We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return to Beachfield” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachfield Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Beachfield Hotel to your Saves list
Beachfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“return to Beachfield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Well I visited Beachfield for the second time this year.I've never been to the same hotel twice,as I like to go to different places,but if you find the perfect hotel for you,why go anywhere else?
Excellent food,lovely staff....just brilliant.
I shall make it my place to go,at least once a year,or hopefully twice.As busy foster carers my husband and I take seperate breaks,and it's important that I feel comfortable on my own in a hotel.
Beachfield feels like home to me now,and room 8,which is a small double room for single occupancy has been refurbished recently,and is a really nice room,now with a shower,and still with its awesome views of Newlyn and St Michaels Mount.
So book in and stay with them,and you will realise why I love it so much.

Room Tip: Ask for room 8,if you are travelling solo,but the sea view doubles are excellent too !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippelefevre, General Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
RETURN TO BEACHFIELD
We are honored that you have chosen to become a regular repeat guest to the Beachfield Hotel.
Knowing that there are so many alternatives throughout West Cornwall.
The commitment you make has significant meaning to everyone who tries to make each and every stay an unforgettable one. Each member of staff thanks you from the bottom of their hearts and like we say my home is yours.

Warm regards
Philippe Lefevre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    49
    15
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
56
21
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel is so much more than its three star rating. The food was excellent, breakfast had a very good choice and freshly cooked. The staff were very friendly and very helpful, you felt really welcome. It is a small hotel and the attention to detail was exceptional. We had a corner room with views both out to sea and along the coast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippelefevre, General Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind feedback.
we are delighted you enjoyed the food, specially the breakfast.

From all our reviewers , you are the second reviewer who mentions we should be rated higher and it is really appreciated.

Our ambition is to be a good quality hotel where our guest can recognize all our effort to make there stay exceptional.

Thank you for your support and we will be very please to welcoming you soon.

Best regards
Philippe Lefevre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Brilliant hotel. The attention to detail, and the wonderful decor are amazing. Tres posh!! Lovely helpful staff, nothing too much trouble. I can see why people go there again. Interesting guests to talk to, lovely views, definately want to return.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with two windows are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippelefevre, General Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
THANK YOU FOR THE BEAUTIFUL BEACHFIELD It is clear from all your positive comments, that you greatly enjoyed your stay with us and it is why we have lots of return guests.
we hope to see you again.

Best regards
Philippe Lefevre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diepe
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a classic English hotel starting from the lovely warm welcome. Great room, cosy, with a fantastic view of the sea. Excellent breakfast with freshly cooked eggs etc. The housekeepers were very helpful they supplied us with extra pillows and a sheet (cannot sleep under doona). Our only complaints:- the bed was not overly comfortable....quite lumpy. Outside our window was a street light and the curtains did not have lining.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippelefevre, General Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of you stay at the Beachfield.
Customer feedback is very important to us and it is always shared between all our employees.
as indicated by the majority of our guest, the staff are what makes the Beachfield , it is why the housekeepers were very helpful and nothing is too much trouble .

"OUR ONLY COMPLAINT" it is not a complaint and I am glad that you mention that, because we have identified the room and checked.
the mattress has been replaced and blackout curtains have been fitted.

On behalf of my staff I would like to thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Philippe Lefevre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We booked this hotel on LateRooms and following internet searches, and we're very pleasantly surprised at its quality, location, rooms and service. Although it was only rated as 3 Star on some websites, it was definitely 4 Star for value. And the free WiFi service was excellent.

The staff were courteous, friendly and efficient. Our room was very nice. The restaurant served delicious food which was very reasonably priced. There was a good selection of wines. Breakfast was great -- and super hot !

Only minor complaint was that on-site parking was limited, but this wasn't a real issue.
Very happy to return there again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a Suite overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippelefevre, General Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Having such a good comment from somebody who has contributed more than 70 reviews on TripAdvisor is very gratefully received and proves that all our hard work at the Beachfield has been appreciated.
Your comment regarding the car park issue is one we are about to resolve. This winter we are building a private secure car parking area that will be able to accommodate more than 10 cars.
On behalf of my team, thank you very much again.

your sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We recently stayed at The Beachfield for 3 nights around a trip to the Scilly Isles. All the staff were welcoming and very friendly and we would stay there again and recommend to our friends.
We had a small double room and it was perfectly adequate, spotlessly clean, with lovely bed linen and towels. We could see the sea from our bed, and could watch the Promenade from the chair in the bay window.The breakfasts are the best we've had for a long time, and the food at dinner was delicious. It's not often that the food in a hotel is better than most of the restaurants around.
We thought that this hotel was better than most 4 stars we've stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippelefevre, General Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
THANK YOU FOR THE BEST HOTEL REVIEW

Any posting which begins with the words “Best Hotel" must be heading in a very positive direction, which the review of your recent stay at the Beachfield certainly does.
We greatly appreciate all your positive comments, ranging from the spotlessly clean bed room with lovely bed linen and towels,the breakfasts are the best we've had for a long time and the food at dinner was delicious.
All your comments have been passed on to my team and I have to say I am proud of all the effort they put in to make your stay so exceptional.
I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.

Your sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The staff were extremely helpful, taking my bike away to a garage outside to safely lock up, in spite of the pouring rain. The room was clean and comfortable. It was a good size for a single room. Both breakfast and dinner was scrummy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippelefevre, General Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
WELCOMING AND FRIENDLY
It is always a pleasure to read a review from a satisfied guest stating" The staff were extremely helpful" , and we appreciate yours in that regard.
Your comment of the food “Both breakfast and dinner was scrummy" indicate that our chefs are dedicated to provide excellent food.
Thank you very much and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Beachfield Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfield Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sea front in Penzance, Cornwall, the Beachfield Hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Mount's Bay, from The Lizard to Newlyn Harbour with St Michael's Mount glitteringly prominent at centre stage. A Victorian building dating from the 1860s and standing on grounds that were once fields and dunes where fishermen dried their nets, our hotel has long been a favourite for those who know Penzance well. Much of the interior has recently been modernised and refurbished to a high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beachfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfield Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.