We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Penzance

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Penzance to your Saves list
Hotel Penzance
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exeter
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights on the second week of September. Very friendly and helpful staff. Tea and cakes served every afternoon which is a nice touch, We had a most comfortable Superior room with a great view over the harbour. As the weather was great we had a relaxing breakfast on the deck overlooking the pool and harbour. A nice restaurant serving excellent food with an "early bird" menu before 18.30. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi,
We really appreciate your nice comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The 'early bird' menu is proving to be very popular especially as it also includes our menu du jour for £13.45 for a two course meal, served up until 18.30. It is an ideal option to our picnic when wanting to go out and about to explore West Penwith or if going to the Minack Theatre for the evening.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
Bye for now from a lovely sunny, but windy, Penzance.
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    106
    26
    16
    6
See reviews for
45
269
54
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for four nights beginning of September. So many of positives: really helpful, lovely staff, who can't do enough to accommodate you. Rooms are spotless, comfortable and well maintained. The hotel is in a lovely location and has the most fantastic outlook, one of the best, overlooking St Michael's Mount.
During my stay I had an accident (NOT at the hotel), as such we needed to move rooms to one more accessible. Staff arranged this to no extra cost and were so helpful and kind.
The first room was cosy, but really comfortable, the second (a superior room) really lovely and spacious, with fantastic views. When I stay again I will pay extra for this room as its fabulous.
Breakfast is served in the restaurant and was delicious. The waiting staff where attentive and helpful. On our last morning I couldn't eat in the restaurant (due to an injury I had) and the staff insisted on bringing breakfast to me in my room, which was lovely.
The pool area is spotless and there is complimentary tea, coffee and cakes served in the lounge in the afternoon, which is a nice gesture.
The staff work really hard to ensure guests are well looked after and this really is a lovely hotel.
Lucky you if you have a holiday booked here, we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Superior room is worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and am sorry that you had your accident whilst staying in Penzance. We are glad that we could move you to a more suitable room whilst you were incapacitated and it was our pleasure to be able to look after you. It was great to meet you both and hope your ankle mends quickly so that you can come and visit us again very soon. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a couple of nights stay in this hotel. We booked a superior sea view room which was very comfortable, good views and extremely quiet.
We were made most welcome and offered tea and nibbles on arrival.
I would recommend this hotel, the only 2 negatives were that the car parking was extremely tight and the hot tap on the bath did not work, we reported this to reception as we left and I felt sure that this would have soon be rectified.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi Valerie, Thank you for your positive review and am glad you enjoyed your stay - it was good to meet you both. Glad you liked the complimentary afternoon tea on arrival too and I will be happy to park your car for you should you wish. Looking forward to seeing you soon. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Am so disappointed, stayed for our honeymoon, second time at this hotel and standards have more then fallen they have tumbled. I have just spent £154 in their restaurant to have the doors closed on us at 9.48 without even the offer of another drink. Appalling service considering we have booked 2 nights at £200 per night. Small room considering the room we stayed in last time and still the high price. Second night of our honeymoon treated like second class citizens. Talland Bay was location of our wedding and have realised we have made a huge mistake moving to here. Never again.
Cost cutting is noticeable as are staff changes. Don't bother if you want value for your money.
Absolutely spoiled the beginning of our honeymoon and am glad to be moving on tomorrow.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
I know an apology does not make up for a disappointing experience, but I am truly sorry; closing the restaurant doors at service end is not our normal practice as you know from your previous stay, but an error of judgement by a new member of staff on their first week who now is fully aware of the way things should be done. You should most certainly not have felt treated like a second class guest. Drink service to guests is available 24 hours and staff are available to provide it.
As far as our rooms are concerned, they are all different and graded as much by view as size, each with their own advantages. Occasionally at peak season, it's not possible to allocate the same room previously occupied, and as you booked a double/twin previously and a double this time, the rooms would not be comparable in size although their grade remains the same; I can assure you that there has been no cost cutting at all & I'm sorry you got that impression
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I feel sorry to say that becos I like this hotel. The food, the room, the location and the people are nice and good except one female receptionist. Her name is ALEX, she works in a front desk. I think she isn't that logical and mean if you challenges her mistake. For instance, I told her to check a train schedule from Penzance to Bodmin Parkway and bus schedule from Bodmin Parkway to Padstow. However, she only printed out the BUS schedule from Penzance to Padstow so when I told her again I need a train schedule then she only gave me those morning train schedule even I already mentioned to her that I'll leave after 2pm cos I wanted to do more sightseeing in the morning before I left. She always show her long face to me I guess she is just being rude, even worse, she deducted my 30 pounds expenses for dinner without noticing me. Although I told her I'll settle the payment after I come back around 2pm when I correct my luggage before leaving as I was a bit in rush in the morning and I didn't want to miss any sightseeing spot on my last day in Penzance. However, she told me that she deducted my expenses from my credit card and saying she sent me an email to informed me. But I didn't receive any email from her even until I come back to London from my trip. So I gonna write to her boss to check. Seriously, if she doesn't give attitudes to her clients, why doesn't she quit her job? She doesn't have to be here. I hope her boss will talk to her after he saw this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
I am very shocked to read your review, I've never had any complaint about Alex's attitude before this and I shall certainly investigate and ensure no one else is left with a poor impression of the front of house staff. Nor is it the hotel policy to take final payments from credit cards without prior authorisation except in the case of someone who has left without settling their final account. Please accept my apologies. Notwithstanding the difficulties you had, I know you appreciated the restaurant and all the other staff you encountered, and I hope your onward trip via Padstow was enjoyed without incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This Hotel is situated on a steep slope just off the front, the carpark is a bit of a challenge if you are driving a 4x4 as I was, but hotel staff waved me out and even offered to back it out for me ( I declined!) . Coffee was served on arrival and I was checked in even though I had arrived much earlier than I had intended to. The single room was spotless and I was helped with my luggage. If you stay here you must eat in the restaurant as the food is totally out of this world, dinner was very special and when I popped back one lunch time even the sandwich was a work of art. I did`nt notice any musty smell or any music at dinner. When I left this morning the floor in reception was being washed and there were beautiful lilies . I was a solo traveller and could not have been made more welcome , the maitre d was great and chatted to me which was lovely when you are dining alone. If I had any moan at all it would be that one night I could not get the cold tap to produce more that a trickle, but I presumed that everyone was using water at the same time. Great Hotel , great views, great staff , O and very haughty hotel cat ! Shall be returning, next year.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view, single room looks over car park so can be a bit noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is nicely furnished and decorated, but somehow smelt old and musty. Breakfast was delicious although painfully slow, it took an hour from start to finish, which put our day behind schedule! Staff were friendly and helpful and everything about the hotel was very nice. Nothing a few well placed air fresheners wouldn't sort!

Room Tip: Superior room with sea view. Smaller than expected but lovely view and well equipped and furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Many thanks for letting us know about the breakfast service being slow, it ought to be paced according to the wishes of the guest. At this time of year people generally want to take it easy & graze both the continental buffet and have cooked to order dishes afterwards, a quiet word should have speeded things up for you, I'm sorry it delayed your departure.
As far as the 'musty' smell is concerned, although I can't be sure as I don't have your stay dates, I think you may have stayed recently when we had a guest flood a bathroom which soaked 3 room's carpets and breached the restaurant ceiling. The hotel was 100% occupied, so we were unable to move anyone, and we used carpet cleaners, dryers and fresheners to cure the problem swiftly. With 100% wool carpets there inevitably was a bit of a 'whiff' of wet wool for a day or so afterwards. I hope this hasn't put you off a return visit whenever you're back in Penzance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penzance

Address: Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penzance 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star independent Town House Hotel. Converted from 2 Edwardian merchant's houses and perched on a hill overlooking the busy Penzance waterfront and harbour. 25 individual rooms over 3 floors with warmth, comfort and service a priority. Open all year with a 2 rosette restaurant - The Bay Penzance - Ideally situated for all the sites of West Cornwall from The Lizard to St Ives and the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penzance Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Penzance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.