We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely fish tapas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outlaw's Fish Kitchen

Outlaw's Fish Kitchen
No 1 Middle Street, Port Isaac PL29 3RH, England (Formerly The Harbour)
+44 1208 881183
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Outlaw's Fish Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Lovely fish tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 NEW

I really loved this place although my husband wasn't quite as enthusiastic. The idea is that you order a selection of small fish 'tapas' and if you particularly enjoy one then you can go ahead and order more!
My husband felt that some of the flavours mentioned in the dish description (in particular one that promised horseradish and another coconut) didn't really come through.
However we both enjoyed trying some new fish (we'd never eaten ling or grey mullet before). And we cleared absolutely everything put in front of us.
The restaurant is tiny and has a wonderful location opposite the harbour. Yes, there's a steep walk down (and then back up!) to the car park but it's not that difficult.
We visited on a week day evening in April during a spell of glorious weather and we loved coming out of the restaurant at the end of the meal and walking over to the harbour which looked beautiful. We practically had the place to ourselves. But I imagine the village heaves in summer (when I wouldn't come near it) and you'd need to book well in advance to secure a table.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    41
    17
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

Just had to visit the Fish Kitchen again on a short trip to Cornwall with family. The food is superb and the staff are always friendly, no matter which Outlaws you go to! We really enjoyed the food and there is no better place to enjoy good fish dishes other than in Port Isaac. We even got to enjoy the filming of Doc Martin whilst we were there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely informal fish restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 NEW

We had a lovely evening at Outlaw's fish kitchen. Port Isaac is a great place and this restaurant offers fresh fish in an informal and inventive way. I had dishes I had never tried before, ling, gurnard, octopus curry... Small and intimate, great service, I highly recommend it

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Arrived in time for start of lunch service and left over an hour later stuffed full of the most amazing tapas style dishes you could wish for. Each one a tantalising taste of the sea. Will certainly be returning the first chance we get. Lovely setting and great service too.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Epic Tapas ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

The beauty of this Nathan Outlaw restaurant is the simplicity
Walked in off the street at lunchtime and were lucky to get the last table.
From then on the adventure began from bread to desert every plate was fantastic
The highlights were the oysters in bacon crumb, gin cured salmon & curried grey mullet.
But the deserts were outstanding
Poached pineapple in passion fruit syrup then set white chocolate pudding with chocolate brownie and caramelised banana
WOW WOW WOW both so good we ordered them twice
This is a relaxed bistro style quirky cosy & charming relaxed place
It's not fine dining Michelin star but the quality of food was simply delicious
Yes it's a steep walk but anyone that knows Port Issac can walk it off or park on the beach at low tide
Another fantastic visit to a restaurant inspired by the genius that is Nathan Outlaw. The staff were really good & friendly despite covering 25 diners

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outlaw's Fish Kitchen also viewed

 
Port Isaac, Cornwall
Port Isaac, Cornwall
 

Been to Outlaw's Fish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outlaw's Fish Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.