We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a friendly place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shoreline Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Shoreline Guest House to your Saves list
The Shoreline Guest House
17 Marine Terrace | The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4DL , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 90 Penzance B&B and Inns
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Such a friendly place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in the Orchid room, had been prewarned was on the small side to brought 2 smaller cases which stowed under the bed, no problem. The view was great and owner and staff could not have been more helpful. Good choice for breakfast which was all really delicious, will be making another visit when we can.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    17
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
43
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

A warm welcome with plenty of information. A very comfortable stay in 'Poppy' which is a single at the rear of the property, so no sea view, but that is my only reservation. Breakfasts are wonderful!
Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Book well in advance - I got the last room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Blossom room and can only agree with the other positive resumé. Because we told beside the booking that this is our honeymoon Liv even decorated the room for us. The view is beautiful and calming and the size of this room even allowed a small dining table. Having the best fish & chips shop in town and an Indian takeaway just around the corner there is no better place for dinner to have the best view in town. We had also the pleasure to see the Olympic torch passing by the Shoreline and Liv did a small party in the front patio while waiting. Followed by the best breakfast we had on our trip. So thanks again to Liv and her crew.

Room Tip: Room Blossom is the largest room with sea view. We can not judge rooms without sea view but can only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Booked a twin room for 3 nights but upon seeing room and bathroom, could not stay. The room was small and crowded, no where to put suitcases, no wardrobe, no seating, no heating we could see apart from a radiator. Bathroom was so small I had to open door and stand in bedroom to wash my hands at the basin. Lovely view but no room to sit and enjoy it. No wonder half payment is requested up front. Went to St Ives where we found lovely sea view twin room at much better value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed in 'Blossom' which has a fantastic view.
Fantastic breakfast. Would recommend

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed in Blossom for about 4 days in September 2011. Walked into the room and all I saw was the AWESOME view!!! Location great, food great, Liv was a wealth of info on places to eat and getting to some of the sites (Minack Theater and St Michael's). I had wanted to get with a guide to see the Nine Madians, Men A Tol, etc. was not able to. Liv helped me get with someone who lived their whole live in Cornwall and I was able to see all the sites I wanted!!! I would highly recommend this hotel for price, view, location and service. What an awesome trip!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Our first trip to Cornwall ... and looking forward to the next already. Liv and Suzanne were the perfect hosts. Directed us to the best places to eat and gave wise advice as to what we could do with our two nights. On Liv's suggestion, we wandered around St. Michael's Mount at low tide and had plenty of time to catch the bus to St. Ives where her recommendation of lunch at the Porthminster's Beach Cafe turned into an almost Michelin starred experience. On the morning we left, we told Liz we were disappointed not to have sampled a real Cornish pasty so she said to get one at the train station. We got two and had them for lunch. Very tasty too! Kept us pretty satisfied all the way to Castle Combe (near Bath). True, our room was small but we had everything we needed plus more. The panoramic view of the Atlantic Ocean from our room (#6) more than made up for the traffic noise below. Breakfast was terrific too. Bravo Liz!

Room Tip: If very sensitive to traffic noise, make sure to tell Liz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shoreline Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoreline Guest House

Address: 17 Marine Terrace | The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4DL , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoreline is a small modern guesthouse, with a 4 star rating, situated directly on Penzance's promenade. 6 Rooms all ensuite. Rooms are modern and comfortable. Sea View rooms offer uninterrupted sea views, from St Michael's Mount across Mounts Bay to Newyln. Wireless interent access is available free to guests. A selection of delicious cooked breakfasts are available for our guests including a tradional Cornish cooked breakfast, Creamy scrambled eggs with smoked salmon or our French style pancakes stuffed to the brim with banana, blueberries, and topped with maple syrup. A warm Cornish welcome is assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Shoreline Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shoreline Guest House Penzance, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shoreline Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.