked OK, and others apparently had better experiences. It seems to trade a lot on the name of Doc Martin and the fact that some filming was done in the building or outside. There is a private car park but because we had a large rental car it was very difficult to park there, so we ended up paying 5 pounds a night at the public car park across the street, rather than pay for damage to a rental car.

If we returned to this area, which is very beautiful and I have spent many years there in the past, we would stay somewhere else. In addition the hotel was way overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul w, Owner at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Well What can we say ,we have been expecting this review ,first of all can we point out we are listed on trip advisor and it clearly states on our Webb site that we are a guest house ,the leak you pointed out was due to a pipe from the bedroom above and even though it was Sunday a plumber arrived within 30 minutes and rectified the problem ,I cannot understand your comment about the car park as other guests bring large 4x4s and vans on and off the car park with no problem ,also the village car park opposite does not charge between 4 pm and 9 am so I don’t understand how you paid £5 per night ?,you forgot to mention that you came in drunk most nights and can be seen quite clearly on the security cameras putting derogatory comments into the guest book and not putting any name or address in .this I would expect from young children ,I’m sorry you did not enjoy your stay here, when you left
You were asked if everything was ok and you replied that it was, and the food was excellent. For then to depart and leave this review is beyond me,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Turned up to our beautiful cottage in Port Isaac, amazing until we realised we had no towels!

Wandered out into the town and found The Bay Hotel - popped in and asked if we could rent some towels from them rather than buying some just for the weekend - staff were amazing, no hesitation in lending us some!

Wish we were staying the hotel - the breakfast they were serving their guests looked and smelt AMAZING!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed in room 11 on the third floor. this has three aspects, and even though the weather was not great the view was still stunning.The room size was adequate, and the bathroom has a jacuzzi type bath.Breakfast was cooked to order and was as good as it gets.A private car park was a real bonus in this area.Evening meals were not being served during our stay, but the restaurant opposite was very good.The walk to the village was not so taxing as I at first thought, we managed the outing fairly well, albeit a little slowly.
Paul the host was very pleasant, and very helpful. Overall the hotel was both clean and homely, and I would stay again if in the area

Room Tip: Room 11, a climb but a lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Address: The Terrace, Port Isaac PL29 3SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Port Isaac, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Bay Hotel to your Saves list