We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fish dishes, interesting menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outlaw's Fish Kitchen

Outlaw's Fish Kitchen
No 1 Middle Street, Port Isaac PL29 3RH, England (Formerly The Harbour)
+44 1208 881183
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Outlaw's Fish Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Port Isaac
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Tapas, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Excellent fish dishes, interesting menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Very enjoyable and tasty fish dishes, not large portions but enough especially with the breaded plaice in a bun. Really enjoyed the monkfish, the chilli squid and the cod roe dip. But we thought the lobster was tasteless and poor value and we were very disappointed by the reaction from the waitress when we asked for bread to mop up some of the beautiful sauce. Overall enjoyed the food, but found the atmosphere a little flat and the waitresses aloof, would recommend here as an experience but will not revisit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    37
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A special Port Isaac evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The two of us ate at Outlaw's Fish Kitchen in Port Isaac on a Friday evening earlier this month. We had booked a table a couple of days previously - after popping in on the off-chance that we could get a table - so I would definitely recommend booking for the evening service. No bookings are taken for the lunch-time service so if you arrive when they open at 12noon you should get a table.

We opted for the "Outlaw's Fish Kitchen" menu rather than try to decide on the dishes ourselves - they all looked so good - and this meant that we were given a number of tapas-sized dishes, chosen by the restaurant, which came out as surprises throughout our meal.

We were given a fantastic selection of fish, beautifully presented and packed with delicious flavour combinations. Some of the dishes were: whiskey-cured salmon, cured sea bass with pickled peppers, mackerel and a delightful little fish burger. We also added the chilli-squid, which wasn't available on the Fish Kitchen menu, which was such a treat. The food was paired with a lovely white wine chosen on the recommendation of the waitress. Dessert was lovely: a light, summery lemon posset with blackberries and sugared pistachios.

Service was absolutely brilliant throughout the evening. We were given lots of time by our waitress who answered our questions with enthusiasm and the staff were attentive and friendly without being intrusive.

Although small the restaurant didn't feel crowded and the seating was really lovely: romantic tables for two in little alcoves, larger tables with benches along the wall, etc.

I would absolutely recommend Outlaw's for a special evening; it was well worth the money that we spent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous fish dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Port Isaac is the epitome of quaint Cornish villages and Outlaws sits at the heart of it serving beautiful fish dishes. In this small simple dining room the dishes are the stars. My husband and I chose the share menu for £35 a head which took the challenge of choosing out of our hands and we are so glad we did. Options we would never have chosen were served and loved - our eyes and taste buds were opened. The two girls running the restaurant knew the menu, ingredients, wine inside out and ensured everyone has a super meal. Advance booking is essential and worth it. Can't wait to revisit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zummerset
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The climb back to the car park was worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We made a special detour to Port Isaac to eat at Outlaws and it was certainly worth it. There was not a vast choice on the lunch menu but this was all to the good. The monk fish we had was excellent and the St Clements posset to follow melted in the mouth.
The staff were knowledgeable and friendly, a credit to Nathan Outlaw.
We will certainly visit again when we are in Cornwall.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fun fish tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Dropped in here on a bright blustery summers day and thoroughly enjoyed a lazy lunch. The restaurant is tiny, with low beamed ceilings and small windows, however it is light and airy and the welcome from the staff was excellent. We chose the delicious fish tapas ( especially the mackerel) and happily guzzled down the house white. The tapas was £15 each and the wine added £16.50 but well worth it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outlaw's Fish Kitchen also viewed

Port Isaac, Cornwall
Port Isaac, Cornwall
 
Port Isaac, Cornwall
Port Isaac, Cornwall
 

Been to Outlaw's Fish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outlaw's Fish Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.