We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Queens Hotel to your Saves list
The Queens Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4HG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Great location. Arrived unbooked late one evening,met a very friendly and helpful receptionist who went out of her way to accommodate us. Room was very comfortable. Breakfast was tasty. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    79
    41
    24
    18
See reviews for
34
113
29
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

recently stayed here and was very shocked . for the amount of money i paid expected a more classy service. noticing the staff in the resturant was run by kids including the manager (kevin) who seemed more intrested in flirting with the young girls. all week he did not seem to take his job seriously at all. he even had the cheek to ask our 15 year old daughter if she was going to the local nightclub when she went to the bathroom and was away from us , apart from this location brilliant food average but proffesional staff is needed!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chengdu
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The location is perfect with a great view of the sea! Our room did not have a sea view. The room was very adequate to meet our needs, relatively small space but clean. I am sure this place was tops in its day but things need to be updated, as it felt like the 70's rather than 2012. The bathroom was roomy enough with all the amenities. The food was just good but not great. I am sure it would improve vastly with some updating decor and lighting. There was lovely art on the walls!

Room Tip: Try to get the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

sadly this is a shocking establishment that clearly needs new managment and a new team , as well as a major refurb. it could be amazing , but when they charge prices like 120 pounds a room a night , and your room smells damp , and looks like something from the early seventies, you got to ask yourself why. why would i ever come back when there are plenty of B&Bs that offer the same for 30 quid.

the food ? well i struggle to call it that , all i can say is this place is for a generation that are nearly gone , no local would reccomend it for their family ,nor use it themselves.

it could be the jewel in penzances crown, all it needs is people who can run it

Room Tip: all the rooms on the back of the hotel are the worst , try get one in the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We checked in for two nights. Wonderful 'olde worlde' atmosphere of a more glamorous age. Spacious, well furnished and clean room with stunning sea view. The en suite was a bit dated but functioned perfectly well for our needs, although the lighting could be improved.
The food unfortunately was a disappointment. Breakfast was a limited choice of barely warm cooked food, plus a slim choice canned fruits and juices and cereals etc. No better than one would expect of a 2 star B & B. The dining menu again had a very limited choice and no main dish cost less than £20 ! Thankfully, there is an abundance of excellent eateries and foodie pubs within easy walking distance.

The staff appear to be doing you a favour - grudgingly. No welcoming smile or greeting on arrival. No offer of help with bags. There is a general air of disinterest from staff in the dining room, reception and general areas. A cheery 'Good Morning' to a receptionist was responded with 'ugh'. Won't be visiting again!

Room Tip: Take ear plugs. The sea is very close, as are late night revellers on the esplanade front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed twice at this hotel as a one night stopover. Once when travelling to The Scilly Isles because it is dog friendly and at the end of June this year.
Our first visit was great. We were given an enormous room overlooking the bay - I'll forgive a lot of things for a sea view!
When we booked an overnighter online this June it was a different story. Our room overlooked the car park and the noisy kitchen fans - when I asked what the noise was the receptionist said they where switched off at 10pm. We were so tired we decided to go with it but as the hotel was almost empty (on a Saturday night) you'd think they could have given us a better room.
There was a very grumpy barman but the girl on reception was very friendly.
Breakfast was an unappetising buffet and served with a sideplate rather than a dinner plate to make you take less. Scrambled eggs were tasteless and overbooked.
It's such a shame, because its a fantastic building in a beautiful location but we got the feeling that the staff are waiting for the hotel to die. It needs TLC and a lot of investment to bring it up to the standards we expect today.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Again I had a great stay and time in cornwall and a third Visit to the Queens Hotel , a great hotel have booked another stay in September, The Hotel is a holiday home for me the only dissopointment was the weather but i still enjoyed myself I have downloaded a picture of my room , room 58 the view is great but was not good on my stay due to weather

Room Tip: Room 58 front sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 3 Star Victorian hotel situated on the promenade in Penzance. 70 bedrooms - all en-suite enjoying pride of place in Mounts Bay with views of St Michaels Mount, Newlyn and the Lizard PeninsulaFree car parking, Free WiFi access and disabled access to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.