We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel - With great views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachfield Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beachfield Hotel to your Saves list
Beachfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel - With great views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We booked the hotel because of its close proximity to the local rugby ground (Cornish Pirates) little realising that is was so close to both the ground and the sea front.
For a change we travelled by rail to Penzance and th hotel is arond a 15 minute walk from the station. No wierd directions, just walk along the beach front!
The hotel is typical english seaside design, big house frontage painted white of course to keep the summer heat at bay! In other words neat and tidy.
The reception is small, next to the bar which appeared well stocked, but like most hotels they know how to charge for items that we all know we could have brought a bottle for with just four drinks!
Our room was lovely and clean, no matter where you tried to pick fault it was very difficult to find such. Our only critism is that the shower in the bathroom was a little weak! We mentioned this to the manager on check out and he apologised saying that it was being looked at and would on our next visit be vastly improved.
We only ate breakfast, which was freshly cooked and served quickly. Breakfast for us finished too early, that being 9.30 on every day of the week! No real lie in on a Saturday or Sunday here!
Overall though a great hotel and one we would happily return too.....if they had better showers and later breakfast finish times!

Room Tip: We stayed in room to the front with great sea view, it was offered when we booked so would ask for i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    54
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
23
63
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just arrived and secured a single room less than 50 quid, that's OK. The room was strange had a few stairs, but fine. The young fella that appeared to be about the only employee informed me the hotel was almost full, ergo, no upgrade. Did not see very many other guests. The young fella was the reception person / bartender / waiter, in fact, apart from the cook, that's it for staff.
I did have a few beers, only one on tap????? strange for a large British hotel. Supper, one had a two hour window to get in. This I did and ordered lamb shanks, now being from Canada, I had seen this on many menu's, thus I tried it. I see now this stringy morsel is part of the lower leg. Pass next time, could not pick a desert I wanted, so I opted for the cheese / cracker board,
had a nice blue and an aged cheddar.... very nice.
Good British breakfast, hot and fresh, exellent coffee. Very happy.
Parking............... very limited.
Breakfast was good, the usual.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

When went there the building had scaffolding surrounding the building which made it look unattractive and made it hard to find. The room was ok needed work doing to it, couldn't really open the windows in the room because the scaffolding had blocked them. The food could have been better.

Only space for 4 cars on the front which 2 of the cars are likely to be blocked in so if need to get out early or later in the evening park either on the road side or in the parking on the main drag.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very good hotel on the front, limited parking.

Received a warm welcome on reception. The room was up a steep staircase and lots of steps. Still that keeps me fit.

After a long drive I popped up the Turks Head where I normally go, the food at the hotel did look excellent and was well priced.

Breakfast was very good.

I passed a peaceful night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippelefevre, General Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
THANK YOU FOR “CAN’T REALLY BE FAULTED” REVIEW
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay despite the steps, the Beachfield hotel is an old Victorian building and we never wanted to alter the hotel with lifts.
If we knew at the time the stairs were a problem, we could have given you an alternative room on the first floor.
The car park is small, but around the hotel, there is lots of free parking space (24 hours 7/7 days)
I know the car park can be an issue; it is why this year we are building a private garage next to the hotel.
The capacity should be more than 10 cars with a garage door, the cars will be safe and secure.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Philippe LEFEVRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We visited this Hotel on business and arrived early evening. We were greeted by the manager & shown to our room. We had been upgraded which was unexpected & had lovely views to the sea out the front & promenade to the side. (Room 2 I think)
We did view a standard room at our request & although smaller was still very fresh & modern.
The room was spacious & nicely decorated. The free Wi-Fi was also very useful.
The bar area is again nicely decorated with a clean modern feel.
Breakfast was very tasty. It was freshly cooked with good quality ingredients & service friendly.
All the staff we met were very pleasant & chatty.
The only negative point was the water pressure. We had to run the hot water for about 10 minutes before it got up to temperature. Also the shower had very low pressure which we were later told was due to a filter problem.
All in all this was a very nice experience.

Room Tip: All double rooms have a see view. Singles have a rear view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippelefevre, General Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
THANK YOU FOR “OVERALL PERFECT” REVIEW
Thank you for taking the time to write this review so quickly after your departure.
It is nice to see you really enjoyed your stay with us (February 2013).
I remember your arrival and I can confirm the room you had was a free upgrade, room number 2.
It was a pleasure to give you this free upgrade and it is delightful that you really enjoyed the decoration of the room, the quality of the breakfast and the free WI-FI.
You mention that all staff you met were very pleasant, most of them have been working with me for 3 years and I do recognize that my staff are what makes the Beachfield a friendly, inviting and comfortable hotel..
During your stay you had a problem with the water pressure and you did mention to me on your departure, Thank you for telling us at that time.
After your departure I notified our maintenance staff and they have been able to rectify the pressure and the temperature for the next guests, it is important to have a direct feedback, so then we can rectify or repair straight away.
On behalf of my team I really want to thank you for your honest and constructive comment and more important I think your comments give an exact picture of the Beachfield hotel February 2013.
Kind regards
Philippe LEFEVRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Excellent hotel in a lovely location. We stayed in October and the rooms were warm and very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Glorious views of the bay and the sea. Short walk to the town.
Food excellent. Breakfasts and dinners superb.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippelefevre, General Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
THANK YOU FOR " PERFECT STAY "REVIEW.

Fantastic to hear that your stay at the Beachfield last October was perfect.
your comments on the food, both Breakfast and Diner are really appreciated by our dedicated chefs and myself.
we hope to see you again soon

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I visited the Beachfield Hotel whilst on a quick trip to visit Land's End in early November. Very impressed - friendly reception staff, an unexpected - but very welcome - room upgrade to a nice spacious room overlooking the sea, and an generous hot breakfast nicely cooked to order. Another plus was that the hotel was situated 1 minute away from a bus stop for the Land's End service. Altogether an excellent hotel - I would certainly be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippelefevre, General Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
THANK YOU FOR “Brief visit - a very good experience” review.

Brilliant to hear that you have been impressed by the Beachfield Hotel, our mission has been achieved and you will be very welcome if you visit us next time, maybe for a longer stay.
your comments have been past on to the staff as always.

Thank you
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfield Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sea front in Penzance, Cornwall, the Beachfield Hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Mount's Bay, from The Lizard to Newlyn Harbour with St Michael's Mount glitteringly prominent at centre stage. A Victorian building dating from the 1860s and standing on grounds that were once fields and dunes where fishermen dried their nets, our hotel has long been a favourite for those who know Penzance well. Much of the interior has recently been modernised and refurbished to a high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Beachfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfield Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.