We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely building, lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old School Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Isaac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old School Hotel
Save
You added Old School Hotel to your Saves list
Fore Street, Port Isaac PL29 3RB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Isaac
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely building, lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stumbled across Port Isaac quite by chance and found the old coastal village quite beautiful. We decided to stay for the night and tried a couple of places for a room, but the village was rather full due to the Doc Martin filming.
We were therefore overjoyed that, not only did the Old School Hotel have a room, their unofficial "honeymoon suite" named Latin, was available (we were on honeymoon after all). The room was stunning, with floor to ceiling windows, a huge comfortable bed and a very deep roll top bath from which you can enjoy the beautiful views across the cove.
As the weather had turned rather wet and windy, we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant, and we were accommodated with a smile and friendly service. The food was fresh, delicious and cooked to perfection. Not only that, but given the quality and portion sizes, the meal was very good value for money and worth every penny.
The breakfast the next morning was equally delicious and also served with a friendly smile.
We had a lovely stay at this hotel and I couldn't find a single fault with it. I'm already looking forward to celebrating future anniversaries with a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    80
    30
    28
    10
See reviews for
38
136
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Yes it was in need of a revamp around the back of this Charming Little Hotel and its a pity because its far too Pretty to be neglected. However i loved every minute of our stay there. The Breakfast was first class and the staff Great. We stayed in the Art Room, Oh my God it was so Devine and Quaint. We went for Easter and the prices were reasonable then. Oh and another plus was we parked our car outside of the Hotel easily.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very disappointing. £160 per night for flaking paint, broken bathroom tiles, tatty décor, old mis- matched furniture. Very tired, needs refurbishing. No beds made, tea/coffee replenished for duration of stay. Thin walls and floors with no sound insulation as speaking and snoring in adjacent rooms heard clearly. 1 hour breakfast availability. Expected much much more for the price. Positives are great views and friendly staff. Hotel surviving on location and the fact it appears on Doc Martin rather than providing good quality accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The "Old School" perched high above the village of Port Isaac with the waves crashing on the rocks just below is the focal point in this most beautiful fishing village.
A working school until the 1980's was transformed into a hotel. Loads of character and charm. Each room has been refitted with ensuite bath and given course names; i.e., Religious Studies, English, Physics, etc. Depending on how many people in you party will determine which room you will be offered. Room cleaned every day leaving fresh towels and toiletries where required.
Could open a window, if desired. Individual heating unit in room also. Coffee & tea supplies with a little pot was an added plus. Bed very comfortable. Entrance private off of main entrance to hotel proved quick and less bothersome to Lobby staff. All the staff, especially Sam, Rachel and Rick made reservation and check-in a pleasure. Very welcoming to the guests and assist with any requests with their smiles and friendliness.
Location is everything and you have it here. Easy downhill 5 minute walk, but don't rush past the lovely shops, to the Platt. Doc Martin fans should stay NOWHERE else! THIS is "Louisa's" school. You are temporarily living in an 'episode' with the "Doc". How GREAT is that?
Truly, if you 'fancy' a 'lay down', then stay at this hotel in the storybook village of Portwenn.

Room Tip: Courtesy and patience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stay with my wife and friends over New Years Eve.
We where very well looked after my the staff.
Great view and with a car park though not very large and a bit tight if you have a large vehicle.

Food was very good and reasonable cost.

Breakfast was very good along with the service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just returned from two nights at the Old School House and now looking forward to the next visit. It could not possibly be any better situated. Overlooking the harbour at Port Isaac, this is ‘picture postcard’ Cornwall. We were travelling with friends from America who were in the ‘English’ room. (All the rooms are named after school subjects). This was a large room with outstanding views down into the village and harbour. They were supplied with a ‘Doc Martin’ DVD to watch, which meant that they could see the village on screen and out of the window. The food, both in the evening and for breakfast was excellent and varied, with the staff very helpful with the vegetarian requests of our friends. I cannot think why anyone would want to stay anywhere else in Port Isaac, if they can stay at the Old School House.

A special mention to Sam and Rachel who looked after us with an attentiveness, which went beyond, ‘just doing a job’.

Room Tip: Try the English room for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

In a rather chilly "Spring" we had a pleasant stay at the hotel. Port Isaac is quiet at this time . The staff were helpful and the room quite adeqate with an outlook over the small harbour. The evening meal was very good with seared scollops to die for and yummy treacle pudding. A nice Australian red wine also went well. Overall a lovely short stay....and we were able to see the areas in the Port where Doc Martin was filmed. News for Doc Martin fans.....the new series begins filming at Port Isaac next week! Two very minor things the hotel might want to consider....1. Fresh milk in the room for tea and 2. Clean or renew the canvas "Welcome" awning above the entrance door (looking a bit tired) - first impressions and all that.

But the Old Schoolhouse is to be recommended for a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old School Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old School Hotel

Address: Fore Street, Port Isaac PL29 3RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel Old School
Old School Port Isaac
Old School Hotel Port Isaac, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old School Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.