We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than Just Fruity - It's splendid family fun for everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trevathan Farm Shop and Restaurant

Trevathan Farm Shop and Restaurant
St Endellion, Port Isaac PL29 3TT, England
01208 880164
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 24 restaurants in Port Isaac
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: phone number 01208 880164
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“More Than Just Fruity - It's splendid family fun for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Let's start with the cake - Dirty great slabs of it. All home made, big enough to satisfy your inner child. Enormous 4-decker slices of buttercream and five or six kinds to choose from. Sunday lunches seem to go down well here according to a friends recommendation. But if you're looking for local produce from clotted cream to hand cream they sell it in the farm shop on site. Strawberries here have been injected with essence of your average Enid Blyton childhood (all deep red, scrummy juicy and tasting of strawberries not peachy pink supermarket mass-produced ones that taste of wax!) Not all of the staff are spontaneous smilers but they're all very busy dolloping our cake to the masses -it's always busy and you'll need to book. Not well signposted but well worth a detour if you're heading back up the A30 towards home. The perfect end stop for that last minute cream tea, pasty, souvenir prezzie or half-hundredweight slice of cake on the way home as you pass by Port Issac way x J

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    40
    14
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing cakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to stop for coffee and cake, lots of things to keep little ones amused and the strawberries we picked were delicious. We will certainly visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unwelcoming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We came here and the member of staff we asked for information on pick your own was unwelcoming and charmless. Even so, we decide to go strawberry picking, but there were only a small number of strawberries left and they were quite bitter. We left after that with no strawberries and a bitter taste in our mouth. This venue clearly manages to attract a lot of traffic but it seems to have abandoned any sense of customer service judging by our short experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Nice cream tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Visited Trevathan Farm Shop to pick our own strawberries which was a success and not too expensive.
Popped into the cafe / restaurant for a cream tea, plenty of delicious jam and cream but scones were a tad small and I'm not convinced homemade. Drinks were probably average price for Cornwall but smaller than average size. Good selection of meals and cakes on display. Large shop with a variety of gifts and food to purchase. Staff seemed friendly enough.

Overall not a bad visit until we went around and looked at the animals. Sheep in small pens, rabbits sleeping in their own excrement, not sure when last cleaned out and most disturbing a pen full of bored looking wallabies also living in stinking conditions !

Not sure I will be visiting again :(

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rip Off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Started off so well with a shop selling home sourced produce beautifully displayed & wetting the taste buds for sampling the delights in the cafe.
Then it went horribly wrong - the cheapest produce - not the quality produce displayed in the shop were used for the breakfast we had - Sausages were disgusting - no way are they butchers sausages - farm foods budget - eggs were not free range - pale & awful flavour - bacon again budget with no flavour - cheap hash browns & bread that even toasted was budget & disgusting.
Please don't insult peoples intelligence with saying your produce for breakfast is locally sourced & artisan because you know it is not & what a shame as Trevathan is in a fantastic spot - wonderful place for families to meet & eat but why oh why don't you serve the wonderful food you sell in the cafe to eat ?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trevathan Farm Shop and Restaurant also viewed

Port Isaac, Cornwall
 
Port Isaac, Cornwall
Port Isaac, Cornwall
 

Been to Trevathan Farm Shop and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trevathan Farm Shop and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.