We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food Shame About The View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fresh From The Sea

Fresh From The Sea
New Road | (near Fore Street, Port Isaac, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Port Isaac
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Shame About The View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Walked past and noticed the sign for crab and lobster salads and thought "why not". I had the crab the wife had the lobster, both of us thoroughly enjoyed it and very good value for money. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Shame about the location which clearly is out of their hands, watching the traffic on a busy road is probably not the best view you would wish for when dining in Port Isaac. Good food, good value, good service, shame about the location

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    12
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stopped off for lunch. We had crab sandwich and a mackerel sandwich and two coffees for £16. The crab and mackerel were both spread so thin you struggled to taste anything. The portions are tiny for the price. Wouldn't go back again. Also we are not convinced the other reviews are independent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“great crab sandwich”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was probably the best crab sandwich i have ever eaten. We went here after reading the trip adviser reviews which said it had great coffee and cakes. The coffee was good but the cup sizes are too small for what they charge and the choice of cake was indifferent and minimal. Having struggled up the hill - it is near the car parks at the top of the village - it was a disappointment for my wife who was looking forward to the cake.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Woderfull fresh crab & lobster & the BEST coffee in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I love this little cafe, fresh sustainably caught fish, homemade crab soup, cakes and lovely fresh crab sandwiches. Oh, and great coffee, the best in the village!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Isaac
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Very BEST!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The most excellent family run establishment - the best crab and lobster (amongst many other fabulous offerings - their cakes are divine!) - all locally caught from sustainable sources. To visit Port Isaac without visiting Fresh from the Sea would be to miss the ultimate treat!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh From The Sea also viewed

Port Isaac, Cornwall
 
Port Isaac, Cornwall
Port Isaac, Cornwall
 

Been to Fresh From The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fresh From The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.