We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Thai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sukothai

Sukothai
47 Queen Street, Penzance TR18 4BQ, England
01736 360049
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 146 Restaurants in Penzance
Price range: $43 - $43
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Cumbria
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was our second visit to Sukothai and wont be our last!
Very enjoyable meal, we both had a starter and a main. All were gorgeous! (if you want spice, get the jungle curry!)
Fresh, tasty ingredients, not at all pricey and lovely service.
What more could you ask for???!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    30
    6
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“best thai in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Huge choice on menu, everything is excellent. Allow time if you're a large party - food can arrive in waves, but very friendly welcome & great service. You can take your own wine or they sell thai beer.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My 2nd visit here and even better than last time. The food is excellent and the fact that it was full for 2 sittings on a wet night in January says a lot. Great friendly service and all of the food came out hot and on time. They also do take away but frankly why bother? Just take your coat off, sit down and enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food in Penzance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I have enjoyed travelling to several areas of Thailand over the years and really enjoy authentic Thai food and culture. The quality of the food was very good - Tom yum particularly - and the staff were very good, willing to put prik nam pla together at short notice. The restaurant would be rated 'excellent' but it is a little cramped for a romantic evening for two! Fantastic place though.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best Thai food I've eaten!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Delicious, clean food. Fresh ingredients which were tailored to my taste (as am not a hot chillie eater!). The owners were very friendly and made the experience of eating here perfect (as was travelling alone). The best Thai food I have eaten and I've been to a handful of places in different towns. Great quality of food - with generous proportions of meat vs vegetables - I'd drive another 4 hours just to eat here again! I savoured every mouthful.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sukothai also viewed

Penzance, Cornwall
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to Sukothai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sukothai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.