We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Slipway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Slipway Hotel to your Saves list
Slipway Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Harbour Front, Port Isaac PL29 3RH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Devon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The negatives were..
Expensive we had a really poor view on to roof of awning at front of hotel, the breakfast was ok but not 4 star we were were not asked if we wanted more toast or a top of of our tea or coffee, the plates were cold, it felt like a convyer belt and no attention to our needs. For the two nights we were there was a fold up bed in the corridor which was fire hazzard.. The matress was hard I woke with back ache

The positives the check in and check out was quick and efficient, the location was very close to harbour, the staff freindly this made up for the negatives.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    77
    33
    23
    12
See reviews for
33
150
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Had a one-night stay in the beautifully-located, small hotel. The room was very basic (for the price) but compensated by the view from the small balcony. Set right at the slipway, as the name implies, the hotel is at the heart of the village. Parking is a long way from the hotel because of the narrow streets but this is part of the experience of the old Cornish village. Friendly staff at checkin and at breakfast (which itself was basic but satisfactory). Everything is close by to the hotel including the beautiful coastal walks.our rating here is more for the location than for the hotel itself.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our trip to Port Isaac was made all the more authentic by our stay at this hotel. Nestled right in the centre of this charming village, it is the epitome of the Doc Martin experience. Seeing the locals start their day early morning was like watching the set unroll. What a lovely town. The world cup added to our fun, with all the locals cheering in open beer garden below.
Take time to walk the cliff paths with a picnic, or to Port Gaverne. Too often we flit in and out of the beautiful towns in an effort to see it all. Slow down, enjoy.
Such a magnificent area.

Room Tip: Overlooking the harbourfront on the 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Not really a hotel. More a cafe with rooms above.
Good, fair, helpful staff & a great & VERY expensive location.
Nice & clean. Very hot water.
Was on the second floor, £160 a night.
Bedroom was one double bed & two singles under the eves - tight.
Little sitting / lounge area, TIGHT
Bathroom was really small, sitting on the loo & knees against the bath.
Did not eat there as menu was too limited.
Would go again, when I win a fortune.
Pleased I've been, overpriced but you cannot take it with you.
Mind you I'll find other places to go!

Room Tip: Go for the best, we had the 2nd floor overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Middlesex
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had one night's stay here recently. We have been to Port Isaac before and I found it so beautiful, I wanted to stay again. I struck lucky when booking this hotel using booking.com as it had been advertised at a £1 for one night's B&B instead of £150!!! Luckily for us, the hotel had to honour the advertised price so there is absolutely nothing I can say is wrong with this hotel!!! We had a room with balcony and en-suite overlooking the harbour. There is a lounge just outside the room which you can use if you prefer not to sit on your bed watching TV. The hotel has a side entrance up some steps for the residents to use so they don't have to enter via the pub every time which was useful. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening but the breakfast was lovely. We used a side street at the top of the village for our first day and then parked in the car park overnight. Try not to drive into the village as it's really hair raising!!! I definitely wouldn't have paid £150 for this hotel but the staff are lovely and welcoming even though they were probably cursing us under their breath!!! Thank you Slipway Hotel :)

Room Tip: Have a room on the first floor with balcony overlooking the quay as it's fairly modern and my pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Both my husband and myself have just returned from a weekend in port Issac and stayed at the Slipway hotel and found all staff to be very friendly and accomodating. Although the beams were rather low in the room especially as my husband is 6ft 2 ins we found the room and bedding to be clean, something which we are both fussy about. The food was excellent and location was perfect. I would definately reccomend choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Sunday, our last day staying in Cornwall ,my wife suggested to try different restaurant that closer to where we stayed and decided to pick Slipway hotel restaurant as our choice.When we arrived there we then realized that the roads in the village are really narrow just about for one car passing through,It should be one way system .but it was not,We gone passed our restaurant without finding a parking space,and had to drive up the steep hill to come back to the restaurant again,while driving up the hill .there were 2 cars coming down from the hill,they cannot reversing back up,so we had to reversing back down,Because the road is so narrow,it was very scary to reversing back,So do not drive your car through the village if your have a family car like me ,best park your car on top of the hill where parking space are provided,We arrived the restaurant more than half an hour late due to parking problems,the gentlemen at the reception was happy to see us and escorted us to our table.We ordered King Prawns,Scallops with black pudding,and deep fried Squids for starter to share,very good and tasty.Before the main course we were told that they have run out of lamb, pork, and lobsters which I was a bit of disappointed.At the end,I had Risotto,it was just right to my taste.My wife ordered Sea Beams,it was very fresh without over nor under cooked.My elder son order Crab meats on shell with salads,same fresh and tasty.The best was for my younger son who ordered the Steak which cooked perfectly that melted in his mouth.The bill came to £101.15 without Desserts and Service charge.No wines with 3 bottles of Sparking waters.Friendly staff,good atmosphere,good food and reasonable price.We definitely would go back again in future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Slipway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slipway Hotel

Address: The Harbour Front, Port Isaac PL29 3RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Slipway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Slipway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slipway Hotel Port Isaac, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slipway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.