We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Pilchards

The Three Pilchards
The Quay, Polperro, England
01503 272233
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 23 Restaurants in Polperro
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
blackpool
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Went here on a recommendation from one of the locals , good call. It is not a five star gaff its a pub serving excellent sea food at great prices. The specials board was full of gems scallops monkfish etc. Would go back in a flash.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    99
    52
    36
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Crab salad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ordered the crab salad.
The highlighted portion of the menu stated that ALL salads came with potato salad & coleslaw.
When our meal arrived without either my wife called the waiter over and said 'we have no potato salad & coleslaw'.
The crab doesn't come with that he said and went to walk off.
I then said excuse me but it says ALL salads come with that.
His reply was 'I didn't write it'.
I explained I was not concerned with who actually wrote it, I was more concerned with the fact that ALL means ALL.
A few customers could hear what was going on and a few minutes later the missing ingredients were dropped on our table with no apology.
One customer upon leaving said 'I bet you won't be coming back here'.
His attitude was to say the least surly and at best unhelpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We popped in for dinner after a long day of coastal walking, and I really fancied a fish dish. So I chose good old fish and chips, and the missus chose mackerel. My meal was superb, with great crunchy beer battered cod, and a plate full overflowing with chips and salad. No need for desert after that one! The Tribute beer was excellent, so all good. We did intend to sit outside upstairs, but decided to go indoors to avoid the hungry looking seagulls and wasps, and it was actually very comfy inside, with an atmospheric illuminated blue star ceiling.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice beer but the food was awful.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went in for an evening meal. I had the mackerel salad and expected it to be fresh mackerel - considering where we were, it was from a packet that couldve come from any supermarket. A member of our group had chips that had obviously been sitting around for a long time and she wasn't impressed with the rest of her meal either. When we were asked how it was, and we told them, they looked offended and just walked off. Also, I stood at the bar on my own - the only person there - waiting to be served and the girl behind the bar was blatantly ignoring me and was standing around doing nothing. Some guy walked up to the bar and she served him straight away. I had to wait for her colleague to stop what she was doing (and she was very busy!) and serve me. We hadnt even ordered a drink at this point ! Shame cos it was recommended by one of the fishermen !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Food, Large Potions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had several meals there during our stay and all the food we had was of a very good quality (served with a smile) there is also a very good range of food on the menu (better for choices than the Blue Peter Inn). The pub is a typical old cornish fisherman's village pub that also serves a good selection of beers, lagers and cider's. Well worth a visit if in or near Polperro. The only slight downside is that they no longer do sweets, which is a bit of a shame has in previous years the Sticky Toffee Pudding was worth a visit on it's own.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Pilchards also viewed

 

Been to The Three Pilchards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Pilchards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.