We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kent couple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somewhere Restaurant

Somewhere Restaurant
The Coombes, Polperro, England
01503 272969
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A family run Restaurant. Varied menu hopefully to suit all tastes. Meals made on the premises using quality local ingredients, to be enjoyed in relaxed contemporay surroundings.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Kent couple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Lovely place to eat with good service and good food the crab spring rolls were so tasty and the rest of the meal just as good and not too expensive I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.and would suggest you booked to avoid disappointed .

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    31
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Cream Tea Perfect Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We visited Somewhere Restaurant today for a cream tea and it was the best we have ever had! The scones were homemade, large, warm and delicious. We shared a cream tea as each came with 2 scones, so for the one cream tea and another cup of tea, this was £5.60... Excellent value for money.
Also, they had the cleanest and most attractive toilets ever! I could have eaten my cream tea in their as they were so clean, smelt fresh, leaflets for visitors, proper "imperial leather" soap, the pump action one, so not sharing someone else's mucky hands! I know this may be quite sad to report on, but believe me, we have come across some really horrid ones throughout our stay and this was such a wonderful find,
Lastly, the young man who served us was polite, friendly and welcomed us as soon as we walked through the door...perfect hospitality and a big thank you. We hope this review will be read so others will visit this wonderful restaurant. See you next time we are in Cornwall.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Excellent"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had an enjoyable evening here; the food was to a very high standard; the Fish Pie was superb. When we visit the area again we will definitely eat here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and myself visited Polperro recently,and ate in the "Somewhere" Restarunt on a couple of occasions.
The food was Excellent,and the service was attentive and friendly.
Would definitely recomend,and will visit again for sure.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dorset
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We found that this is one of the few places to eat in Polperro that offers alternatives to loads of fried food. Fresh fish is on the menu, along with a variety of other appealing dishes. There is outdoor seating (albeit small wooden seats and tables), as well as more substantial seating indoors. The staff are friendly and made us very welcome. We booked the night before we wanted to eat; but in busier season you may need to book more in advance.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Somewhere Restaurant also viewed

Polperro, Cornwall
 

Been to Somewhere Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somewhere Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.