We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“suffered poorly tummy afterwards” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Benbow

Admiral Benbow
46 Chapel St, Penzance TR18 4AF, England
+44 1736 363448
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 146 Restaurants in Penzance
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“suffered poorly tummy afterwards”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

we were a party of seven of which four of us had the same "daily special" of Thai fish curry. Three of us suffered similar tummy problems. Used to be OK now not worth the bother.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    81
    32
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great local flavor and atmosphere!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Great pub atmosphere....average food...great beer and ales...fun for an evening out with friends! Had a good time ...and lots to do on Chapel Street

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Really lovely meal in a delightfully quirky pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stumbled upon this lovely little pub during a recent stay in Penzance and it was a lucky find. Our meal was delicious and the service was second to none. Both the waitress and the landlord were extremely welcoming and helpful. Their Beef and Ale Pie is probably one of the very best I've ever tasted and I've had a few in my time!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A veritable tardis!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Eight of us visited on a busy Sunday after a rugby game. From the outside, the pub-restaurant looks deceptively small, but we were led through a small corridor and down some steps into the Captain's Cabin restaurant eating area, where there was more than enough room. The menu is somewhat limited there being only 8 choices of mains. Having said that, there's something to suit most tastes. Between us, we had Benbow Chicken (pan-fried chicken breast topped with mango and pineapple), sirloin steak, and steak & ale pie. The chicken was enjoyed by all those who had it, the steak was 'ok', but It's not recommended, and the pie was very good - once it arrived a good 20 minutes after the rest of the party had been served their meals! The staff were very friendly and pub is well worth a visit if only to view the unusual décor. Look out for the gunman on the roof!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very quirky pub , great staff and a lovely warm welcome. Food was also fab and very reasonable. Steak and ale pie highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Admiral Benbow also viewed

Penzance, Cornwall
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to Admiral Benbow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Benbow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.