We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Penzance

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Penzance to your Saves list
Hotel Penzance
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have stayed in the Hotel Penzance on two occasions now and will definitely stay there again. . The hotel is very clean and the staff are all very friendly including Jerry the cat! We have eaten in the restaurant and the Sunday evening meal of roast pork and beef was one of the best we have ever had.
The room was immaculate with dressing gowns, tea and coffee etc.although we did have problems with the internet service. Overall this is a superb hotel and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Good afternoon and it was good to see you once again. Really glad you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    98
    25
    15
    6
See reviews for
42
251
49
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

An excellent hotel which I wholeheartedly recommend. Attention to detail is in every aspect. A seaview room is worth the extra price. Only downside is the car park which can get full and be awkward to park when hotel is busy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Good afternoon and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Definitely worth upgrading to a sea view room where you can sit and view the sunshine sparkling on the water across the bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at hotel penzance for 3 days and it was a wonderful experience. The hotel is just up a hill along the coast, no more than a 5 minutes walk from the train station. The staff very very friendly and helpful, taking care of my luggage as I arrived early and placed it in the room for me when the room was ready. The rooms were very neat and clean, showers and heaters were in very good condition. The tv was placed a bit far from the bed so it was quite hard to watch, but apart from that everything was good. I had hotel breakfast included which was great. The restaurant has an amazing view, good food (I had egg Benedict and full Cornish breakfast), and very friendly staff. A very pleasant stay for me and I would definitely recommend it.

Shao Hao
Reviewed April 14

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hello there. Thank you for your positive review and glad we made your stay a good one. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had a fantastic few days in Cornwall. The Hotel Penzance exceeded our expectations on just about every level. Sue made us feel very welcome as soon as we arrived, took the luggage to our room as we both have disabilities, showed us where everything was, got us a much needed drink and sorted out the internet problem I had straight away.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, has high quality facilities all round, is most comfortable and tastefully decorated. There were plenty of nice touches such as bottled water in our room, bath robes, bath mat, good beds and TV.
The breakfast was of a very high standard with the option of buffet and cooked food. The staff were most polite and helpful in all areas of the hotel.
The hotel is in a very convenient location, about 10 - 15 minutes walk from the rail and bus stations and about 20 minutes or so walk to the Scillonian ferry. The walk up from the main road is short but steep. We hope to be back there for another break later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Good afternoon! So pleased you enjoyed your break with us - it was a pleasure to meet you and looking forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

It is unusual to stay in a hotel and not be disappointed. But our recent stay at Hotel Penzance was the epitome of hotel excellence. In addition to the lovely bedroom with spectacular sea views we appreciated the first class service attitude of all the staff. The hotel has generous provision of guest lounges on the ground floor and a great bar. The Bay Restaurant far exceeded our expectations and is a must visit when in this part of West Cornwall.

Room Tip: Room 17 is perhaps the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Good afternoon. We are pleased that you were satisfied with every aspect of our hotel and restaurant. The sunshine is glistening on the water in the harbour today which makes for a perfect day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

A few days away in Cornwall was a surprise success and turned out to be one of my mosy enjoyable mini breaks. This was not only thanks to the amazing countryside but also to the hospitality of Hotel Penzance and its staff. From ease of booking to pre-arrival confirmation, this hotel lived up to expectations. During our stay the service, friendliness and openness of all staff was exceptional and refreshing. Great break and great hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hello and we are so pleased we made your mini break special for you. Thank you for your review and hope to see you when you fancy another holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had a fabulous tea for two here. Fresh bread and pastries. Also scones with cream and jam. Everything was perfect and frankly I dont understand why I had read so many negative reviews. One I read had compared it with tea at the Ritz!!! Likely ten times the price. The chap who served us was polite and efficient. The whole experience was lovely. The English complain too much in my humble opinion. I would love to visit again! Well done to this hotel and all who contribute ti its running.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi and thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy another nice eating experience at Hotel Penzance and Bay Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penzance

Address: Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penzance 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star independent Town House Hotel. Converted from 2 Edwardian merchant's houses and perched on a hill overlooking the busy Penzance waterfront and harbour. 25 individual rooms over 3 floors with warmth, comfort and service a priority. Open all year with a 2 rosette restaurant - The Bay Penzance - Ideally situated for all the sites of West Cornwall from The Lizard to St Ives and the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penzance Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Penzance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.