We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great pub in Penzance!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dock Inn

The Dock Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penzance
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dock Inn
Save
You added The Dock Inn to your Saves list
17 Quay St, Penzance TR18 4BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 91 Penzance B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“A great pub in Penzance!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at ‘The Dock inn’ for two nights in February, 2013.

Our spacious room had modern and appealing décor and a great king size bed complete with lovely fresh linen and comfy pillows.

We had adequate storage room in the wardrobe, a good size TV, coffee and tea making facilities, a hair dryer and free Wi-Fi.

I particularly liked our table for two by the window which was great for watching the passing parade. This was also where we enjoyed our breakfast each morning. A choice of either a continental or cooked breakfast was available and was included in the room rate.

The large en-suite was bright and fresh with a large bath and overhead shower. Just remember to pulled down the venetian blind when you’re in there as the window looks onto the street!

Despite the room being above the bar, we heard little to no noise at all. We were there for one very windy night and it was rather noisy outside; which was to be expected. I rather enjoyed listening to the waves crashing, the wind howling and the ‘Dock Inn’ sign out the front of the pub doing 360’s! It created quite an atmosphere and conjured up images of pirates and ye olde seafaring days…

Back to the pub; it was a sheer delight! It has such a great atmosphere with warm timber exposed beams embracing the bar and surrounding areas. We enjoyed many beers by the fire and ate dinner there both nights; which incidentally were cooked beautifully.

Steph and her staff were great friendly people and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Great local pub in fab location. Steph is an excellent landlady with a real rapport with her punters, both locals and visitors alike. Lovely roast on Sundays. A really fun, characterful pub, and the best in Penzance.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEDOCKINN, Owner at The Dock Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Bloomin marvellous!
What a compliment!
I have the support of a wonderful team to thank for helping me bring the Dock back as a really popular locals pub. We all work very hard to provide a relaxed, friendly environment. Customers enjoying that is all I could possibly ask for!
See you again soon oh lovely customer!
Steph!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Booking was done efficiently. The stairway to the room was shabby. Our room and bathroom were spacious and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was large but lacked a shelf to put things on. The power shower was working well but the bath was cracked. However under and around the bed and units was a lot of dust and fluff. The valance looked grubby. The hairdrier did not get hot. The breakfast was served in the room and was good. the staff were friendly.The Dock is very well placed for other pubs, the harbour, prom, church and a short walk into town. It is opposite the terminal for the Scillonian which is very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEDOCKINN, Owner at The Dock Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
This is a very well constructed review. Thank you for taking the time to write it!

I completely agree with you that the hallway was shabby. I say WAS because we've just completed a full renovation project on all 3 bedrooms plus the hallway. This had been booked in long before you arrived but we had to wait for a quiet month to get it all done as it was a big project.
We've replaced the carpet, stripped back and re-skimmed the wall in the hallway (and obviously decorated it too).
We've also redone all the bathrooms and redecorated the bedrooms. The beds were only replaced a week or so before you stayed with us. (Glad they're nice and comfy!), take a look at our website for the new pictures?

The bathrooms not only are all new now, but also do have a shelf in as well!

There is no longer an abundance of fluff! The valance should never of been dirty - have had a word with housekeeping. Sorry for this it should never of been like that, absolute oversight on our part.

Pleased you enjoyed the breakfast, staff and our handy location.

Hopefully you'll come and stay in our brand new bedrooms. Would love to welcome you back and hear your comments.

Kind Regards and thanks once again for such a constructive review.

Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dock Inn

Address: 17 Quay St, Penzance TR18 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Dock Inn Penzance, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.