We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Wetherspoons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of wetherspoons

wetherspoons
4-8 Market Place, Penzance TR18 2JA, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 152 Restaurants in Penzance
Cuisines: Indian, English
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Northampton
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“It's a Wetherspoons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Typical Wetherpoons with standard menu. Very busy when we visited but food was well cooked and served promptly. Staff were very pleasant and friendly. Tables were not being cleared or cleaned very quickly. On my second visit workmen were installing a projector screen and part of the dining area was roped off which wasn't very good as, apart from the noise, dust was floating about from the drilling. Toilets upstairs which was a bit of a trek!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    11
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good cooked breakfast. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Had their Large cooked breakfast. Ordered at the bar and the food was served to our table very soon afterwards.
Good portion and well cooked so no complaints.
The young waitress was pleasant and asked if everything was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
678 reviews 678 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
368 helpful votes 368 helpful votes
“For coffee only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Early in the town so dropped by for coffee with the idea of brunch,have used this chain several times and usually find it decent value ,clean and efficient staff. Today was perhaps not so good here so after the hot drink we decided to go find somewhere else to eat.
First and perhaps the last visit to this particular pub.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Why the bad reviews?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Was quite apprehensive about eating out here for the evening. We were starving and my girlfriend loves Indian and when we looked at the menu it was luckily special offer as it was a curry night so we had a fantastic deal plus a drink. The staff were fantastic and despite being busy were very warm and helpful and asking if we were OK or if we needed anything else (but not too much like in some places) the woman (probably restaurant manager) was great and very pleasant (I'm guessing they had a huge shake up after the previous bad reviews I read on here) There was an abundance of food for the small price we paid and couldn't eat it all despite being starving.
There was a great ambience to the place, great choice of food and I would happily eat there again. One of the best curries I've ever had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ideal meal for those on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We were without a kitchen for a week and were both hard at work all day decorating. After reading some reviews we were apprehensive about dining at our local Wetherspoons. I must say that we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were all very well trained and efficient. The food arrived promptly and was well cooked. We chose from the daily specials, which included a drink. The place was packed, making it difficult for the staff to clear tables and clean up quickly. A bargain for two hungry locals.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed wetherspoons also viewed

 

Been to wetherspoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage wetherspoons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.