We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torwood House Hotel

Torwood House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Torwood House Hotel to your Saves list
Torwood House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Alexandra Road, Penzance TR18 4LZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 91 Penzance B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had the pleasure of two stays at Torwood House on my way to & back from the Isles of Scilly. A couple of months ago when I phoned to book, I was struck by the welcoming attitude of Lynda and my arrival confirmed this warm welcome. The guesthouse is cosy, comfortable and spotlessly clean, in a nice quiet road with plenty of parking. They really have thought of everything in the rooms for guests comfort, a generous tea tray, bottled water, hairdryer, cushions to lay back on whilst watching TV, WiFi, very comfortable beds, armchairs, plenty of storage, great shower with hand wash, shampoo, shower gel etc. I also loved that the shower was fitted with a sturdy and useful shelf unit where you can put all your own toiletries, rather than having to precariously balance them on the edge of the bath or shower tray. The breakfast was fantastic, a great array of cereals, orange juice, fresh fruit, cheeses, cold meats, croissants plus an extensive menu of hot breakfast dishes cooked to order and served with toast, proper butter, selection of jams, honey, nutella, marmite and cafetieres of very nice coffee. The guesthouse also welcomes dogs, which is essential for my family as we don't go away without our very well-behaved Golden Retriever! Lynda was also kind enough to allow me to leave my bags at the guesthouse after I had checked out, whilst I explored Penzance for a couple of hours before departing. All in all, I can't recommend Torwood House enough and wished I could have stayed longer. I will definitely stay there next time I'm in Penzance :-)

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs in the property, so if you have any mobility issues, request a lower room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
27
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penzance
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Whils't I am local to Penzance, I had the privilege of staying for a couple of Nights at The Torwood House Hotel (B&B).
The Hosts, Steve and Lynda, are a delightful couple who make you feel at Home. No wonder that they keep getting repeat bookings. Rooms are super. The place is immaculate.
Breakfast, a pure delight. Choice incredible. As far as I am concerned,, it is the best value B&B in the area. 'Uncle' Rob Harding.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel is really a guest house. It is a converted triple story single fronted old terrace house. It is clean, well maintained and well located. Breakfasts are adequate and the owner/operators are courteous, friendly and helpful.. Stairs were a bit of a nuisance when iit came to luggage, but we managed that ok. There is street parking ionly, but we had no problem there.
Recommended for clean basic accomm. However, if you are looking for a touch of luxury, I would suggest elsewhere. There semed to be quite a selection of such accomm nearby

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Quiet neighbourhood, nice and clean rooms, decent bathroom, good breakfast, and superb service. The host drove us to the Scillonian in the morning, free of charge. Free wifi in the room. Loved the duvet, I detest the normal English envelope bed linen. Fifteen minutes walk into town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We came to Torwood House from the Southgate Hotel in Exeter. There were no Bentley's on the yard but we were immediately given fully working mains adapters to start working, not just a broken one as in the four star Exeter hotel. The building is not new, there's no lift upstairs, the floor squeks a bit, but we have nothing to complain. On the contrary, we felt like home from the start. Lynda and Steve were not afraid to ask if we needed something, and they were very helpful in assisting us enjoy our stay.

The hotel was about 5 £ away from the station by taxi cab, close to Penlee park & Penlee house. The bus to Land's End was a short walk down the street. (On the same side of the street.)

On the other morning, one of the guests was not feeling well, and Lynda was quick to get an ambulance from the nearby station. Such care for guests is very rare. I spend about 90 nights a year at hotel, and Torwood is second to none. Glemmmingebro's gästhärberge near Ystad is about the same level.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

just arrived home from the Torwood guest house in penzance. The owners(linda and steve) are wonderful hosts ,would recommend to anyone and everyone wanting a relaxing break , everything was home from home ,nothing was too much trouble top marks

Room Tip: excellent size rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed at the Torwood on 21st Jan 2012. Fantastic value for money. Rooms were spacious and very clean, bottled water, tea and coffee all provided. Lynda the host was a mind of information about virtually everything and made our stay that more personal. I would recommend this guest house to everyone. I will be back on a regular basis whilst visiting the penzance area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torwood House Hotel

Address: Alexandra Road, Penzance TR18 4LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Torwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Torwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torwood Hotel Penzance
Torwood House Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torwood House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.