We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Slipway Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Slipway Hotel to your Saves list
Slipway Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Harbour Front, Port Isaac PL29 3RH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Port Isaac
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Rather Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Port Isaac is a pretty village made famous by the Doc Martin tv series. The Slipway Hotel was a great disappointment. The exterior is run down and the general standard of the interior is very poor. The entrance to the rooms is up a steep external staircase. The carpet at the entance was completely rotten. We had paid a premium for a room with a balcony. The balcony was so dirty that my wife cleaned the furniture with tissues before we could use it. The glass in the balcony doors was very dirty indeed and could not have been cleaned in a long time. The bathroom was so small that it felt like a cupboard and the door did not close properly. The extractor fan was filthy and did not work. The room was so small that I had to turn sideways to pass beteen the end of the bed and the chest of drawers and I am tall but not fat!
The food was all right but not outstanding but the staff were pleasant.
I could not recommend this hotel. It is very shabby and does not give value for money.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    69
    31
    23
    12
See reviews for
32
134
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were really looking forward to visiting Port Isaac after watching Doc Martin. Its a truly beautiful spot but the accommodation was very disappointing. Firstly we arrived on the weekend of the Big Swim and the entire area was absolutely packed so access to the hotel was near impossible down a very narrow steep road. There was no actual address provided when we booked so it was hard to know exactly where it was. There was also no mention of the fact that we had to park at the the public car park at the very top of a steep hill.
Our twin room was dingy to say the least. It needed a very good clean. The bathroom is the smallest one i have every seen, the best solution is to soap the walls and spin!
On the positive side the breakfast was great and the staff were very helpful. Our confirmation email also failed to mention breakfast was included so we missed it on the first day. We paid £130 per night and its value is not more than half that. Lovely spot but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel and found it to be very adequate. The room I had was situated in the next door wing-It didnt have a view but was large and very clean with a BIG modern bathroom and very comfortable bed- and therefore good value. The staff were more than pleasant and helpful, the breakfast had many choices and the dining at night was excellent. It surprises me that reviewers complain about the fact that the streets are narrow and steep and it is difficult to get cars down. The fact is that there were cars of all sizes going up and down the hill (unfortunately) all the time. This is after all a fishing village originating centuries ago and its charm is the nature of its streets, perched houses and tiny alleys. The walk from Port Isaac to Port Quin is magnificent. This is a comfortable hotel in which to appreciate Port Isaac and the fact that it is right on the harbour front is a great bonus for those who want to appreciate the atmosphere of this unique place. Sitting outside on a late summer evening in the al fresco bar area is not fancy but a delight.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the harbour or a balcony make sure you put this requirement in. Wifi isnt avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I paid over a £100 per night to stay here, it is not worth the money.

The pub is as the name says by the slipway at the bottom of a steep and narrow hill. Cars have to be left in the public carparks at the top of the hill, a 15 minute walk up the steep hill. You can buy long stay tickets in the carpark.

It is a pub with rooms. I don't think any refurbishment has been done on the place since the Inspector was here to give a star rating. I stayed in one of the front first floor rooms with a balcony. There had obviously been a leak in the ceiling from the bathroom above but no effort had been made to put right the damage. The ensuite bathroom was so small that I couldn't shut the door whilst on the toilet! The sink had a large crack. The carpet was badly stained. The bottom of the wooden doors on to the small balcony was rotten. The balcony furniture was green with mold. I was woken the first night by running water and realised it was the rain water over flowing the gutters outside. Goodness knows when the gutters were last cleaned as there were plants growing in them. Outside of my room was a lounge for guests and with the bedroom door closed I could hear every word of the conversations taking place. There was no sound proofing at all.

Breakfast was held in the restaurant. The breakfast choice was good and staff very friendly. However again the restaurant was not very clean; panes of glass cracked in the windows and lots of cobwebs. It felt very dark and dingy.

The place has been allowed to fall into a poor state of repairs. It is neglected. The staff were all very young and it felt like there was no one there directing cleaning.

I had dinner at the Old School House further up the hill and wished I'd stayed there. I went to listen to the Fishermens Friends perform on the beach on a friday night. I will return to St Issacs but I won't be staying at The Slipway Hotel again.

Not recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Not really approachable by car streets so narrow you can touch both walls with your arms out, car park quite a trek fifteen mins walk up steep hill, clean rooms but no luxurys here, appear more like staying in someone's house rather than hotel, breakfast restaurant not very inspiring clean almost but just an uncomfortable experience not very friendly waitress. Slipway is actually a pub with rooms if you expect a hotel you'll be disappointed up the hill is the old school hotel that would probably be a better choice , we paid £100 last minute wouldn't be at all happy if we had paid any more

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel ( actually it's more like a pub with rooms) - we stayed here a few years ago, not long after it was refurbished, and I don't think any money has been spent on the place since then - it's beginning to fray at the edges - e.g peeling paint inside and out, bathroom door that is warped - it doesn't take a lot to fix such problems.Bathroom very small but clean with good towels. Bed rather hard and needs replacing. This is a shame, because the place has character, and is uniquely positioned in the harbour. The rooms are small and the en suite is not suitable for large people. Positive points are - location (apart from the parking), friendly and helpful staff, good beer (although not a massive choice), and excellent food. If you want lobster, order it in the morning for an evening meal as it is landed locally the day before - they don't send a boat out just for you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We arrived to stay at the hotel for 3 nights which is set in a prime location right in front of the harbour slipway . We were a bit disappointed as from the outside it was very tired looking and a bit shabby. We were staying in one of the two rooms which had a balcony at the front of the hotel. The room was clean but was very basic for the price we paid. The ensuite was a disappointment, although clean I am glad we didn't bring the cat as it would be difficult to swing one in there!! There was a Y shaped crack in the wash basin and whilst using the toilet your knees nearly touched the door. Overall we feel the hotel is in need of a fresh lick of paint and general update. The paint on the patio doors leading onto the balcony was flaking off and the wood on the bottom of the door was rotten. Having said this their redeeming factors were the staff were pleasant and helpful and there was a decent selection for breakfast. Great location but you are paying for it with no more than average accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Slipway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slipway Hotel

Address: The Harbour Front, Port Isaac PL29 3RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Slipway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Slipway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slipway Hotel Port Isaac, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slipway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.