We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option when staying in Penzance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachfield Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beachfield Hotel to your Saves list
Beachfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris, France
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Great option when staying in Penzance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Beachfield hotel in Penzance offers good value for money.

Great points:
- Very good location on Penzance’s Promenade, facing the sea
- Contemporary rooms with comfy bed and double glazing (pay the extra cost for the sea view!)
- Excellent breakfast
- Parking directly in front of the hotel

A few downsides though:
- On the second floor the water pressure is low
- No access to the wifi network in some parts of the building, however the owner Philippe confirmed that this issue is about to be fixed

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippelefevre, Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review.
your review is positive and constructive
we know for the two negative points that one of them will be sorted soon and the other one will be more difficult.

the first one,
the WiFi, we have had difficulties to have full signal in every rooms due to the thickness of the granite walls in this old victorian building, but a solution has been found by installing more cabled wifi points.It is an ongoing project and we hope to have that finished in a months time.

The second,
The water pressure, we have installed some pumps to increase the presure but the building is not modern and we will never be able to have the same pressure you get in a more modern building.
Our hotel was built in the Victorian era and we have recently refurbished the entire hotel for the comfort of our guests, but like you said we have not found the way to provide stronger water pressure especially when the hotel is totally full and the demand for water is high at the same time.

thank you very much or Merci beaucoup et nous espérons vous accueillir bientôt en Cornouailles.

Philippe Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    54
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
23
63
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Exceptional service from the phonecall to the hotel to book to the minute we stepped out of the hotel leaving!! We did only stay the one night (as an addition to our weeks holiday in a cottage) but it has left a lasting impression on us.
My partner and I holiday every summer in Penzance with our dog. She is a labrador so not the smallest dog either! In other places in Penzance and around the country we have received lower standards of service and accomodation because we travel with our pet. Not here!! To be honest, when i mentioned we had a dog i was expecting a "bog standard" room, when we arrived i was overwhelmed. Huge, clean and tidy bedroom with amazing seaviews and ensuite (bath and shower) was lovely. Sat in the bay window late at night watching fireworks at the pool as part of Golowan festival, couldnt of been anymore perfect. Topped off in the morning with a fresh, lovely breakfast and lovely staff. Thank you so much Beachfield for making us and our dog very welcome!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippelefevre, Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
"CANNOT FAULT A THING" What a very positive review, thank you so much to point out the fact that we did provide an excelent service. My team and I feel proud to hear that you and your labrador had a good night with us at the Beachfield hotel. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Philippe Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

A pleasant stay in a tastefully refurbished hotel which successfully blends traditional and modern styles.
Rooms well appointed, clean and comfortable.
During our stay one particular night the weather was atrocious wreaking havoc around us but we were completely undisturbed.
Friendly place, good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippelefevre, General Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
The positive posting of your recent stay at the Beachfield hotel despite the weather is SO appreciated. The comment “A pleasant stay in a tastefully refurbished hotel which successfully blends traditional and modern styles” describes perfectly what we are trying to achieve at the Beachfield.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and on behalf of my team, Thank you very much for your kind comments.

Best regards,
Philippe Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This hotel charmed us from the moment we walked in reception - and that was just as well since we picked a week when it was encased in scaffolding due to outside redecoration. This rather spoiled the wonderful sea views from our room which was comfort itself. The lounges are comfortable, with a good selection of newspapers and magazines, there are board games to while away the time, and I thought the staff were helpful and considerate. All in all a very pleasing two night stay in a convenient location. Well worth choosing!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippelefevre, General Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
THANK YOU FOR THE POSITIVE REVIEW

“Would unhesitatingly recommend it” – this opening line is most appreciated for its totality of satisfaction and expression. We thank you for such an honest positive comment despite the fact that scaffolding was erected during your stay. I have to mention that our Victorian building had a complete outside face lift and there is no more scaffolding to interfere with what makes the Beachfield Hotel so special with our amazing sea view. Thank you again for your overwhelming support of the Beachfield Hotel, and we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Philippe Lefevre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Excellent hotel, most likely one of the better ones in Penzance. Just came back from a weekend trip to Cornwall; we had booked 2 nights at Beachfield Hotel: we didn't know what to expect but relied on the comments from TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. The hotel is clean, well appointed, very comfortable. Room was clean, looked newly renovated, bed comfortable, towels and sheets fresh. Location-wise not in the center of town, but we'd say, this is a plus; if you have a car, this should not be an issue at all. We did not have a car but enjoyed the walks from the train station (15 mins) along the promenade. View from the room was excellent; it had a sea view, from which you could see Mount St Michael. We understand all rooms have sea view, so one can't go wrong. Breakfast is excellent and staff is courteous. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippelefevre, Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to outline your positive experiences at the Beachfield Hotel. We thank you for acknowledging that so eloquently and completely.

It is true that the entire team strives for perfection and pays attention to detail, while at the same time, does not ignore the friendly, personal touch required to keep our guests returning time and time again.
You are also correct in stating that all double rooms at the Beachfield have lovely sea views and most of them have been recently refurbished to a high level of comfort.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and are grateful for your support of the Beachfield.

Best regards,
Philippe Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We booked on-line and had an excellent early-Spring Bed & Breakfast weekend at Beachfield Hotel. We found hotel car-parking very limited, but there is ample on-street parking close by. The hotel is situated on the Promenade and we had a bedroom overlooking the sea. From comfortable chairs in our bay window we watched the passage of walkers, joggers, dogs - and boats.
Our bedroom with en-suite was clean and brightly decorated and had everything we expected in facilities. The breakfasts were really good and full marks to our attentive French waiter. Our meals were cooked on demand, so in return for a patient wait we got fresh cooked, bright-yolked fried eggs and not the usual ‘kept warm’ ones served in other hotels.
A very enjoyable mini-break.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippelefevre, General Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Firstly on behalf of my team I would like to thank you very much for your kind comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities and service we offer.
I very much hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Philippe Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

This mid-priced establishment next to the sea turned out to be a good choice in Penzance. Not luxury but nice clean comfortable rooms with good amenities like wifi. The view to St Michael's Mount was a plus. It's in a quieter part of town but still quite central. There's a very small car park which is often full however it wasn't difficult to find a space nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippelefevre, Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
We greatly appreciate your positive comments and remarks relating to your stay at the Beachfield Hotel. Clean and comfortable room are the mainstays of any quality hotel establishment, which was clearly evident during your stay. Thank you for sharing all your positive views and we hope to see you again in future.
Philippe Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfield Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sea front in Penzance, Cornwall, the Beachfield Hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Mount's Bay, from The Lizard to Newlyn Harbour with St Michael's Mount glitteringly prominent at centre stage. A Victorian building dating from the 1860s and standing on grounds that were once fields and dunes where fishermen dried their nets, our hotel has long been a favourite for those who know Penzance well. Much of the interior has recently been modernised and refurbished to a high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Beachfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfield Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.