We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Beachfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beachfield Hotel to your Saves list
Beachfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence 2014
uk
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

I have just stayed at the Beachfield Hotel in penzance with my wife. It is the worst place I have ever stayed and does not deserve the "3 star" rating given to it. I will list all the catalogue of problems encountered which has spoilt our holiday. Firstly I was not given a wake up call on the first morning as requested. They said there was a fault with the phone and when I asked for it to be repaired it took two days for it to be be repaired. There were other faults discovered in my "premier" room such as lights not working and very dirty cultery and cups. I had asked for repairs to be made but this was not done. But most seriously the lack of hygene in the food: When we had breakfast the fruit bowl seemed not to have been changed for ages which as a result had mouldy fruits in it. This was still there days after and we pointed this out to the staff as it posed a serious health and hygene risk (We have photos here to show evidence). Also, when we ordered snacks in the evening we were given expired and out of date food. This was disturbing in that all the snacks they said came from the same source which was out do date. We paid a lot of money for our "room" and felt we were conned and cheated and we could have left the hotel with serious health issues. By the way, we had previously checked into their "service lodges'' given the rates were reasonable. However, we had to immediately leave and be "upgraded" to their "premier" room as the lodges were absolutely disgusting and filthy and very unclean that is not fit for human habitation let alone animals. In cornwall during the summer, there are businesses which want to take advantage of holidaymakers and give the UK the bad rap it gets for being expensive and a rip off compared to the rest of europe. At the end of our stay we asked for the manager but the staff were not responsive and said they were not there to answer our grivances.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — room, food hyigene
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    54
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
23
63
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Esher, Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2007

After having a nightmare at the Queens hotel we checked into the Beachfield. The rooms were brilliant - we had a family room on the first floor and a double room on the second floor. Hotel staff a bit sleepy but very helpful. They even managed to arrange a babysitting service for us on a couple of evenings which was great. Food was of a good standard too. The only thing was that the stairs were a little
too many for comfort. Could do with a small lift somewhere. Parking was a nightmare as they only have a small forecourt at the front of the hotel and if theres more than 3 guests there with cars this causes a problem. Also the entrance to this forecourt is on the mini roundabout which could be quite dangerous at times. If they could sort out the lift problem and the car park then this would be an ideal quaint little hotel. The family room was superclean and everything we needed was there however the double room was a little disappointing and could have done with a makeover. The window was small and the made the room very dark. The carpets looked tired and walls needed a coat of paint. The hotel was a little overpriced in our opinion as we usually stay a few doors up at the warwick st mary but sadly they were fully booked.Anyway...a great all round hotel and
ideal for families in particular.

  • Liked — The seafront family rooms are amazing!
  • Disliked — No car park and no lift facilities.
  • Stayed August 2004, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

We booked a Premier room for a weekend trip just before Easter and loved it! We got exactly the room shown on their website with the impressive views of the sea and the promenade. Penzance was nice and quiet and not full of toursist as we expected.
The room was spacious with big windows and coffee and tea (and Hot Chocolate!!) facilities.
The bathroom was spacious and the shower was great!!

In the breakfast room and reception we enjoyed the personal service of a family-run hotel.

We would definitely return if we once would go back to Cornwall.

  • Liked — the view
  • Tips/Secrets — book the premier room - extra charge is worth it!!
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2005

Have just spent a long weekend here and found the hotel to be excellent value and in a great location - what views! In this family run hotel I found the staff be be both very helpful & courtious. Having breakfast in the dining room was a sheer delight, excellent choice, freashly cooked and served with a smile. Bedroom & bathroom was spotless, with plenty of hot water and a good size. Will definately return again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2005

During my stay the reception was largely unmanned so had to wait for any sort of service despite ringing the bell on the counter. Staff appeared flustered and confused and made silly mistakes like double booking a room!! The bedroom itself was comfortable enough, but I found the bathroom to be dirty and in need of a thorough clean. On this reason alone I would rate the hotel poorly. On the plus side all rooms in this hotel do offer spectacular sea views.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, N.Y.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2004

I recently stayed at the Beachfield and found it much to my liking. The room was a modest size but sufficient to my needs. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast eggs made to your order. Location right on the sea with good view of St. Michael's Mount. All in all a lovely little family style hotel that I would gladly recommend and consider staying at again if I am ever in Cornwall again.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfield Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sea front in Penzance, Cornwall, the Beachfield Hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Mount's Bay, from The Lizard to Newlyn Harbour with St Michael's Mount glitteringly prominent at centre stage. A Victorian building dating from the 1860s and standing on grounds that were once fields and dunes where fishermen dried their nets, our hotel has long been a favourite for those who know Penzance well. Much of the interior has recently been modernised and refurbished to a high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Beachfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfield Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.