We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Claremont Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Polperro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Claremont Hotel
The Coombes, Polperro PL13 2RG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Polperro
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed from the the 27th August to the 4th of September in room 8. Our stay was a wonderful experience. The service was excellent and well worth our choice of hotel. The English breakfast was really great and would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning as soon as we are able. Thank you very much for a really wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for your "wonderful" review. I think it is the first time the word "wonderful" has been used in our reviews and we are so very pleased that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We are also very happy to note that you enjoyed our breakfasts but more happy to read that you highly recommend us and that you will return as soon as you are able. Excellent reviews and returning guests are what makes our business successful, so a big thank you and we really look forward to your return which we hope will be in the near future. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    33
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
18
100
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is run by a lady who obviously cares very much about customer experience. Nothing was too much trouble, peaceful and relaxing also. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the balcony area was a very welcome place to drink the wine purchased from the next door off licence, this is due to the fact that Polperro itself offers nowhere to sit outside around the harbour, and there is very little open after 8 or 9pm.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Many thanks for your excellent review. Our guests are very welcome to bring their own drinks into the hotel and we will supply ice and glasses free of charge up to 9pm. Our patio is very much appreciated by our guests who can sit outside and watch the world go by although the streets do get a little quiet after 9pm. Of course their are many pubs and restaurants open until late but nowhere where you can sit outside with a street view and enjoy a drink, our licensing laws are mainly responsible for that. Our hotel is the exception. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Carina Marta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

I visited the claremont on the 29th August with my parents, wife and children, i experienced the best cream tea ever! 2 freshly made scones straight from the oven and a huge pot of tea. Great service with a smile, if this is anythin to go by then a stay in this hotel in a quaint english fishing village would be brilliant regardless of decor!

Carina and her partner maybe Hungarian but they have definately learned what most English tourists want.

Keep it up

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you ever so much for recommending our cream teas and our hotel. We hope to see you again in the near future and stay with us when you will also hopefully enjoy your stay and our English breakfast as much as you did our cream tea. We try to reach and maintain a high standard in whatever we do and we take every review on Tripadvisor very seriously to ensure that our customers have a pleasant and happy experience at our hotel. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 24-26 aug,unfortunatly it rained everyday,but we still had a great time the hotel is warm &friendly,karina is great,and a very good cook, breakfast was lovely, afternoon scones are a must have,still warm from the oventhe museam was interesting we had dinner in the crumplehorn which was very tasty,its a very pretty quaint little village at bit like travelimg back in time,very close to town of looe which is worth a visit,but deffinatly stay at the clairment,we had room 8 overlooking varpark and veiws of hills very clean and comfortable and quiet loved it will be back soon for sure

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are so pleased to read that you had a great time staying at our hotel despite the rain. We try to do our very best to keep all our guests happy and to enjoy their stay with us. While I can take responsibility for the scones, my partner Arpi, cooks the breakfast and takes great pride in sending out a first class cooked breakfast. Our car park is indeed a great plus for our hotel and regularly gets a mention and only those who know Polperro will appreciate why. Polperro, we agree, is a bit like going back in time but only in a nice way that helps people to relax and is one of the many reasons why our village remains so very popular with so may regulars and we are very pleased that you will return and join our ever expanding list of regular guests. Thank you very much for your response and your kind words. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel is an old and little bit worn building but it is in a historic village, might I say beautiful village, but the whole of the hotel was clean and tidy with a very pleasant room with every thing we wanted, and in the morning a stunningly good breakfast. Karina who runs the hotel with her partner, rushes about making every thing right for you, which she is very good at. Would stay there again in an instant would defiantly recommend.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a better veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and your very kind words about us and Polperro. You are quite correct that Polperro is an Historic Village and that is the making of its charm which is appreciated by all who visit.
We note what you say about the building being old but this is the same with all original buildings in Polperro which makes it an historic fishing village with a history over many centuries and is now a conversation area to protect our history of days gone buy. External modernisation is prohibited but the hotel is in sound structural condition and the internal of the hotel has been modernised to make quests stay as comfortable as possible but still retaining its original charm which is appreciated by so many returning guests and we hope you will join them. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Claremont Hotel, Polperro. We could not have chosen a better place to stay. The hotel is spotlessly clean; the rooms in keeping with the hotel and the area, and in a great location with the car park being a huge bonus. The breakfasts, freshly cooked, are delicious, and we were given the best welcome we've ever had anywhere. Carina has the biggest smile in Cornwall, and works very hard to make your stay a pleasant one. Would definately recommend this hotel, and Polperro, and hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent review. You have summed up how we feel about our hotel and it is so nice to see it in a review written by one of our guests. I do not know about the biggest smile in Cornwall but yes, I am very happy to receive our guests and to do everything to make their stay a happy and memorial one. We also appreciate when your say you will return and we very much look forward to that. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have just had our first experience of Claremont Hotel, and Polperro - such a wonderful place to relax and spend a few days. Hotel is so cute and spotlessly clean - the young lady in charge is such a welcoming and helpful person - a real asset to any business. We would thoroughly recommend a visit - we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent review for both our hotel and Polperro. We know Polperro is a wonderful place and well known as a beautiful Historic Fishing village and the harbour still lands fish from the local fleet of fishing boats. Our hotel is not quite as well known but with excellent reviews such as yours we are becoming less of a secret. We are so pleased that your first visit to both our hotel and Polperro was so much to your liking and we are so happy to read that you will return in the future and join the many regulars that we are so lucky to have. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Address: The Coombes, Polperro PL13 2RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Polperro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Polperro
The Claremont Hotel Polperro, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Claremont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Claremont Hotel to your Saves list